Ratings based on 452 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place to Stay in Kathmandu

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Friendly, sweet, helpful staff. Great food. Nice room. Quiet, safe. Beautiful grounds for photo ops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Good location but still under construction after the earthquake and the room was probably like a three star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P. Vancouver, Canada

Oasis in Kathmandu

Posted Feb 25, 2017
This is my favorite hotel in Kathmandu. Formerly a royal palace, the hotel has unique architecture and a magnificent garden and swimming pool.! The hotel staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. I have stayed at Hotel Shanker a number of times and have great memories. I'm already looking forward to my next visit!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Palace Hotel in Middle of Kathmandu

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Architecture which embodies history
This hotel used be a palace until it was converted to a hotel. Great architecture, truly amazing experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico Coty

Nice, quiet hotel.

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Very friendly staff, willing to help as much as they can. Walking distance to Thamel; excellent Indian food at the restaurant. Poor view and room ventilation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Kathmandu is the dirty place compare to our last visit 28 years ago, may be due to last earthquake or people doesn't care to keep their city clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Comfortable Stay

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Great hotel in terms of comfort and cleanliness. However, porters were a bit rude and rush to take your bags without asking and expect tips. I have no problems carrying my bags and told them....but they wouldn't let go. Otherwise, no issues.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GURGAON (INDIA)

FINE HOTEL BUT UN-HYGENIC BATHROOM

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: BUFFET BREAKFAST, AREA NEAR POOL- GOOD PLACE TO SIT
Cons: BATHROOM SIZE MAY NOT BE FEASIBLE TO BE INCREASED BUT SOME ARRANGEMENT FOR BATHROOM VENTILATION/ EXHAUST FANS MUST BE DONE .
Location: LOCATION IS GOOD.
FIRSTLY AS THE HOTEL IS UNDER RENOVATION FROM FRONT PLS REMOVE THE FRONT VIEW PHOTOGRAPHS FROM THE MGT PHOTOS AS THAT AREA IS AS GOOD AS NOT PRESENTLY AVAILABLE WITH HOTEL. THOUGH ROOM CONDITION IS OK THE BATHROOM IS THE MAJOR DEMERIT WITH THIS HOTEL. SIZE OF BATHROOM IS SMALL AND ALSO THERE IS NO VENTILATION AT ALL FOR THE BATHROOM LEADING TO STINKING FEELING IN RE-USE OF BATHROOM. BUFFET BREAKFAST IS VERY GOOD AND HOTEL STAFF ARE RESPONSIVE TO ONE'S NEED. ON SECOND VISIT AFTER TWO DAYS STAY AND TWO DAYS BREAK I WAS GIVEN A BIGGER ROOM ON REQUEST, THANKS FOR THIS. BUT IN THIS ROOM ALSO BATHROOM WAS HAVING SAME PROBLEM AS WELL AS THE BATHTUB HAD STAIN MARK LOOKING VERY UNPLEASANT. LOCATION IS GOOD. OVERALL AVERAGE STAY. HOTEL SHANKER OVERRATED AS FOUR STAR, BRANDED HOTEL ARE PREFERABLE.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bengaluru

Very Pleasing stay with excellent staff behavior.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Staff behavior / Breakfast spread / pricing / Proximity to places of interest and airport
Cons: Compared to a day where we stayed at Thamel in one of the Hotels frequented by many foreigners, Hotel Shanker is far superior and incomparable.
Location: Most of the places of interest is in the radius of 5-7 Kms or lesser.
Hotel was Spic and Span. Though one can make it out to be a Heritage Hotel with its low ceilings. The more than basic comforts it provided. Value for money. Centrally located and away from the bustling crowd and noise. Good spread of breakfast. Reception staff was very helpful and good communication skills. Though it does not fall under the 5* category, it definitely can be compared to one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Clean, good service and friendly staff. Buffet breakfast made all the difference!