Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

'Character' Hotel central to Thamel tourist area

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: The gardens and the staff.
Cons: More information at check in regarding the need to shut off power, and a rough idea of taxi pricing would be helpful
Location: Thamel district is great for shopping/eating. Central for access to all temple areas.
I was staying on my own for 5 days after my daughters had left for home and a little apprehensive. The great thing about this hotel is the people who come through. There is a garden with tables dotted around - make use of this as I met so many nice people and got to go on more adventures. It can be a little challenging with the power being shut off for most of the day but on the whole it was manageable. The food was mostly nice with only one incident of cold/not very nice food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from currently in bhutan

Apparently staff were present?

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The name, it reminded me of a cocktail.
Cons: Only have 150 characters to enter so will defer this response.
Staff were elusive and their advice, considering we arrived late at night was slim to say the least. Woken at 5 am by the fire hose cleaning of foot path outside. Sheets on the bed were unique, like sleeping at the beach, with sand and just a general feeling of not clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Blue Horizon Review

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Hotel Staff is great and operate a business of tours to take in Nepal. I had a good time. only concern is heat and electricity in hotel goes off at certain times of day to conserve energy. Staying in the room on days you want to take it easy is a little difficult without lights and heat. Showering was a little hard too. It took forever for water to heat up. If you can overlook these inconveniences and appreciate the friendliness of the staff and the good food, then this hotel is not so bad. the tours they provided were excellent too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Parksville

Very knowledgable, helpful staff.

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Staff very open to providing local information. Complementary airport pick-up was appreciated.
Cons: Wireless signal was weak. More reliable wireless in the coffee shop directly across the street.
Location: The hotel location is quiet, yet very central in Thamel. Palace Museum, Thamel shops.
I stayed for 6 days during my Nepali holiday. Hotel restaurant food was nutritious - we spoited ourselvews by having food delivered to the open roof top patio or our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and good value for money.

Posted Dec 4, 2014
The hotel staff can be a bit much when it comes to pressuring you in to going on a tour. Other than that, a great experience. There were some mushrooms growing next to our bathroom, tho...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Wonderful

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Everything, especially the attentive staff and general ambiance..
Cons: Pretty hard to improve on near perfection.
Location: Everything in Kathmandu is near by.
For some forgotten reason, we booked this one for our followup stay in Kathmandu, instead of going back to the other place. But it was well worth the switch. The other place was very nice, but this one was even better, in every important respect. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel close to tpurist spots

Posted Jul 27, 2014
I booked this jotel over Expedia and was pleasently surprised when I arrived. Staff is amazongly friendly, professional and speak English very well. The restaurant makes good food and the tourist services are awesome. The rooms are cozy and the proximity to Thamel market and the Garden if Dreams is a plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Justin from London

Good location

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: location the most
Location: central, close to Thamel
very friendly staff, big room and cheap. They can help organize tours for trekking, Jungle safari, etc if you cannot be bothered to organize yourself.
3 out of 5
by ismanz from KL, Malaysia

OK for a night

Posted May 5, 2014
Cons: The room condition, a better mattress won't hurt.
We stayed for a night. If it was going to be more than that, perhaps better off somewhere else. Location wise, it was good. Near to Thamel area, the tourists spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brenda from HK

nice hotel close to the shopping centre.

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: Garden
Cons: Room needs to be more clean.
Location: shopping and eating
We stayed there for 4 days. It is lovely place to stay. Nice and quiet. I enjoyed eating at garden.