Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bangalore

Extremely helpful staff

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff
Location: Great location
Checked in hassle free at midnight and had pleasent experience while checking out in wee hours of morning.
4 out of 5
by Sivalingam from Singapore

Kathamandu

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
Old Hotel, but comfortable, lift was a problem. Otherwise good, in tourist area
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and good for shop

Posted Nov 9, 2014
4 star hotel it's a bad experience , no wi-fi , no work out gym or spa.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Very negative

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Nothing...
Staff were not friendly. The welcome juice wasn't even a fruit juice , it was more or less a water. There wasn't any AC in the room. The staff didn't even dare to show where the room was. They just said "first floor" and that's it.. and we had to find the room ourselves.
3 out of 5
by nannapas from edinburgh, scotland

Massive room as I ever stayed

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Housekeeping staff, waiting staff and the chef ;)
Cons: Service at the reception could be improved.
Location: Very busy area Thamel. Lots of place you can visit, for example Buddhist temple as walking distance. Lots of souvenir shop.
Quite impressed at first arrived, electricity was shut down as normal happening as in this city but staff was very helpful and worked so hard to carry my 2 luggages from lobby to 5th floor and they're smiled. My room is superior double room, massive and comfortable as I had a good sleep for 2 nights. Free wifi could be found at the lobby but not in your room. It was ok to stay here but I would preferred to stay another hotel around the Thamel. Another one thing, this hotel is clean. I saw several housekeepers who were working very hard to made this hotel looks shiny all the time and they're still smiling. Give them a thumb up! I also had a dinner on the first night. Food was ok and not many selection on the menu. Staffs are friendly. Breakfast was nice and I do like the freshly cooked omelette from the chef.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TK from Delhi

one of the best Thamel hotels

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Excellent Staff
Location: Thamel is a great location which is centrally located to all major sightseeing locations and to the airport in KTM. It is a huge shopping haven
I must admit that having started the travel on a wrong note with confusion around the booking of the correct room; the hotel stay was pleasant for most part. The only downside was frequent power cuts for which everytime the hotel took 15-20 mins to address. The staff was very courteous and helpful especially Sanju to whom my son took a great liking to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GOOD

Posted Mar 11, 2013
Pros: FRIENDLY STAFF
Cons: NO BUSINESS CENTRE
Location: GOOD
Generally I was treated well - disappointed they did not have business centre. ths stff were very helful especially Sanju and Thandu.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

unfriendly staff

Posted May 8, 2012 on Hotels
the staff are mostly not friendly (except for the houskeeping lady). the reception desk, who should be pleasant for the first impression of the place, has the most miserable people. we just got in our room, nobody told us that there was a brown out. so i called the front desk to tell them that we don't have a functioning air conditioner. i was told that the generator wld be started soon. fine. later on, on our out way out, i approached the front desk to ask for something. before i could finish my question, this woman was telling me that the generator was already started. i told her, i wasn't asking about the electricity...another time, my husband ordered a room service (2 cups of coffee). we waited for half an hour and nobody came. finally, after almost an hour, the phone rang. a guy was asking me if i wanted the coffe sent now... man....i know we might have a language problem, but if you don't understand the question, why not ask to repeat it or get somebody who will ?...i have to open the window to get some cool air coz the air conditioner wasn't helping at all..the place was decent enough. needs updating but good enough for us. and location is good. it's close to stores and restaurants, 15 min from the airport by taxi (without traffic) .
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Dean from Massachusetts, USA

Good location; room a bit worn; staff excellent; restaurant good

Posted Nov 24, 2011
Location: I did wander into the Kathmandu Guest House which is a more touristy section of town with a large courtyard and terrace restaurant; trekkers doing yoga (?) in the courtyard mid-day. It's about 1/4 mile from Vaishali; the short of it is that I think I'd recommend Kathmandu Guest House for experience and ambiance (lots of international trekkers in transit). It's a difficult city to enjoy due to VERY narrow and dusty roads with no sidewalks; always on guard for cars which do NOT yield for walkers, even in the shopping districts. Very dusty due to poor condition of the roads and gravel; my first purchase was a face mask. Consider Kathmandu a place to visit for a day or two then transit north into the highlands; even if you don't have time to trek (i didn't) getting into the Kathmandu Valley is remarkable and not difficult.
I found this because of the location and the price; my goal is NOT to be in the room, thus my priorities. The lobby staff and restaurant are very good. The room clean and comfortable; with bureau desk and leisure chairs. Bathroom a bit worn (only so much updating caulking can do). Also the water must come from a roof cistern (this seems to be on most of the roofs in town), and I think chlorine added, occasionally in the shower I thought I was in the YMCA pool as a kid with the odor. The section of town is very depressed and somewhat devoid of tourists. I do recommend the Thamel Restaurant around the corner; dining on the ground floor and on-the-floor seating on the second floor; very charming and impressive with 2 excellent multi-course offerings; one vegan one not.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Delhi

Worthy for the price!

Posted Apr 14, 2011 on Hotels
My family savoured a stay in Vaishali . Located in the Thamel market , prompt service, vibrant staff, great food, cool stay - makes it worthwhile . Apart from the airport pickup ( a musem-worthy Omni ) , the scores are high! Will remember the stay as India won the Cricket World Cup 'from within the room'!