Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Strategic Location but old hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach & Walking Street, easy get food
Cons: Need renovation. Hotel very old, price paid not really worth it.
Location: Close to the beach & Walking Street, easy get food
Close to the beach & Walking Street, easy get food But Hotel very old, price paid not really worth it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Close to the beach, some nice restaurants in easy walking distance, as well as a taxi rank if you wanted to go further afield. The pool and Rooftop bar were disappointing. The staff were very accommodating.
5 out of 5
by Darren

Grand Sunset Hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
The Grand Sunset Hotel was great. Location was ideal for accessing Karon beach, restaurants and tourist shopping markets. Rooms were clean. The hotel was not loud. It is not located directly on the main beach road so the traffic noise didn't seem to be an issue. The staff was so nice. A family member misplaced a personal item and it was returned with all contents in place by the staff. It was such a relief. They helped us with any questions we had for them concerning the area and transportation. I found the value for the location and all that we did to be really good. I would recommend this place and stay there again.
2 out of 5
by Sally

Tired and in need of proper management.

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
Could be great, but it's not. Great location, just across the road from the wonderful beach, lots of restaurants and shops nearby. Great rooftop pool, but not many sunbeds. Biggest issue is the lack of management. Linen used on the bedding and towels mostly had rips, holes etc and were of poor quality. Room (deluxe 502) was a great size with separate living room, good balcony, but all a bit tired and not well maintained. When we complained about ripped bedding and towels, we received a shrug. Reception staff are surely and spend their time on the internet, faces stuck in facebook. Breakfast was ok, but space is too small and unless there early, often there was no where to sit. Could be so much better and it should be for the price!
2 out of 5
by Jennifer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
Very clean hotel, helpful staff. I personally did not like Karon Beach, so I would not go back for this reason. Otherwise a really nice place to stay at!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient nice clean hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Overall a good stay, we made the most of our hotel and surrounding area for a 3 night trip.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very enjoyable stay

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
My girlfriend and I stayed in a grand deluxe room. Very spacious and kept clean. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. In between the busy parts of Kata beach and Karon beach so ideal as only a short walk either way. Also very reasonably priced. Never ate at the hotel but place looked clean and welcoming for both breakfast and dinner. Would highly recommend and would visit again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfort & clean hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Room is great & large. Comfort and worth for it price. Morning session receptionist service attitude is not good, night shift receptionist service attitude is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location near beach and shops

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Location. Convenient and cheap. Within walking distance to shops restaurants and the beach. Pool was handy. The staff was friendly and gave us late checkout and let us use facilities until our departure. Cooked breakfast with lots of choices.
Cons: Shower could do with a good scrub/bleach. Some staff didn't speak much English.
Location: Lots of shops, restaurants and beach within walking distance. 90% of tourists were Russian in the area.