Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff double locked himself inside our room

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
I would have rated this hotel high because of the location and the nice receptionists and waiters at the restaurant. However, a bad incident occured on our third day. We went down for breakfast and I forgot something so I returned to our room after a few minutes. I tried to enter it with my card key but couldn't because apparently it was double locked from the inside! I knocked and tried hard to use my card key several times but couldn't enter, and waited quietly outside. Finally, the housekeeping manager opened the door from the inside. WHY would he lock himself inside? He insisted he was fixing something inside but he did not have any tools, even then he should not have double locked it so nobody could enter. It took him a few minutes to open the room. I complained to the hotel manager and he said it was a "misunderstanding" between me and his staff. WHAT??? I also lost cash in the hotel on my first day of stay, and I leave it up to the readers to judge who could have been involved in it. The hotel manager, who said would do an investigation of the matter, was not helpful at all and tried to cover for his staff's deed. This unauthorized intrusion and the hotel manager's poor dealing with the matter are unacceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings from Hotel Encounter Nepal Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on expedia. We are glad that you enjoyed our services offered & hope you will try it out during your next visit also! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Thank you!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Free airport pick-up; steps away from Thamel

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is just down the road and across a busy road from Thamel. Set back from a smaller road--with a guard at the gate--and has a lovely garden. Desk staff is lovely; helped me sort out a smart phone charging problem I was having. Free airport pick-up definitely a huge plus and saves hassles on arrival. Fee for airport return trip is reasonable. The room i stayed in was quite basic but adequate with a comfy bed. I enjoyed my view to a school courtyard below and peek-a-boo view of the mountains (with Nepalis in their flats going about their daily routines directly opposite. Also interesting). I recommend this place as price is right, too!
5 out of 5
by Susan from Istanbul

Hidden Gem with Lush Garden and Fine Service

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
I am a returning guest of many years. I won't stay anywhere else in Kathmandu. I have been to Nepal 23 times and I choose to stay at the Encounter. The partner hotel Norbu Linka is under restoration which is another fine choice. Best masala tea in Nepal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us and hope to see you again. thanks
5 out of 5
by David from USA

Really really really good breakfast!

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable stay with a wonderful breakfast!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
thanks for staying with us and hope to see you again
5 out of 5
by Susan from Long Beach, California

Hidden Gem in Kathmandu

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Encounter is across the road from the busy Thamel area. It is centrally located and very easy to find. The atmosphere is tranquil and peaceful. The staff go above and beyond to help the guests. I will be back next week!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and beautiful

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly and helpful staff, we were upgraded to a deluxe room, very nice with big windows. The only issue is the Bell right outside that rings from 4 am on. I recommend ear plugs. Also, you have to cross a busy, scary street to get to the center of Thamel. The restaurant area is beautiful and the food is delicious. There is a spa and travel agent on site. the best hotel for the price.
3 out of 5
by Mike from USA

room description is WRONG

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
The listed description for the Standard room on Hotels.com is very WRONG. What is listed is the deluxe room description. The standard room is in the hostel wing, not the hotel. Arrived to find a tiny twin-bed, fan room with combo toilet/shower closet. Fine if I was going for a hostel, but not at all the described room. Kudos to the hotel management who upgraded me to a deluxe room I thought I had based on the description.
4 out of 5
by Asanka from melbourne

Great value for money

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely staff, lovely restaurant and garden. Good quality wifi. Day spa also very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking time to write review of your stay & hope to see you again. Thanks
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

cheap & clean

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: cheap and clean central Thamel location
Location: this was a good central location with alot of things in the area but now with the earthquake I am not sure of what all got damaged
This hotel is easy to find just north of a main street on line rooms are in the front building better rooms are in the back building front building is on the street and the back building is away from the street cheap ,clean everything was working
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Hotel Encounter Nepal, Hotel Management
Tqs for taking time to review our property, after massive earthquake the building is newly renovated with fully air conditioning, AC and well furnished. Hope to see you here at your next trip to nepal. Kind regards, Hotel Encounter Nepal Samakhusi Marg Thamel Kathmandu Nepal (O) (977) 14423947, 14440476
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TORONTO

CHEAP AND CLEAN

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: CENTRAL AND EASY TO FIND
Cons: ON LINE ROOMS ARE IN THE FRONT BUILDING BETTER ROOMS MY BE IN THE BACK BUILDING
Location: YOU ARE IN CENTRAL THAMEL WHICH PUTS YOU CLOSE TO MANY POINT OF INTEREST
THIS HOTEL IS CENTRALLY LOCATED EASY TO FIND JUST OFF A MAIN ROAD
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Hotel Enconter Nepal, Hotel Management
dear sir, thanks for taking time to review our property. your review is very much valued. Hope to see at your next trip to nepal. Kind regards, Hotel Encounter Nepal Samakhusi Marg Thamel Kathmandu Nepal (O) (977) 14423947, 14440476