Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by George

Best hotel in Karpathos

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
It's really difficult for me to describe just how perfect this hotel is, but I will give it a try. Everything about our stay was superb. We had the waterfront sea view room which we strongly recommend, even though it is slightly more expensive, but well worth it! The room is very spacious and very clean. The beds are very comfortable as well. The pools is perfect. Great temperature, well serviced and bed space is always available no matter how packed the hotel is. The staff are extremely friendly all over the hotel. They made our trip so much more enjoyable. They were always helpful and always willing to help, even when it came to certain recommendations on the island (beaches, restaurants...etc). We ended up making a few new friends at the hotel even! The food is delicious regardless of where you eat. The breakfast is perfect with a massive selection of different options. We never ate dinner at the hotel, or had the lunch buffet, but I can tell you everything on the menu was super delicious. The location is very convenient. There is a supermarket 2 minutes walk from the hotel. The town is around a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The walk to the town is perfect because you get to explore all the little shops on the way to the port. We strongly recommend this hotel to any visitor to the island. Trust me it will make the trip.
5 out of 5
by SPYRIDON

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
An excellent choice for quality accommodation in a fascinating environment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017
Thank you very much for your kind words. It is our goal to offer the best services possible!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Cheerful and helpful staff. Lovely building but felt generic, not very Greek. Good location to enjoy beautiful island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by The Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for positive comments and for choosing to stay at Alimounda Mare for your holidays. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017
Thank you for your rating. We would appreciate your comments in order to improve our services.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Facilities and front line staff attitude Breakfast (exceptional) Room cleanliness
Cons: Adherence to rules An effort to make it a 5-star experience or rating it as 4-start to be more honest
Location: The hotel is at Pigadia which is dominated by the charter/group tourism. Karpathos is beautiful and there are superb beaches but a car is required
On the positive side, the hotel has good facilities and excellent staff. Breakfast is excellent, the rooms are very clean and of reasonable size. However, as other guests have commented, it is not a 5-star hotel and does not offer that level of experience to its guests. It seems that management is trying to lump together groups of guests that paid for all inclusive experience (and I suspect a lower rate) and groups of guests that were advertised a 5-star experience. This becomes worse by the lack of adherence to the hotel's rules by the hotel staff itself. For example, they advertise a strict policy of "no one is allowed to occupy with a towel a sun bed at the pool for more than 20 minutes" and it is posted clearly at the hotel's lifts (calling the towel's "unattended"). More than two thirds of the sun-beds though are occupied by "unattended" towels for hours and when one complains management says that this is not happening as there is a strict 20 minutes limit, ignoring the reality in front of our and their eyes. The front line staff is trying to help but has clearly strict instructions not to enforce the rule. Similarly, the hotel called 1 week prior to our stay to ask for a credit card saying that "Expedia doesn't give access to the CC details" (!) forcing us to look for scanning facilities in the island we were before to send the form to them. Clearly, they could have found a better way esp. if this is advertised as a 5-star experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by The Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing to stay at Alimounda Mare. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holidays with us. Please note that the Hotel offers bed and breakfast, halfboard and full board and there is no all inclusive. We are sorry about the inconvenience regarding your reservation. When there is an inconsistency with some details we need to contact the guest in order to ensure that everything is according to our reservation policy. We thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by Tov from Brooklyn

Decent place but not 4 stars and not worth the $$

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
The Good: - Front desk service and inside bar exceptional - Views and beach access are great although we did not care for the location being on "hotel row" - The lazy river is a nice touch although could use an upgrade The Bad: - The beach towel policy is unacceptable for the price and "resort" nature of the property. Only a couple of hours 3 days a week can you change your dirty beach towel. - The swimup bar is terrible. The service is lackluster, the drinks aren't done well, the menu is a bunch of laminated sheets stuffed in as after thoughts and the food is delivered from nearby restaurants. All in all you are better off going to another property if you want drinks on the beach. - The lazy river has dead spots and mold along the edges. Doesn't look like it has ever been cleaned. - The food in the breakfast area is terrible. Lots of it but none is good. We ended up not eating the inclusive breakfast so our day didn't start with a bad taste in our mouth. - The two elevators are slow and hot. You can spend your whole vacation waiting for them. If you don't like stairs, don't stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great rooms, but breakfast needs improvement

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Alimounda Mare is a new hotel in the center of the city on the beach. The condition of the rooms is excellent - lots of space, clean, well decorated, most rooms have a sea or a partial sea view. There are several elevators, a mini market, a pool and a restaurant. The positive is that hotel is new, located in Pigadia so close to a number of restaurants (we preferred a place called Floisvos just 8 min walk or the Island bar just next door). The downside - breakfast was not a pleasant experience - too much noise, too many people, servers running around making more noise. We decided not to go for breakfast the following day. The quality of food was below average for a 5star hotel. The sea access is not comfortable, rocks mostly so it is best to go for a swim elsewhere. If you are going for a 5 star all inclusive perhaps this is an okay choice but the hotel needs to make significant improvements in food quality and breakfast etiquette.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good looking hotel spoilt by officious staff.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pulled up outside hotel at one in the morning to offload bags and children. An official all but ran out to tell me that it was against the rules to park there, even though it was apparent that I was just unloading. The lobby police also frightened my 11 year old by shouting at her not to lean on the arm of the chair. My elderly mother was upset to be told off by the beach monitors for folding the sunbeds forward to keep the towels from blowing off as apparently it might damage the hinge. My fair skinned son was fried to a crisp by the pool one afternoon as the guard refused to put up any parasols incase the wind got up. We had not been told beforehand that shorts were not allowed at dinner and, having been aggressively challenged by the duty warden on the first night, we had to go and buy long trousers for my 13 year old. Despite the number of stars claimed by this hotel, there were no plugs in any of the baths. We were practically rugby tackled on our first morning for taking a peach and a croissant out of breakfast as the 'no food to be taken out of the restaurant' is heavily policed - I wouldn't have been surprised if they had done a bag check. My 16 year old lost his room card and the totally charmless receptionist threatened to charge him if he lost another. Our greatest disappointment was that I ticked the all inclusive box on the Expedia website and this holiday came up, but it was only full board and so all our drinks, even soft, were extra More open-prison than hotel
5 out of 5
by Shay

amazing hotel!! highly recommended

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
stayed at the alimounda for 3 nights and it's an amazing hotel! it's the only 5 star hotel on the island and it keeps with a 5 star level of service! the rooms were very clean and beautiful and the staff was very nice, great pool and breakfast! highly recommended :)
5 out of 5
by nelson

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels