Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Amazingly over the top decor! Love it!

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Location: Fantastic location, super close to the harbor, lighthouse beach, old town, and UNESCO World Heritage sites.
Great hotel, with friendly staff. Fantastic location, super close to the harbor, lighthouse beach, old town, and UNESCO World Heritage sites. Decor is amazingly over the top but remains tasteful. Makes for some great photos! Highly recommend it! :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Quirky but well situated for everywhere

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Location and quirkyness
Cons: rooms look as they need a bit of love pool also needs some attention in places
Location: everything is close by and served very well by bus services
Friendly main desk staff very helpful, daily towel change was a blessing. Breakfast was reasonably good with lots of choice
5 out of 5
by Asher

The Garden Pool makes this hotel....

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
My partner and I stayed at the Roman Boutique Hotel during our 4 night visit to Cyprus. The hotel staff are very helpful and professional especially front desk clerk Anna Maria and the restaurant server Ivan. The garden pool is pleasant way to spend your afternoon leisurely. The decor can initially feel a bit kitschy, but there is something charming about the overall experience. The hotel is centrally located in the Kato neighborhood of Pafos. There is a large mall, several restaurants, and a 24/7 convenience store all within a 5 minute walk. Getting to the Pafos harbour by foot is about a 10-15 minute easy walk. We would certainly stay with the Roman Hotel on our next visit to Paphos.
3 out of 5
by David

Good place to stay...BUT...

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
Overall this was an enjoyable place to stay. It's a bit quirky, but that didn't bother me. It is in a great location within walking distance of ancient sites, the harbor, and local attractions. I wanted a place close to these things and close to the SCUBA diving shop. The staff was very kind and helpful. I only have 2 complaints: 1) the A/C functioned very poorly. I was never completely comfortable in the room. 2) On the last day, after they changed the linen, I came back to lay down on the bed for a nap. My shoulder began to itch...I looked down and there were bed bugs on the corner of the bed. ARGHH! GROSS! I notified the staff and took a video to show them. Though I was going to check out later in the day, I checked out immediately. The staff was gracious in the way they handled it but they probably should have paid for a portion of the room. They paid for my very small bar tab, but that didn't seem like enough. I didn't complain since I was checking out anyway, but I probably won't stay there again. If it weren't for the bedbug issue, I would have recommended this place to anyone.
4 out of 5
by Brenda

Not a true 'boutique' hotel - more bijou..

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Once you get over the rather ostentatious decor on every wall, door, ceiling and cupboard, plus get to grips with the mirrors everywhere, your stay is pretty memorable for that. I stayed 6 nights and left my car on the road outside as parking is limited. The welcome was fine, but none of the reception staff were local Cypriot people so I think you lose the family hotel feel. Boutique hotels normally have butlers etc. Not here - even the breakfast staff aer international. The buffet breakfast was very good but the staff had a tendency to whip your dirty cups and glasses away just as you are about to get refills. Some also didn't ask permission which annoyed me. This also had the effect of feeling you were being rushed to finish and leave. Perhaps the staff were paid by the number of pieces of crockery they cleared? On the good side the garden and pool and outside dining area had impressive mature bushes and trees, with many in bloom and perfumed. The rooms were cool and well appointed though I only had the use on one plug, however I found 2 more but inaccessible behind the furniture! Free internet was excellent (code per device for the duration of your stay) and overall my room , which overlooking the garden, was very peaceful and despite really hot temperatures I was able to keep it cool. Bathroom needed updating - old taps and bath/mixer shower fittings, tired fawn suite, but everything worked. Plenty of cupboard space and my room was a good size with a giant bed. Good stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Roman boutique- please no!

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Unhelpful staff from arrival. The smell of the room that greeted us in the corridor still makes my stomach churn. The decor is... different. The breakfast is quite possibly the worst breakfast I've ever seen, and I'm a bad cook. My favourite part of this stay, which lasted 9 hours was definitely the check out. Very quick and easy and the receptionist was surprisingly pleasant
4 out of 5
by Stephen

Well come see for yourself

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
The room was very clean The bed a little too hard but that's personal taste The rooms decoration is again a matter of taste The staff were very very helpful it's close to everything It's a ten min walk to the front and a two min walk to the mall It was easy to find quiet and no too unpleasant a stay The wall to wall muriel was again not to our taste but it was the roman hotel !!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from buckinghamsire

Quirky hotel something a bit different, good value

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Really happy with our choice. Good service, interesting decor but very clean and comfortable. At supper time when there was live music, creating a lovely atmosphere. We only had breakfast option but food smelled very good in the evening too.
3 out of 5
by Elena

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Very very strange design... some renovation is need...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms could do with a refurb
Location: Short walk to harbour, small beach nearby
Good value for money. Room was clean and spacious but could do with a face lift. The breakfast buffet was great with lots of choice. Overall not a bad place to stay