Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

OK for the price

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Groovy lounge area, large bedroom, comfortable bed, large bath, clean rooms.
Cons: Air conditioning in bedroom. Kettle in bedroom. Attitude of most staff which was unhelpful / unfriendly.
Location: Near to the train station and trams into centre of town. Ate at lovely restaurant, The Duck, serving excellent steak nearby on route to Herkules.
I stayed here for Documenta when it was quite hard to find a room in the city. The pluses about the hotel - the rooms are large, clean, and the beds extremely big and comfortable. The lounge areas are groovy and comfortable. While not especially close to the city centre, it is easy to get into the centre by tram c.3 mins from he front door. The hotel breakfast was OK, some good things (fresh fruit, some good pastries) but not up to high standards that I expect in many German hotels. The negatives - no air conditioning in the room, which was OK in mid-September but in the summer would be very problematic as the hotel overlooks the main train station. So there is a lot of noise at night. With some exceptions staff were pretty inattentive. When I arrived there was a problem with my Expedia booking. Rather than call my bank the woman on reception said that I wouldn't be allowed to stay unless I paid by cash. To my question of what I could do if I didn't have cash she suggested I would sleep rough (it was a nasty rainy night). Internet in the room was inconsistent. When I was unable to log onto Skype for a conference call I was given a different code: apparently logging on with the room no. taps into a weaker network. I wish they'd given me this when I checked in.Another receptionist seemed reluctant to provide me with info about Documenta. Only after I insisted did she poinetd to a map on the wall. When I said I couldn't take that with me she finally gave me a map.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small rooms. Bad service.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Bad service. Poor decor. Small stuffy rooms. No a/c Only good thing is location
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Anastasia Schreiner, Guest Service Supervisor, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Every feedback is important to us – that’s the only way we can improve us. Thank you for pointing out the great location! I´m very sorry for the bad service. Please be sure this doesn’t reflect our standards at all. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect base for visiting Documenta14 in Kassel.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Location, beds, food, staff.
Cons: A kettle in the room would have been bliss.
Location: We were visiting the art event Documenta14, however, there's year-round tourism. The Orangierie park is vast, glorious and free.
Great location for exploring the exhibits scattered around Kassel. It's next to the Kassel Wilhelmshöhe train and bus stations, but you couldn't hear either. Very comfortable beds, nice room, good shower and bath with lots of hot water. Amazing breakfast buffet (not included in room rate but less if you book in advance). Cheerful and considerate service. Comfortable and un-fussy. Would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by FO, Hotel Management
Dear Marsha, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking time to this great rating. We are glad that you give so many positive notices for our house and we hope to see you soon again in one of our cool & trendy hotels. Best Regards, Benjamin Härtel Guest Service Supervisor
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Water pipes buzzed all night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near the train station

Posted Jul 30, 2016
The hotel, staff and everything were great. The breakfast was a little expensive as was parking (1€ per hour!!). But overall the hotel was clean nice and very new. It was also difficult to find with a GPS and we had to stop and get directions to find it.
2 out of 5
by Leonides

"wanna be designer/ hip hotel"

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
PentaHotel Kassel is a "want to be" designer/ hip hotel near by the train station. It has some designer elements but it is falling apartment. My bathroom was rusty and shower heads were loose. The attendance was poor. The receptionist was also the bartender and they were not clear on understanding what to do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by Aisha, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with our service and facilities. The experience you described causes us deep concern and we have discussed your input and will strive to improve the quality of our service. Please accept our apologies for your less than perfect experience during your stay with us. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback, and we do hope you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back. Christian Keßler Regional General Manager pentahote Kassel & Eisenach
3 out of 5
by RACHEL VICTORIA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by William from Saginaw TX

Vacation in Kassel

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent decor and modern feel. Comfortable room, with a rain-style shower head. Paid extra for the enhanced Internet but it was not fast enough to stream Netflix.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterey, CA

Close to ICE train station

Posted Jul 29, 2015
This was convenient, but nothing special. The check out staff had limited English capability and we had a complicated issue that needed assistance.