Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good basic hotel near Thamel action

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
Room was nothing like photos-completely different and not as nice as we thought it would be. Staff was nice. Food at hotel was pretty good-breakfast included. Hotel is located close to all of the action in Thamel area. Just walk across to an alley and you're basically there. Note that this property backs up to an All Girls school and individual homes-be prepared for a lot of barking dog noise fighting cats during the day/night and school noise during the day which we experienced for room 202. If you're wanting peace and quiet, this is not the hotel for you. Also, did not have basic amenities such as a hair dryer in room or even ironing board/iron. Internet very slow.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place! Amazing service!

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel service is awesome. They did everything to make our stay so pleasant. In our first stay, we arrived late and departed early to Lukla. They arranged the airport pickup. When we departed was too early to have the breakfast buffet they arranged a box with our breakfast. It was really nice. When we came back from Lukla we stayed with them again and the room was even better. We had our best lunch in Nepal at their restaurant. They were doing some upgrades at the hotel and the maintenance is very good. It's really nice come to a peaceful place after a day in the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016
The hotel was very central, so getting around was easy and the staff were only more than happy to help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Dev, Hotel Management
Thanks for your lovely review and experience! Wish to see you soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel, Good food and excellent people

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
My first visit to Nepal and read some reviews online and booked the hotel. I was a bit skeptical when I first reached the hotel however things were great. It has some great set of people that manage this hotel right from people at front desk, drivers, chefs and waiters. The food served is lipsmacking and the Nepali food is worth trying. I was a tad disappointed with the spread of breakfast but with 95% of guests Europeans at the hotel it was obvious for them to have more continental dishes in breakfast. What makes this hotel excellent is its people...
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for your lovely comment on our Hotel. We are honored with your experience! Actually our new team took over the Hotel Since 2015, so things are going on: the renovation, adding of amenities! Your love is always needful for our progress! Wish you see you again! With Best Regards' Dev Duwadi
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
It was great! Except of the food smell filling the room each time the kitchen start cooking in the day or night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback on our hotel, your complaint will be sorted out as earliest as possible! Hope fully there wont be any problem on your next visit. With Best Regards' Dev Duwadi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Lovely hotel just outside of Thamel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: I like the quiet of the rooms and garden as well as the great service the staff provides. The breakfast buffet included in the room price is a treat!
Location: All that Thamel has to offer is just steps away. There is a seemingly endless choice of restaurants and shops to choose from.
The new mangement of this small hotel have created a welcoming, safe and comfortable home away from home. Renovations are substantially complete. The garden provides a quiet oasis for visiting with friends, reading, having a snack or meal. I stayed in one of the boutique rooms which overlooks the garden. It was quiet and nicely decorated with a comfortable bed.....and very clean. The staff here provides a very high level of service. They are friendly and skilled and handle large service and expedition groups weel while also making the individual traveller at home. As part of the room tariff, guests are treated to a full breakfast buffet. A short walk from the entrance is the full offering of restaurants and shops in Thamel. The Hotel Moonlight is well on it's way to becoming one of the top hotels in the area. I highly recommend staying here while exploring Kathmandu.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Hotel Moonlight, Hotel Management
Thank you so much, Wicki for your Excellent review and it was indeed a great pleasure having you stay with us. Yes we've taken over the new management from January 2015 and we want to make sure each of our guests has a pleasant stay at our hotel. Thank you once again for making Hotel Moonlight your home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montréal

Au coeur de Katmandu

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Le personnet et l'atrium pour prendre le thé et s'éloigné de la belle folie de Katmandu.
Un oasis de tranquillité au coeur de Katmandou. Personnel acceuillant avec un désir évident de rendre notre séjour des plus plaisant. Situé à vingt minute de marche du square.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for you ratings! We would love to see you again!