Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: the view,
Cons: better communication. we had booked this hotel 10 months prior. repairs to apartments when needed not when guests find all the problems
Our apartment was supposed to be 2 king beds and a cot for toddler. as booking was for 4 adults and one child. I. I queen bed and 2 singles no cot. 2. Microwave didnt work. 3. kettle leaked. 4. bath leaked from underneath when plug let out. rust was also noted around shower base. 4. they wanted to charge us 400 australian for a cot or roll out for the child. trying to negotiate with staff was difficult. ended up moving to another hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
Overall was good, just realised that we have to paid for the electricity fee (which is quite expensive) when we check out. It should be mentioned when we booked it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Some good, some bad

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Our apartment had a great view & lovely comfortable interior, good kitchen facilities
Cons: Hotel has no lobby, there is an office located in the car park which is only open a few hours a day. There was no information provided in the room regarding facilities on the premises or nearby, & when office was open hard to communicate as no one could understand. Hotel is located at the top of a very steep hill, taxis refused to come up. Only found out by accident on the last day that they run a shuttle service down the hill. We had an emergency in the middle of the night & had to go to the hospital, but as the room did not have a phone, the office does not have an emergency button, I had to walk down the mountain & find a nearby resort that does have some facilities to call a taxi. If it was a heart attack, my husband would be dead. Also, most of the exercise equipment in the gym didn't work properly.
Location: About half a kilometre to the shopping street & beach, but that was ok, I knew that when I booked & we don't mind walking.
5 out of 5
by Tanya from Johannesburg, South Africa

Sunset Plaza Family Holiday

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived morning before Office opened but our key was at the Office entrance with our name & apartment number on. A lady was there to assist us with our luggage & took us to our apartment. We already had great 1st impression of the stunning refreshing clean pool area (which we spend a lot of swims & night swims in-which is beautifully lit up at night). The apartment was clean & cool (from aircon-since ridiculously hot & humid outside). The bedrooms had fresh crisp linen (a huge plus for me since very fussy person). The kitchen & lounge was clean & tidy. Good kitchen facilities (a washing machine & dish washer would have been a bonus). Once a week the apartment is completely cleaned & fresh bath & swim towels are given. The vacuum cleaner included was a great for a quick clean of the beach sand & kids crumbs etc. We had a beautiful view of the Andaman Sea (Apartment A25) & a Jacuzzi on the Balcony with romantic Lights that change colour. Overall we were very happy with our stay & were comfortable. however from all the reviews from before we booked the apartment the Hill is no joke, but thank goodness we are very Fit & enjoyed the work out & then looked forward to jumping into the refreshing pool straight after. Even our 8 half year old son managed the hill (we had to carry our 4 year old son though on top of all the beach bags or 9ltr bottles of water at a time). the family mart just at the bottom of the hill across the road sold 6 x 1.5Ltr Bottle Water for only THB60.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maitland, NSW, Australia

Nice place with excellent ocean views

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Nice self contained apartments with excellent ocean views over the town of Karon from its hilltop location. Short walk to shops and restaurants but with a very steep driveway to walk back up or down so take the stairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Amazing views, close to the beach

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Everything and anything was catered for
Cons: The drive way is a killer, obviously with an amazing view you need to be up high on the side of a mountain. It will keep you in shape.
Location: With the beach so close and only a 15 minute ride to Patong beach it is in a quieter location which we enjoyed. Lot's of restaurants to choose from
This was my first time in Phuket with the whole family so it was important that everything went according to plan. Well when we checked into the Sunset Plaza we were more than delighted with the size and comfort of the apartment. With two swimming pools to choose from it catered for all, young and old. The staff are amazing, you are always greeted by a friendly smile and nothing is a bother for them. We spent a lot of time on the balcony absorbing the fantastic ocean views and with the beach so close it was ideal for that morning dip in the ocean. The only negative comment if it is negative is that the driveway up to the Sunset Plaza if quiet steep. We walked up that driveway every day, good for losing weight but a killer if you are walking up it after a big meal. Over all our 8 day stay at the Sunset Plaza was extremely enjoyable and we are looking forward to coming back to it again next year. Thanking you all in advance Tony King
3 out of 5
by Yeasin from Dhaka, , Bangladesh

keep transport at least till night 12:00

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
On the top of hill it was nice view facing to sea,far from beach, but after 8 PM no transport, Micro Oven was not working, Room Lock was not working, Safe was not ok, no cleaning person available, over all it was not so bad but expectation was more , since it was a family tour. over all I enjoyed the location but family was"nt, because walk on the top of hill after whole day visit was so hard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Yes

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Very nice view of Karon beach! Excellent size apartment! Enjoyed staying there will go back and stay again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spacious room

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
Something is good. Something is bad.
4 out of 5
by Darren from Muswellbrook

Not a bad place to stay

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
I had a great stay. Apartment was good with great views but a horrible steep walk from the road. The courtesy van was ok, but after 6 would have to get tuk tuk to drive up the steep driveway. Food was always easy to find and the beach wasn't too far to walk. Plenty of shops to buy clothes and many many massage shops. I had the company of a nice Thai girl who was always willing to show me around. I think the room isnt cleaned unless you specifically ask for this. The power was out in all rooms for 3 hours and it was hard without the aircon for that time. I don't think I would have enjoyed it without my Thai friend to help with the language. I rate this place 7 out of 10