Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Exeter UK

*RAT* in my room *No hot water* Below any standard

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: Dynamic and interesting design, but the hotel is very shabby.
Cons: Knock The Color Kata down down and start again! It is infested with rats and lots of street noise from passing cars and motorbikes!
Location: Nice beaches and near Big Buddha
The staff here are super friendly and nice but the management clearly do NOT give a monkey what their international visitors think! I am writing to complain about the overall standard of: The Color Kata. There was absolutely no hot water for the duration of my stay. After the torrential downpour there was a significant amount of water that had leaked down the wall in the toilet making the floor wet and consequently, slippery and dangerous. I was offered the opportunity to move rooms, which initially was fine. On my last night I walked into the room and watched a baby rat drop from the art work over and above the bed. The rat half bounced and half jumped down off the bed and onto the floor then ran behind the fridge. As you may imagine I was pretty shocked and wanted to contact reception immediately to get this rodent removed. As I approached the telephone to call reception the rat ran under the bed and jumped up into the gap between the wall and the artwork. In the UK if this same incident happened they would close the hotel immediately. I have absolutely no issue with your charming staff at the hotel, however and unfortunately, in my opinion the hotel is below any international standard. The manager didn't give a monkey and was too busy apparently to talk to me about my complaint. The management feel they addressed the issue with me by upgrading me to the hotel next door, whilst I appreciated this gesture it wasn't convenient to move rooms. A rat in a hotel room?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

No water

Posted Nov 28, 2017
This was the second time I booked this hotel and this time it missed the mark by a long shot. Terrible, stayed for 6 days no water on sink for 5 days, no water to shower for 1 day and no hot water for 3 days. I had to complain about not having a phone and not having a waist basket. Their excuse for the sink not working was first in a little bit. Then sorry we are working on it. And it NEVER got done. It only worked on the first day. I will tell everyone never to stay in this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from From Chicago,IL. USA

Good stay

Posted Feb 19, 2017
In the beginning on the first day things were not to good. However, once I let staff know about some issues they took care of them right away. As a courtesy they upgraded me and I was very satisfied. Even the free shuttle service to the beach was on time everyday. I will stay in this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Value for money, nice hotel & great staff.

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Service!
Cons: If only we could smoke in our rooms that'd be great!
Location: It's pretty much 15mins away from the beach if you're walking, 5mins by bike. There's a BBQ place near Family Mart, cheap and tasty!
The hotel is a little dated but for a 2-Star hotel it is value for money, the service is excellent and prompt. When we arrived, we were told the lift was out of service but the staff carried our luggages all the way up to level 3 without hesitation. But this is a no smoking hotel, you can't smoke in the rooms but you can smoke in the lobby. Good if you're keen on making friends. From the pictures the hotel looks a fresh but I guess it's been a couple of years they need to start replacing some of their furnitures and they need to replace their pillows, it's originally 1 pillow per person but the pillows were flat so we requested extra pillows and they sent it better ones less than 5 minutes. They have really amazing service. The Pizza place, beside the hotel has really good food if you're lazy on somedays. And there's a tour agency the other side of the hotel Katekawn (can't remember) but they are working with the hotel so you don't actually have to give up your passport to rent a bike which is also a plus. Overall we loved our stay with The Color Kata!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and Clean

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
I found the front desk to be very attentive to my needs. The room was Very spacious. I prefer more natural light in my room. And so when I checked in and there was no window. I was allowed to switch rooms and get a place with a front window which helped me a lot.
4 out of 5
by Louise from Hong Kong

Decent price

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
A phone charger I had plugged in went missing.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jining, China

Excellent on a budget. Highly recommended.

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: The value for the dollar was best. The staff and cleanliness were also great.
Cons: Reclining patio chairs in the common area near the front office.
Location: Island massage, Swiss Tiger
We were very pleased with The Color. The staff was awesome and the room was great. Housekeeping kept the property and our room clean. High speed Wifi was available in our room. The front desk staff was quick to answer our questions. And a free shuttle was available to take us to and from the beach between 9 AM and 6 PM. We were equally pleased with other businesses across the street. A massage/spa business directly across the street provided wonderful services. The Swiss Tiger was good for a few drinks each night. And two restaurants next to the Swiss Tiger served great breakfasts. The travel service to the left of The Color provided good rates for trips and to rent a motorbike. To experience truly local food don’t miss the breakfast served at the little store two or three store fronts to the right of The Color. We tried many of the restaurants in the area and was not once disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, florida

Nice hotel close to the beach and shopping

Posted Jul 7, 2015
It was great, friendly staff, close to restaurants and shopping. I will definitely go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisset S.

Cute Hotel, Great location

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Orbitz
I read some reviews about this property being far from the beach and that couldn't be further from the truth (unless you're incredibly lazy and can't walk 5-10 minutes). It's near bars and restaurants, but most importantly the staff here was amazing! Always friendly and happy to help. Very cute hotel - both the lobby and the rooms. The only downside were the beds which were the hardest I've ever come across, although with this being said I actually slept really well. Maybe hard beds aren't necessarily bad? Great hotel. Should I return to Phuket I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dom

Nice Micro Hotel!

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: It was well priced and conveniently located. Not to mention it was clean!
Location: We went to a yoga class at Kata Hot Yoga which was a 10 min walk from the hotel.
The room was clean and the staff were very friendly. It was only for one night when we arrived before we moved to another area but the hotel was exactly what were looking for. Clean, slightly modern, conveniently located, and comfortable.