Ratings based on 914 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Management needs better eyes.

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: The room was great(with plung pool). Landscaping was beautiful with a few exceptions of visible pipes and electrical wires. Spa was great.
Cons: Food, service, Management presence, adding concierge, lines of site when sitting in the restaurants.
Location: Go have really great seafood.
With the exeception of the Front Desk Staff the rest of the staff barely speak English. Breakfast is good but what happened to the rest of the Food & Beverage operation. Selection is poor, the wine list is nonexistent and the food is not very good. Restaurant staff work hard but are more interested in doing their tasks than the customer.From anywhere in any restaurant you can see many service items; dirty trash cans, old wine bucket stands, glass racks, etc. The Managers are either blind or have worked in here too long. Must have been a great hotel 10 years ago.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2018 by Stefano C, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your time reviewing our property on Expedia.com. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our lush gardens and the quality of the treatments at The Spa. I have shared your other comments to our Management Team, who will be looking into improvements when necessary. We hope to welcome you again in a near future. Best regards, Stefano C.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Rooms very dated and in need of repair/updating. Nothing else to add.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Stefano C., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your time recently reviewing our resort on Expedia.com. You will be pleased to know that renovations are planned for the main building, and hope you'll consider our resort for your next visit. Best regards, Stefano C.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Sheer disappointment

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Hotel needs a massive refurbishment.
Location: The location was good and the beach was clean.
This hotel is no way a 5 star resort the rooms are out dated and property needs a massive refurbishment. We upgraded our room and paid extra for this and later had to downgrade as there was very bad foul drainage smell in our room We have travel few time to Thailand and this was the worst resort we have stayed in and was very disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Stefano C., Hotel Management
Dear Pravin, Thank you for your time recently reviewing our property on Expedia.com. We are sorry to hear that your expectations weren't met during your stay. Renovations are under way for the main building, and we hope you'll give us the chance to exceed your expectations next time. Best regards, Stefano C.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was small , bathroom dirty, need update

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Terrible at check in requested 2 beds they sent us to room with King Bed. Called and then gave me a downgraded room that was old and dirty
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Stefano C., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your time reviewing our property on Expedia.com. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us didn't meet your expectations. Please rest assured that I have shared your comment with our Director of Rooms, who will be looking at improvements. Best regards, Stefano C.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Very good location

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Pros: Very good location
Cons: If the plunge pool could be heated it would be perfect.
Location: Just behind Karon beach and a stones throw away from the nearby shops and restaurants.
Enjoyed our stay throughout our vacation. Very good location and facilities. However due to the windy season, the water in the pool was super cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Stefano C., Hotel Management
Dear Robin, Thank you for your time reviewing our property on Expedia.com. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the location of the resort. We hope to welcome you again in a near future. Best regards, Stefano C.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hong kong

Good value, good location

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Overall happy about stay at Movenpick Karon. Goal was to have a reasonably priced get-away with two kids in a good location. Rooms were comfortable and clean, not glamorous but definitely adequate. A little dated looking. Water pressure could have been better. Food overall pretty good at the Movenpick restaurants. Breakfast buffet was nice, and good kid friendly options. Service at MINT wasn’t great and I’ve written a separate review about that experience. Kids (ages 7 and 8) loved the Kid club and did arts and crafts activities dailies (note additional charges for t-shirts, flower pots for painting, etc. Swimming pool was nice but water so cold, so we mostly went to the beach. Location just across the street from Karon Beach, which is gorgeous. Beautiful sand and water (but no public bathrooms).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Stefano C., Hotel Management
Dear Jill, Thank you for your time recently reviewing our property on Expedia.com. We are pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in a near future. Best regards, Stefano C.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Nice location with lotsa food selection

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Great location, near to beach and night market and lotsa food selection nearby within a stone throw distance. Hotel room was spacious and love the plunge pool especially.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2017 by Stefano C., Hotel Management
Dear A&C, Thank you for your time recently reviewing our resort on Expedia.com. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Penthouse Plunge Pool Villa and the location of the resort. We hope to welcome you again in a near future. Best regards, Stefano
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Great resort with excellent customer service

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff have customer service down pat! Thai people are lovely to start with, but the hotel staff are amazing.
Cons: Restaurant cleanliness as noted above.
First trip to Phuket and first stay at a Movenpick. Large complex. Grounds are beautiful. We upgraded to a penthouse villa with plunge pool. What’s not to like! I found the restaurants slightly lacking in cleanliness. Otherwise, great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2017 by Stefano C., Hotel Management
Dear Kinsey, Thank you for your time reviewing our property on Expedia.com. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found Thai people to be very hospitable. I have shared your comments with our Executive Housekeeper, who will be double-checking our restaurants. Best regards, Stefano C.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Accommodating Staff

Posted Dec 20, 2017
The staff was cheerful and polite at all times. The location was perfect, almost beach side.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2017 by Stefano C., Hotel Management
Dear CK, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Expedia.com. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the professionalism of our team members. We hope to welcome you again in a near future. Best regards, Stefano C.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Best in Phuket

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to beach, town centre of Karon with an abundance of bars and restaurants.Highly recommend.
2nd time we stayed here. Both times we have had an amazing experience. Friendly staff that go out of their way to help with all our needs. Buffet breakfast is the best. The resort facilities are manicured gardens are maintained to a very high standard. The resort is an oasis, 5 restaurants, 4 stunning pools, close to beach, town centre of Karon with an abundance of bars and restaurants. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2017 by Stefano C., Hotel Management
Dear Marcel, Thank you for your time recently reviewing our property on Expedia.com. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your second stay with us. We hope to welcome you again for a third one in a near future. Best regards, Stefano C.