Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Susan from Istanbul

Hidden Gem with Lush Garden and Fine Service

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
I am a returning guest of many years. I won't stay anywhere else in Kathmandu. I have been to Nepal 23 times and I choose to stay at the Encounter. The partner hotel Norbu Linka is under restoration which is another fine choice. Best masala tea in Nepal.
5 out of 5
by David from USA

Really really really good breakfast!

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable stay with a wonderful breakfast!
5 out of 5
by Susan from Long Beach, California

Hidden Gem in Kathmandu

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Encounter is across the road from the busy Thamel area. It is centrally located and very easy to find. The atmosphere is tranquil and peaceful. The staff go above and beyond to help the guests. I will be back next week!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Greit hotell

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Et fint opphold
4 out of 5
by Ales from Břeclav

good standard, reasonably priced

Posted Nov 27, 2015 on Hotels
for the usual standard in this price range and region was the hotel a shining star. staff friendly and helpfull, hot water in the shower, comfortable bed and restaurant with good food offer. also room servis was available. Though do not expect lift and eye for detail in terms of the room finish. The location is pretty much in Thamel, though just 2 minutes away from it, which i believe assures a bit quieter sleep. I would return if I shall come back to Kathmandu
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and beautiful

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly and helpful staff, we were upgraded to a deluxe room, very nice with big windows. The only issue is the Bell right outside that rings from 4 am on. I recommend ear plugs. Also, you have to cross a busy, scary street to get to the center of Thamel. The restaurant area is beautiful and the food is delicious. There is a spa and travel agent on site. the best hotel for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Griet

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Kan ikke når du er en back pakker og reiser alene.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 佐倉市

リーズナブルでかなり状態のいいホテル

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Location: 若干中心よりは北になるが、タメルチョークから歩いて5分ほど。十分近いと思いますし、夜中は静かで良かったと思います。
エクスペディアの割引が適用されていたのでかなり安くなったのですが、かなり清潔でリーズナブルだと感じました。停電時でも客室とバスルームとに最低限の照明が使用できるようになっていたのも良いと思いました。フロントスタッフも丁寧に対応してくれましたし、問題は全くありませんでした。
3 out of 5
by Mike from USA

room description is WRONG

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
The listed description for the Standard room on Hotels.com is very WRONG. What is listed is the deluxe room description. The standard room is in the hostel wing, not the hotel. Arrived to find a tiny twin-bed, fan room with combo toilet/shower closet. Fine if I was going for a hostel, but not at all the described room. Kudos to the hotel management who upgraded me to a deluxe room I thought I had based on the description.
4 out of 5
by Asanka from melbourne

Great value for money

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely staff, lovely restaurant and garden. Good quality wifi. Day spa also very good.