Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grown up family trip

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Staff were excellent better than many 4 star hotels very knowledgeable and helpful, and excellent customer service skills. Very central Place to stay good feel peaceful and good facilities
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2018 by Reception , Hotel Management
Hi Christine, Thanks for the review. We are glad that you and your family had a great time at our hostel. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and visit us again one day in the Blue Mountains. Kind Regards, Taylor and the BMBH team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbs, Vic

Good backpacking experience

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Good location, clean rooms, pleasantly exceeded expectations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Reception , Hotel Management
Hi SJ, Thanks for the lovely review. We're delighted to hear the we exceeded your expectations and you had a great time. Kind Regards Taylor and the BMBH team.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous staff!

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
The superb cleanliness was not the best aspect of Blue Mountain Backpackers. The staff are lovely. I was sick when I was there, and they brought me a blanket and did what they could to make me comfy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great for a nights stay

Posted Jul 30, 2017
We wanted to visit the mountains and lots of reviews said to stay for at least a night. Really glad we did! Can't beat this place for value for money. Very clean too.
5 out of 5
by YU WEI

Best hostel ever

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
best hostel ever ! Have everything you need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

older building but has everything you need

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: convenient and cheap
we were there on a really windy night and the windows were rattling all night long. The beds were comfortable and the room had everything we needed. It was a little strange that the shower in the bathroom didn't have any kind of barrier to keep the water from the rest of the bathroom.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to town

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Wotif
Cons: Hotter showers
Stayed in a family room with 3 kids. Very kid friendly.Great stafff and amenities apart from the luke warm showers in winter.
5 out of 5
by Clare

Blue mountains backpackers

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
This is a nice friendly hostel. It has a nice sitting area and wasn't very busy so we had rooms to ourselves even though they were dorm rooms. My only gripe was a group who were extremely noisy and drunk after the office staff had gone for the night. This was not in any way the staff's fault but just a noisy group.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Hello Clare, Thank you for your review and feedback. We are very happy that you mostly enjoyed your stay with us. There is a night manager on duty after the office staff leave in the evening. The night manager will respond to noise complaints and make sure that guests are quiet after 11pm. We are sorry that this group was very loud and drunk during your stay. Hope to see you here again. Kind regards, Cathy and the team at BMBH
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Great place to stay! Great price, close to the station and to the center of town, and Echo point is just a short walk away. Staff are friendly and super helpful! Rooms and clean and spacious. Highly recommended :)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Cathy and the team at BMBH, Hotel Management
Hello Lee, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us. Come back and stay again soon! Kind regards,
4 out of 5
by Laurie

A bit worn and tattered, but good for a short stay

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
I booked a private room with ensuite at this property. I got room #6, which was as far from the front door as you can get. I recommend this room because the main door slams every time it closes, and you can't hear that in room 6. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a cable TV. There was a fan and a space heater (no AC). The hostel is a quick walk from the train station. There are several good restaurants nearby, but you can also cook your own meals at the large shared kitchen. The common room is grubby and worn, and it can be noisy if your bunk is near the lobby. Great local information is available, so it's easy to figure out things to see & do. This place is within walking distance of many popular sights. There was no option for early check in, though they will store luggage for a fee.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Hello Laurie, Thank you very much for your review and feedback. It's great to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us. The hostel is large and old and we are slowly upgrading the facilities and decor as our time and budget allow. Thank you for alerting us to the issue of the front door, I will bring this up with the head office. We will store luggage for guests before check in for free, and guests who arrive early for check in are also welcome to use our facilities. Kind regards, Cathy and the team at BMBH