Ratings based on 2,295 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz,CA

Love the location

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Location and the friendly staff
Cons: Parking
Location: Great location for shopping even thought the Coconut Shopping center also under construction.
Such friendly staff. Clean rooms but our room ceiling needed to be painted. The paint was flaking off. I love the fact that I was able to see the ocean and hear it everyday. The other bummer was that they really need to do something about the parking. We went on spring break and it was a bear each and everyday of your stay. I guess it was spring break for everyone. Also it did not help that they had a portion of the parking space blocked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Loved this hotel and the staff was very helpful. Towels for the beach and free parking were a bonus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Close to beach

Posted Mar 27, 2017
I love how close to the beach this hotel is. The vibe is a bit busy for my taste. I like Princeville and Poipu, even Hanalei for an even more relaxed feel. Still you will be in Kauai, centrally located and the hotel itself is nice enough, so how bad that can be?; ). I would suggest that the hotel replace the mini fridge with ones with a freezer option so you can make smoothies with frozen fruit with the blender they provide.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017
We love this place. Have stayed twice before. Location is fantastic. Hotel and grounds have a lovely atmosphere and it is quiet. Close to ocean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina, SK Canada

Our Second Stay at the Aston Islander on the Beach

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Cons: Everything was in order
Location: IOB is close to Kapaa. About a 10 minute walk to Safeway,Foodland,McDonald's, Long's Drugs. We rented bikes for the approx 10 KM/6mi bike path nearby
This March 2017 stay was our second at the Aston Islander on the Beach and second time to this island of Kauai (we were here in 2016 too). We chose the Garden View room and it was fine. You could see the ocean from the lanai. IOB consists of 8 separate, 30-room buildings. We were in Maui building. Our room had a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. We were provided with 2-vouchers per day of our stay for 12 oz coffee from Imua Coffee Roasters (adjacent to IOB), or the voucher could also be used for a cold mango lemonade from the poolside bar. Imua Coffee Roasters was a busy place in the morning and we liked their coffee! IOB has a very nice pool and hot tub area. There were BBQ's there too but we did not use them on our stay. I liked the hot tub and found the pool too cool (I don't think pools in Hawaii are heated!). We liked walking along the beach, but did not swim there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
It was a great experience. I would have like that the receptionist was better inform and kind. She said that she had a headache
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach view

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Lovely grounds nice pool area and good security. Reception staff was rude and room was not clean. Dried old contact lenses on bathroom counter & an actual twig in the bed between the sheets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

quiet Hotel; coffee maker fridge freezer Microwave

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: location and all the things available free shuttle to and from airport
Cons: cant think of anything
Location: beautiful walk and bike ride right by the Hotel One still needs a car but nothing is far
Loved to be able to sleep with the Patio door open hearing the waves and seeing the beautiful sunrise in the mornings. Nice grounds and close to all parts of the island
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Nice Hotel, good location

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: A variety of amenities close either by foot or car. Enjoyed the balcony and comfortable beds.
Cons: The only complaint is that the people above us were very noisy early in the morning. Kids running around, pulling chairs across floor.
Location: Lots of amenities close by, lots of shops and restaurants.
My husband, 18 year daughter and I enjoyed our stay and if we were to come back to this part of the Island would not hesitate to stay. Lots of conveniences in walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Small but adequate studio with surprisingly large bathroom. Friendly staff.