Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by John

Impeccable!

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful modern hotel set in the a castle park in the black Forrest- Schloss Whilhemshohoe. Everything is impeccable. It's remote, that's because it's located in a historic park, but it's easy to get the tram downtown to Kassel. I'm looking forward to another visit. Did I mention the spa? D
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2017 by Andre, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you very much for your visit and the kind words. We would really appreciate you visiting again and are looking forward to. Alle the best until then. Have a nice weekend. Your Schlosshotel Team.
3 out of 5
by Franz

Excellent hotel - but greedy penny pinching spoils

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
First the good points. This is a modern hotel, fast wifi is free, the room was excellent, the area quiet for a good sleep and the breakfast buffet one of the best I have had for a long time. The hotel is located within a beautiful publicly owned park. Now to the bad things. At £ 147 per night, this is not a cheap hotel. Yet there were not enough papers available in the breakfast lounge and when I requested the reception to let me have a newspaper, I was charged Euro 1.70. Although there are acres of parking space available and the car park is secured by a barrier, they charge Euros 8.00 per night. In my experience, considering the room rate, this is greedy. On balance, the hotel is over priced, value for money it is not. Before moving to Kassel, I stayed in a hotel of equal standard in Erfurt (Linderhof), at roughly half the price, all included. I shall not return, sorry.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by Andre, Hotel Management
Dear Franz, Thank you for your visit and the remarks regarding your stay. We do take customer satisfaction very seriously. And are truly sorry that you weren´t fully happy with everything. We do believe you should re-consider some things you wrote about us as this really not a fair comparison. We find it challenging to compare hotels in different cities and states. First of all the economy is different, i.e. wages are completely different and much lower in Erfurt. I know Erfurt and that nice hotel very well, but you can´t really compare the locations and suburbs of both hotels at all. Also as a general note please be aware when comparing prices that most hotels have a flexible pricing system. Empty hotels are always cheaper than well booked hotels. Also Kassel currently has the documenta exhibtion, during events rates are a little higher than usual. The parking ground has to be maintained and the parking slots are rent from the owner (which is not the hotel). So charging for parking is needed to cover expenses. Other hotels that offer free parking include this in the room rate´s calculation. We believe that this isn´t a fair solution for guest arriving by taxi or train. Feel free to compare parking prices within Kassel, there are plenty hotels charging way more than we do. We have spare newspapers everyday that get sent back. So we are sorry, that the demand during your stay made it impossible for you to get one at that time. The newspapers and magazines at reception are just for sale because the have to be paid to a different provider. This is also not uncommon. We are very sorry to hear you won´t return. So all the best wishes and safe journeys elsewhere. Have a nice weekend. Kind regards, Your Schlosshotel Team.
5 out of 5
by James

Relaxing stay

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
beautiful area around the park!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Andre, Hotel Management
Dear James, We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel. Thank you very much for your visit and the high score. Have a lovely weekend. Kind regards, Your Schlosshotel Team.
3 out of 5
by Amanda

Disappointing

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
The fourth hotel of a road trip and by far the least impressive. Good points - helpful reception staff. They changed my room after having initially given me a room in the entrance corridor joining the carpark and reception which was very noisy. This is the first time that I've requested a room change in any hotel. - Good evening buffet (albeit pricey at 40 euros each) - Friendly, helpful staff in dining room. - Clean room Bad points - thin towels, one worn through with a large hole. - shower head would not stay in place when water pressure applied. Faced the wall and slid down the shower pole. Needed to be held throughout to direct water. - Visably lumpy pillows, uncomfortable bed. - Chaotic breakfast service with an unattended list of entitled room numbers at the entrance. Insuffucient tables and noone to co-ordinate seating, people were wandering around with plates trying to find somewhere to sit. No scrambled eggs or fried eggs left and large queue for omlettes. (the eggs were replenished after half an hour). The best thing about it was its proximity to the park, but a far from relaxing experience and unfortunately I wouldnt be able to recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Andre, Hotel Management
Dear Amanda, Thank your for your feedback and your recent visit. We aim to satify all guests and set ourself high standards to achieve that. Thefore I would to offer my sincere apologies for not meeting your standards. We are sorry to read your comments and will check on all points made to assure that staff will meet all requirements and standards. Thank you for the hints. Some points mentioned clearly can´t be excused and will make sure those are one time incidents. I am sure you also wont mind clearing some false statements. The buffet you had cost 29€, not the 40€ you mentioned. We have 4 room categories with different standards and you chose to book the cheapest category. Those, as cleary mentioned in all discriptions and on our website, do have different setup and locations compared to the upper class rooms. But as mentioned before we still want to have all guests to have a positive stay so as described before we helped you with a different room. Our apologies that this still didnt feel like the room that you were expecting. Thank you for your visit and the helpful feedback. Kind regards, Your Schlosshotel Team.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Always again

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was ok
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the review & your visit. Have a nice weekend. Your Schlosshotel Team
5 out of 5
by Damian from Solihull

An amazing hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, loved breakfast and spa/pool/garden area. The only missing was tea/coffee tray in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Damian, Thank you for your recent visit and the review about our services. It´s right that we only have that tea and coffee machine in our higher tier rooms. My apologies for the inconvenience. We are currently checking the demand and will make a decision to upgrade more rooms with that. Otherwise a kettle and tea and coffee can always be requested through reception. Have a pleasant day & all the best wishes. Your Schlosshotel Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Vielen herzlichen Dank für die perfekte Bewertung. Schön, dass Sie sich bei uns so wohl gefühlt haben. Danke sehr für das Lob. Bis zum nächsten Mal wünschen wir Ihnen alles Gute und viel Spass auf allen Reisen. Ihr Schlosshotel Team
5 out of 5
by Bernie from Los Angeles

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
We only stayed for one night but had a fantastic experience. The spa is amazing, and the breakfast was fantastic. The hotel is conveniently located in the park. We would definitely stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much Bernie, your feedback and your stay has been much appreciated. All the best on all your journeys. Your Schlosshotel Team
5 out of 5
by Michael from Darmstadt

Luxurious Stopover

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
We only stayed for one night but had enough time to enjoy the pools, dinner at the garden restaurant and the breakfast buffet the next morning. The staff was very friendly and considerate. The hotel: Absolutely worth the price. The location: priceless.
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you very much for your visit and the excellent review. It is much appreciated. All the best wishes, Your Schlosshotel Team
4 out of 5
by Frank from Salt Lake City, UT

Great hotel and fantastic location!

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
We came to Kassel to hike around Wilhelmshohe Bergpark and had a great time doing that. The Hotel location is absolutely perfect and the staff were great. The staff were very helpful and provided us with any and all information we needed for a comfortable stay. The only main complaint I had was the wifi was pretty poor. I could never manage to get it to work and stay working. constant drop offs. Who knows - maybe it was a higher power telling me to turn my phone off and just disconnect altogether!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2016 by Katharina Tromp, Hotel Management
Dear Frank, thanks for your good review. We was very happy about that. We hope you come back to kassel as our guest. Your Schlosshotel Bad Wilhelmshöhe