Ratings based on 295 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice and clean hotel within 5 mins to the beach

Posted Dec 11, 2017
The hotel is nice and clean, within 5 mins walking to Kata beach. The beach water is warm and clean, excellent for body boarding and swimming. Try out the restaurant nearby - Natalie, reasonable price for delicious seafood. And you can get a tailor made suite at Harry - a good and friendly service by Chris.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.Z

Needs work

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Location. Buffet Breakfast. Friendly staff.
Cons: Shower temperature. Cleanliness. Overall wear and tear of the place. Needs a spruce up.
Location: Close to the beach and plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.
We stayed here 4 nights. Compared to other places we stayed while in Thailand, this one seemed a little expensive considering the state of the place. But it was a good location and the rooms were mostly still comfortable. We rented 3 rooms and all had the same issues with the showers. mid shower they would turn cold then go scolding hot, you would have to step to the side to avoid the water because of how hot it was. It did this on its own without touching the tap. It was terrible. The taps in our bathroom were not clean they had water spots on them as did the shower glass and mirrors in the room. The bathroom sink had built up dirt and just looked old and dirty. Didn't look like it had been cleaned properly. The bed cover on my bed also had stains on it. The pool area looked a little run down, you could see the outdoor showers underneath that seperate building that overlooks the pool, had missing shower heads and weeds had started to take over. Aside from that, the room was comfortable, and the hotel had everything we needed. The buffet breakfast was the best we had during our visit to thailand. So much food. Staff were friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur, MY

Mediocre hotel, good location

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: Location, free minibar, breakfast and pool
Cons: Cleanliness of the building, complete overhaul of the outlook of the hotel, staff training for friendliness.
Location: Plenty of shops, bars and restaurants nearby. The beach is also a short walk away.
Had an average experience at Sugar Marina Resort-Fashion. My gf and I spend 6 nights at Sugar Marina. The location of the hotel was strategic, as it is a 3 mins walk to the beach and close to many restaurants and convenience shops like 7-eleven. However, besides the great variety of choices during breakfast and the free refill of the minibar, the hotel lacks proper cleaning staff, as our room were slightly dirty when we first checked in. In addition, I would advise you to fork out additional money for a room upgrade, as our initial room choice (cheapest option), was facing a stone brick wall with no view in sight. The pool was also slightly dirty around it edges, and there is only one worn-out lift for the entire hotel, though it doesn't seem like a big problem for the guests, as most of them opt to walk up the stairs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Not what I expected...

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Wotif
Unfortunately I did not have the best experience at the Sugar Marina Resort. First, the hotel is very dated and the room was not as comfortable as advertised. The breakfast is average but the cleanliness of the pool and spa is good. The main reason for my poor experience at this hotel was due to an incident that occurred when my partner and I were sick. We had become incredibly ill with food poisoning and were hold up in our room for over 12 hours. We managed to leave the room to get more toilet paper and water so we thought we could ask the reception desk to grab us these 2 items as we were unfit to go any further than the hotel. To our surprise when we reached the desk and asked for these items we were told 'it's too late, we are closed go to 7/11' to which the reception attendent returned to watching television in the back room behind the desk. I was fairly shocked and disgusted that we weren't assisted to get these 2 very simple, basic items when we were both clearly very unwell. I did not feel overly comfortable at this hotel overall and was disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great breakfast buffet

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Hotel looks a bit old since my last stay in 2013. Nothing to complain about. Best breakfast buffet in the area.
4 out of 5
by Simien

good price that's pretty close to the beech

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed only for a few hours. Had a red-eye flight so wanted some place to tie us over. Checked in at 3pm checked out at midnight. The pool was small and not the cleanest so did not go in the pool. The hotel was super close to the beach but not right on the beach front, so it was a balance between price and accessing the beach. The area was pretty quiet, but I think it might be one of the busier part of Kata Beach. The waves were great for surfing when we were there. And surf house was super close to the hotel. Booked the room for the sake of going to surf house. For the price, I think it was a good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great Location!

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Great location, good wifi, comfy bed and clean room - perfect for what I needed
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Great location

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Situated only a 2 min walk from kata beach this hotel made it easy for us to get around the city by foot or by taxi. The rooms were ok. Bed is a bit hard. Wifi is spotty, kept getting bumped off and having to relog in. Staff was very nice and accommodating to any need we had, i.e. More towels, coffee etc. if you are looking for an inexpensive lodging option this hotel would do the trick
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location but the hotel needs upgrading

Posted Mar 15, 2017
The hotel staff were great. The room itself could have used a bit of an upgrade. The water pressure in the shower was too low to wash my hair and the tub didn't have a plug for the drain. I ended up washing my hair in the tub and plugging up the drain with a washcloth. The fake "Prada" shoe in the bathroom was filthy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Price. Close to the beach.
Cons: Needs some sprucing up
Location: If you don't like noise book the room with pool view
Good value for the money. Close to the beach. The hotel staff is trying hard to be helpful. They may not understand you but will always say "yes". The buiding shows some wear and tear, but you get what you paid for.