Ratings based on 592 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Our second stay here. Excellent location.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms with a balcony. Lovely country setting.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Amsterdam is 20 minutes by bus fo 10 Euros return. Close to wonderful Volendam.
Free parking and excellent bus service to Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Lovely hotel, great staff and just a short bus ride to the city center would definitely stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South, UK

Great room and great food.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Our room was quite a walk from the front desk but once we got there, we were surprised by the quality of the furnishing. The bathroom was much better than expected. We had a very enjoyable meal in the hotel restaurant and took full advantage of the health club. Very helpful staff, especially the night shift! I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice setting.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Hotel is in very nice area.
Cons: The rooms needs decoration.
Location: Lovely area very close to city by bus.
Hotel is on the very nice setting. But the problem is room. First we enter the room and take off our shoes to wear slippers which we cannot find. Disposable slippers must be in rooms. The second problem is, the dust is everywhere. It's seems that room has cleaned but not properly. But the biggest problem is, two single beds put together and make a double bad which clearly makes up wake all night. The hotel knew we are couple and it's obvious couple needs double bed. The single beds are fell apart as you move and your legs or arms goes the inside the gap between the beds. That was ver bad. The breakfast was very basic and we didn't try the dinner because of the prices. Will we go again? I am not sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from JR

Great location for a relaxing break.

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Easy short bus ride to Amsterdam and Volendam. Excellent restaurant and nice swimming pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel!

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: We enjoyed the food, the bar and the great balcony views.
Cons: The evening meal prices were a bit high, also the description of the Catch of the Day was a bit sketchy so that we weren't sure what we were ordering!
Location: The marina at Volendam with its fresh fish stalls,shops & bars was lively. Next to the hotel is a cheese & clogs outlet, & another cheese farm nearby.
The hotel is one of the best I have stayed in. It may be in an isolated position but the buses are so regular and Volendam itself so near that that doesn't matter and in fact it adds to the peaceful feel of the place. The rooms feel like apartments with their balconies and attractive views. The breakfasts are excellent with a variety of foods and drinks. Because breakfast could be taken early up until 10.30/11.00 am it was great that we didn't have to rush down in the morning if we didn't feel like it. The evening meals are great too, if a little pricey. It was great to have use of the pool too. Overall we had a great break here and look forward to going again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fantastic stay !

Posted May 28, 2017
Fantastic hotel spotless food was great and staff were great , oonly thing id say is to separate tbe single beds in twin room
4 out of 5
by Salvador

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel away from the city

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, convenient, lovely breakfast
Location: Walk or bus to Volendaam and Edam
Loved our 3 nights at Hotel Volendaam. View over the lake from our room, able to watch the birds flying over it and see the sunset. Easy walk into Volendaam for a wander around and a meal. Bus stops right outside the hotel and it's a really fast journey into Amsterdam. Enjoyed the buffet breakfast, not cheap but plenty of variety and good quality. Lovely clean bathroom, comfortable beds, I couldn't ask for more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bridgwater, UK

Attractive hotel and grounds, good swimming.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: We liked the location, views, bird life in the grounds, swimming pool, fine dining.
Cons: All made for an excellent stay.
Location: Location on a main bus route very close to Amsterdam and Edam. You can enjoy local cheese tasting and watch how it is made, hire bikes, swim.
Is a lovely hotel in a good location, easily accessed by public transport. It has a lovely swimming pool, fine dining, great family facilities and helpful staff. The rooms are attractively decorate and spacious. Saturday night there is a live cooking event where chefs cook your meal to order.