Ratings based on 606 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Lovely hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Everything was perfect
Cons: Nothing
Very nice hotel with large rooms breakfast was pricey but well worth it. Amsterdam is 20 minutes on the bus which is €10 return bus stop is right outside hotel every 10 minutes
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A relaxing long weekend with the children.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
I booked this hotel for myself and my two teenage children (16 and 13) as a treat for my 16 year old passing GCSE with great grades. She wanted to visit Anne Frank House and Van Gogh Museum and my youngest wanted a hotel with a swimming pool. I wanted to be in a quieter area with good food, lovely scenery, good sized rooms and a bar. This hotel ticked everything! The bus stop outside the hotel takes you directly to Amsterdam Central to do the touristy bits (don't pay for a cab from the airport or central station... if I can do it with two kids and only the English language under my belt, you can too). Reception staff were brilliant, very friendly and very helpful (thank you... especially the man that provided me with an adaptor phone charger and iron). The first two days we spent in Amsterdam and the last two days in Volendam town. Before we left each morning we were treated to a feast of a breaksfast which included champagne & salmon (better than 'nice touch' and yes I indulged), fully cooked breakfast with 3 different types of scrambled eggs, bacon was crispy (yay), sausages were in a sweetish sauce and they are addictive, OJ squeezed freshly, fresh pastries and rolls, well everything was there really. I hired the E-Bike from reception for my son and he had a fantastic day on Sunday riding around Volendam on their bike friendly paths. We loved the pool and I loved the cocktails. Old Holland and close to Amsterdam - the best of both worlds. Thanks! :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Our second stay here. Excellent location.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms with a balcony. Lovely country setting.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Amsterdam is 20 minutes by bus fo 10 Euros return. Close to wonderful Volendam.
Free parking and excellent bus service to Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Lovely hotel, great staff and just a short bus ride to the city center would definitely stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South, UK

Great room and great food.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Our room was quite a walk from the front desk but once we got there, we were surprised by the quality of the furnishing. The bathroom was much better than expected. We had a very enjoyable meal in the hotel restaurant and took full advantage of the health club. Very helpful staff, especially the night shift! I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice setting.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Hotel is in very nice area.
Cons: The rooms needs decoration.
Location: Lovely area very close to city by bus.
Hotel is on the very nice setting. But the problem is room. First we enter the room and take off our shoes to wear slippers which we cannot find. Disposable slippers must be in rooms. The second problem is, the dust is everywhere. It's seems that room has cleaned but not properly. But the biggest problem is, two single beds put together and make a double bad which clearly makes up wake all night. The hotel knew we are couple and it's obvious couple needs double bed. The single beds are fell apart as you move and your legs or arms goes the inside the gap between the beds. That was ver bad. The breakfast was very basic and we didn't try the dinner because of the prices. Will we go again? I am not sure.
5 out of 5
by george

Amazing stay!

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
I took this room for the price and I'm glad I did. The hotel was about 20 min away from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam which made it fine for me situated in a quite small town with farm animals as far as the eye can see not to mention the cleanliness of the hotel and the service was top. The buffet breakfast was amazing (not to mention the bottomless mimosas included in the price) I heard the Netherlands was a very hospitable place and this hotel proved just that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from JR

Great location for a relaxing break.

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Easy short bus ride to Amsterdam and Volendam. Excellent restaurant and nice swimming pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel!

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: We enjoyed the food, the bar and the great balcony views.
Cons: The evening meal prices were a bit high, also the description of the Catch of the Day was a bit sketchy so that we weren't sure what we were ordering!
Location: The marina at Volendam with its fresh fish stalls,shops & bars was lively. Next to the hotel is a cheese & clogs outlet, & another cheese farm nearby.
The hotel is one of the best I have stayed in. It may be in an isolated position but the buses are so regular and Volendam itself so near that that doesn't matter and in fact it adds to the peaceful feel of the place. The rooms feel like apartments with their balconies and attractive views. The breakfasts are excellent with a variety of foods and drinks. Because breakfast could be taken early up until 10.30/11.00 am it was great that we didn't have to rush down in the morning if we didn't feel like it. The evening meals are great too, if a little pricey. It was great to have use of the pool too. Overall we had a great break here and look forward to going again.