Ratings based on 890 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Ok location on Karon beach. Hotel looks a little dated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Close to everything

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: The view, the pools, people, breakfast and the gardens.
Cons: Time to replace the American Standard toilets.
Location: Good location, less than 10 minutes walk to the main area.
Check in was wonderful and I was lucky to get my room at 1030 instead of waiting until 3pm. Friendly smiling staff everywhere and kept me topped with coffee in the morning. Breakfast is great, don't try everything in one day, spread it over a few days. The walk from the main building through to the beach is amazing through the gardens and buildings, and takes a few days to work it out. Getting sidetracked is part of the adventure. Use of a shower room if you have time between checkout and pickup time. Will definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Stefano C., Hotel Management
Dear Robbert, Thank you for your time recently reviewing our property on Expedia. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our breakfast selection and the wonderful gardens. We hope to welcome you again in a near future. Best regards, Stefano C.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Excellent location, many nice pools, very friendly

Posted Dec 8, 2017
I stayed in Mövenpick for one week with my wife and one year old baby. It was a great experience as the hotel has all facilities including many excellent pools with Pool Bars. Furthermore there is a kids nursery called LITTLE BIRDS CLUB where you can leave your kids: the kids babysitters are very friendly and professional and they have a Nurse there as well as many toys and activities for kids. As for food, all the restaurants provided delicious food with the best hygiene as well as reasonable prices. Would recommend this hotel always especially for families. Finally, it is less than a minute walk from Karon Beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Stefano C., Hotel Management
Dear Marco, Thank you for your time recently reviewing our property on Expedia. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and liked our Kids Club and all the amenities. We hope to welcome you again in a near future. Best regards, Stefano C.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Herndon, Virginia

OK Hotel, in need of refurbishment.

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: Terrific breakfast, vast menu items and made to order omelets, cappuccino and espresso, many varieties of fruit and juices. Lovely gardens.
Cons: As mentioned above, main building needs refurbishment.
Location: Great location in Karon. <5 minutes walk to beach, restaurants and retail area.
We arrived at the hotel at 3:15pm. After a 36 hour trip from the US, upon arrival the front desk staff tried to upsell us to a +$50 a night, larger room than we had booked. After opting out of that pitch, we were told our room would not be ready until 5pm, two hours after the 3pm check-in time. We complained loudly, but were offered soft drinks and had to wait by the bar until a room was ready. We did recieve a 3pm check-out at the end of our stay, but we of course would rather the room have been ready when we arrived. This is NOT a four star hotel. Rooms in the main building are in dire need of refurbishment. Single chair in room had filthy seat cushion. Water in bathroom sink took forever to get hot. Throughout the main building, toilet handles had to be held down for at least five seconds to completely flush. There are three outside gazebos where you can sit and smoke. The seat cushions were filthy with dirt and bird droppings. They looked as though they are never cleaned. Everything needs refurbishment except the nice, comfortable beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Stefano C., Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for your time reviewing our property on Expedia. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast selection and the lovely gardens. I have shared your room concerns with our Head of Housekeeping and our Director of Engineering, who will be looking at immediate improvements. We hope to welcome you again in a near future. Best regards, Stefano C.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from AKL

Awesome Resort Hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: The whole property is an awesome package
Cons: everything was really good...nothing could be better
Location: very near to lovely Karon beach and market place. Very ideal location
Simply described. Our family stay at Movenpick Resort was divine. Highly recommended for proximity to beach, market and all other facilities and tour operators. This is the most ideal location for stay in Phuket. We are definitely going to recommend this property and are going to be repeat clients.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Stefano C., Hotel Management
Dear Pankaj K, Thank you for your time reviewing our property on Expedia.com. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in a near future. Best regards, Stefano C.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicest hotel closest to the beach

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Convenient location, room was upgraded to villa which was amazing! Only steps to the beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by Stefano C., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your time recently reviewing our property on Expedia.com. We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was amazing. We hope to welcome you again in a near future. Best regards, Stefano C.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jordan

very nice resort

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: the pools, breakfast and service
Cons: the room requires some upgrading and pool needs to buy more towels!
Location: location was good near the beach
Very nice resort but needs some upgrades in rooms. the air conditioning started leaking and required intervention of staff - after repair it was still leaking though less. the breakfast was great and staff were very helpful. Nice pools. Problem with towels - they ran out of towels very fast!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by Stefano C., Hotel Management
Dear Michel, Thank you for your time reviewing our resort on Expedia.com. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite some issues with our air conditioning unit; I have shared your comment with our Director of Engineering, who will be looking into a permanent solution. We hope to welcome you again in a near future. Best regards, Stefano C.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lynden, WA USA

Nice hotel close to the beach and town.

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Nice hotel. Good breakfast and wonderful pools. Staff very friendly and welcoming. It’s a large resort so have to walk across the resort to the beach. But this is worth it as the hotel is nice and quiet. Also short walking distance to shopping and other restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Stefano C., Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your time reviewing our property on Expedia.com. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our breakfast options. We hope to welcome you again in a near future. Best regards, Stefano C.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellingham, WA

Close to the beach, beautiful area.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Beds were very comfortable, staff very nice. Lots of stairs to get everywhere though. Overall a nice hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Stefano C., Hotel Management
Dear Tammi, Thank you for your time reviewing our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our mattress to be very comfortable. We hope to welcome you again in a near future. Best regards, Stefano C.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canberra, Australia

Beautiful resort with direct access to the beach

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.
Cons: Make sure you read the information folder provided. If you’ve never been to Asia, you will need someone to explain how to use the toilet system
Location: A few minutes walk to Karon Beach Main Street. Tourist information can be accessed in foyer.
My husband and I stayed for seven nights and had an incredibly relaxing and enjoyable experience. We spent our days chilling out by the pool, strolling along the beach, and getting massages. Food drinks, massages, land aundry service at the resort are very high quality and are at premium cost (much cheaper in the Main Street) but if you want a true 5 star resort experience, you can have an amazing holiday without even leaving the grounds of Movenpick.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Stefano C., Hotel Management
Dear Carol, Thank you for your time recently reviewing our property on Expedia.com. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and like the friendliness of our staff. We hope to welcome you again in a near future. Best regards, Stefano C.