Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phila suburbs

art tourism

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: large room, great location
Cons: some tlc to paint or holes [where a fixture or something was moved] here and there.
Location: near many trams, and shopping, and documenta [big art show in certain years]
Stayed here to see documenta. This was a great location for that show, which extends around the town, including in buildings 100 meters away. Good central location for other downtown things as well. Dated stylings, as other reviews have mentioned, are accurate, but why would they change it? it's a moment in time, and has character [some rough edges], unlike generic new hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Days Inn Front Office, Hotel Management
Dear guest, many thanks for your kind words and the extra time you spend for, to submit us your rating. Best regards from Days Inn kassel Hessenland
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Need a refurb, but lovely staff and central!

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
The Hotel looks straight from the 70's. The rooms are worn out. Although the hotel looks clean, it is not spotless for example carpet was stained, walls could have done with some fresh paint. The bed is too soft to be comfortable and the bathroom is mainly plastic with linoleum flooring. On the positive side, the staff is lovely and extremely helpful and the location is central and well positioned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Sales, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to submit your review. We would like to extend our praise to our employees. Kind regards from Kassel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

Excellent location for seeing Kassel

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The room was huge. Staff were very helpful in providing tips for getting around.
Cons: Bathroom a bit dated, but overall OK.
Location: Take the tram to the base of the Hercules monument, and make the hike past the castle and gardens up to the monument. Bring water.
Located at the end of the central district, close proximity to restaurants & shops. Right on the main tram lines, so getting around is simple. Straight shot to the Hercules monument, castle, and park.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Days Inn Kassel Hessenland, Hotel Management
Dear guest, many thanks for your nice respond and the time you spend for, to submit this respond to us. Best regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean room in Kassel

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
I loved the room at Days Inn Kassel. During my stay the elevator was not working, which was a problem as I had a lot of luggage. The restaurant only serves breakfast and the bar service is limited.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, many thanks for your respond and the extra time you spend for to submit this to us. We apologize again for the inconvenience with the elevator. Best regards from Kassel
4 out of 5
by Barry from Houston, Texas

Not bad.

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is somewhat dated and a little worse for wear, so people who are more into hotel aesthetics will not enjoy this hotel. However, with that being said, the hotel is great if you are looking to spend more time outside of your room then in it. The beds were nice and comfortable. Restaurants, cafes, and shopping are just short walk or tram ride away. Only complaint I can say is at night on the weekends it can be a little noisy if you have the windows open and are facing the main streets, there's no A/C in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, many thanks for your nice words and the extra time, you spend for, to submit this rating to us. Best regards from Days Inn Kassel Hessenland
4 out of 5
by Malcolm from Bexley

Good to be back

Posted Jan 23, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed here before and requested a particular room at the time of booking which was duly allocated to us on arrival. We agree with others who comment about the dated condition of the hotel but for us it has good 1950s character even though redecoration would be welcomed by all I am sure- but then prices would surely rise! Ideally suited in a good safe part of town with trams to anywhere on the doorstep. Might be noisy in summer when it is necessary to open windows. Might need to ask for room at the back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2016 by Sales, Hotel Management
Dear guest, many thanks for your rating and the extra time you spend for, to submit this to us. Best regards from Kassel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Days Inn

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: Centrally located
Cons: Retrain/remind the staff on proper customs and courtesies and by all means do not try to lie to the customer because "extra" work when it is your job.
Finding the hotel was a bit difficult since the sign was not lit and it seemed to be closed. The front desk attendant was friendly and greeted us from there she went about to ask us about room preference (smoking or non smoking) to which we replied clearly that NON SMOKING was desired. We were given the keys to Room # 409 and were not told it was a smoking floor. Upon entering the room we noticed the overwhelming smell of smoke & opened the windows to clear the air while we went into the city for shopping. Upon our return, 5 hours later, the room still smelled of ashtray. We called the front desk and requested a different non smoking room, where we received the reply "I'm sorry that is the only room we have left and it's only for one night, and I cannot help you any further." We went downstairs and confronted the front desk face to face where we explained that the room was unbearable causing us red/watery eyes and headaches. Again the reply/customer service to this situation was not professionally handled and we were asked "if we didn't know it was a smoking room once we first entered". It was reiterated that is the reason the windows were opened because it was assumed other rooms on the floor may have been smoking rooms and the air was circulating throughout the floor. After some hesitation and re-checking the computer, a room was "available" but it was facing the street. Which was not a problem as long as we didn't catch cancer with the "only one night stay."
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2015 by FO, Hotel Management
Dear guests, we thank you for your review and the extra time you have spent on it. We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. We strive to when it is in our power to meet the needs of our guests. Friendly greetings from Kassel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Farnham, UK

Visiting the Berg Park

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Good for city centre without being right in the middle. Handy for trams.
Cons: Better pillows
Location: Berg Park in fantastic
Stayed two nights in Kessel, having one whole day to visit the Berg Park. Hotel had nice periods features but was a little neglected. Rooms were sparse but functional. Balcony was a nice feature and not too noisy even though we faced onto to road. Pillows were awful, we asked for more at reception, but as they were single staffed, could actually give them to us until 10:10pm which was too late for us.. Used the duvets instead as it was really warm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by Days Inn , Hotel Management
Dear guest, many thanks for your review. We ar so sorry about the discomfort inconvenience and would like to apologize sincerely for. Best regards from Days Inn Kassel Hessenland.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Malcolm from Bexley

How Have We Missed The Day's Inn Previously?

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Hotels
We were visiting our daughter and her family so this was one of many visits to Kassel over the past 20 years. We have stayed in 4 or 5 other hotels in Kassel and would rate the Day's Inn as better than some and as good as any of the others. The location of the hotel is perfect, close to the main shopping area, and convenient for trams to more-or-less everywhere of interest. We were pleasantly surprised that we were given the Wi-Fi service for free when the booking confirmation said it would cost 10€ per day (which would have been exorbitant). We did not use the restaurant so cannot comment on that aspect. All our dealings with the staff were good who all spoke English (of course!). The room was large and airy with a balcony that we would have enjoyed but for the gales, torrential rain, hail and snow!!!!! We will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Sales, Hotel Management
Dear guests, we thank you for your nice words and rating, which you've submitted to us. Best regards from Days Inn Kassel Hessenland