Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Emil from Baku

Amazing Karlovy Vary

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
Savoy hotel in Karlovy Vary is located in a super peaceful environment- the forest is just across the street. It's a place where you want to get away from big city noise, traffic and revitalize your body and mind. The hotel itself is nice and clean, offers bunch of massages and therapeutic treatment. Highly recommended!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs renovations.

Posted May 11, 2015
Old hotel, needs renovations. Breakfast is very poor. But the good thing about this hotel is very helpful and friendly staff. They are trying hard to compensate for all the bad sides of this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2015 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, thank you for your comment. Even though you have found some points we have to work on, it is our big pleasure that you have mentioned our friendly , helpful and highly professional staff, since this is great foundation we can build our future on. We hope to see you soon in the Savoy Westend Hotel again! Sincerely, Management
2 out of 5
by Natalia from USA , Austria

Very disappointed , rude front desc, poor service

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels
Made the booking month ahead with request for nice room with two doubles! Arrived with my sister who is in btw chimo therapy ! Wright at the front desc I got the manager who demand pay up front !!!! I never use to this treatment but ok, I paid !!! After I noticed her (Gabriela ) that we had an 5h drive and asked politely for the nice room!! She give us small room with the Quinn size bed for 2 pple and no air condition !!!! The room was so small that my luggage was barely fitting there!!! I asked for another option and she let as wait for another hour and she complained that she is very busy but will do some changes and we got another room at ground floor with no view !!!!! We was so exhausted that we was agree to that!! If you go to the spa area personal so unfriendly , not even greats you , busy with there own staff or simply playing on there smart phone!!! And this should be 5star service?!!! And if you asked them for something they making face expression that you feel you bothering them for life!!!! Still happy with some personal who is doing Beaty treatments, some of them realy looking to please you.. But it's just few!!!!!! Restaurant service is poor !! Some evenings they not even ask for choice of drink and not bothering to ask how are you doing?food is ok, staying there for 7 days and see quality could be better for 5star hotel!!! Consultation with doctor was more or less about the weather and was lit disappointed in there professionalism!!! I asked for horsebackriding club and they give me some address outside the karlovi vary! I asked exactly direction in English and lady in front desc with same face expression ,, don't bother me by working,, lol told me that impossible for her to print out in English , but she can do in chech !!!ok !!! She print me out half of the direction and the rest she try to drow me on the map! After few minutes she got exchausted and ask me if I want use the taxi instate ?!! Lol I left the hotel , was get lost and finally found it !!! Oh ! What I see it's a big field with no really office set up, some building looks like got the bomb from 1945 war!! Some dirty half naked people running around and one gypsy who tryed to make picture with his phone!! lol I'm not lie!! It's just like horror movie!!! Question to 5star hotel why they offering socha place?!!! They not even listening what are you looking for !! Front desk poor manners , talking to you like to 2 level sitizen , like they know better !! They intarspping you by talking , avoiding eyes contact and no smile or kind word coming out then mouth !!! Terrible experience by checking out!!! Never coming back!!! It's so shame for socha beautiful city socha ugly unfriendly service !!! Hearing another guests in the hotel who leaving with the same about feelings... I more feeling welcome in Austria or schweiz then there!!! Terrible!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by SWH, Hotel Management
Dear Natalia, Thank you very much for your opinion. It is very important ofr us to have a feddback from the guests even the negative one. We will pay our special attention to the points you were mentioning about in your comment. And will do everything we can to provide our clients with the best possible service.
4 out of 5
by OB from London

Beautiful place

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels
Staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient. The hotel is beautiful, rooms are comfortable and the setting is gorgeous. The breakfasts were very good. However, several things did not correspond to a 5 star international hotel rating:1 - Bathroom - bath plug was leaking, making having a bath impossible and it also did not drain completely, making showering unpleasant. No separate shower, though I did not select the lowest price category room available (selected middle range) 2 - TV and all notices/signs were in Russian as 1st language - absolutely unacceptable. Only Russian (mostly), Arabic, German And Czech (2) TV channels, no British or American ones. 3 - Food - a la carte restaurant was totally empty, making it impossible to dine in. The "Swedish table", though with plentiful choice, offered mostly dried up and lukewarm food - poor quality for a high price (I rate the food quality commensurate with a 3* hotel rating). The choice of Russian as a 1st language in an international hotel is insulting to other guest - even if majority of the guests may be Russian.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

فندق فخم بعبق الماضي

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
المشكلة الوحيدة عدم وجود خدمة الغرف بعد الساعة العاشرة ليلاً !
4 out of 5
by Horst

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Komfortables Hotel mit gutem Service

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
Leider waren das Schwimmbad und die Sauna schon eine Woche lang wegen Wartungsarbeiten nicht nutzbar und bei Buchung im Internet nicht zu ersehen. Diese Information erhielten wir erst nach der Bezahlung und ein Alternativangebot nur auf Nachfrage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you very much for your feedback. it is very unfortunate you were not informed in advance about the swimming pool closure. SWH has informed all of our partmers 1 year in advance about the swimmingpool service. It is traditionally closed first week in February. The hotel always offers to our dearest customers the transfer to the other city swimmingpool. We hope to see you soon in Savoy Westend Hotel!
4 out of 5
by Andreas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Fernando from Belo Horizonte

Paz e luxo

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
Infraestrutura e decoração impecáveis. Excelente café da manhã e jantar. Para um público específico, a estrutura de spa medicinal é enorme - com uma bela piscina aquecida, que atende mais do que os idosos onipresentes. De frente para um parque, é distante para ir à pé aos principais pontos turísticos da cidade. Deixam a desejar: o box do chuveiro minúsculo e incompatível com o quarto e hotel, e alguns pontos da área comum que precisam de manutenção (carpete e pintura). A cidade é uma das mais belas do mundo, mas como é uma estância hidrotermal, é indolente e as atividades noturnas praticamente nulas.
5 out of 5
by Rimvydas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2015 on Hotels