Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

A good inexpensive choice, but could be improved

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: We liked it's good proximity to the airport, reliable wifi, large lanai, new washer and dryer in the unit, and how comfortable the bed was.
Cons: The grounds weren't very nice. Also, the beach was in terrible repair/washed out and had lots of ugly plastic fencing and hazard tape up all over.
Location: Great location near Kapaa town and airport. Great path just down the way which stretched for miles on the oceanfront. We walked this every day.
To begin, the condo we rented was pretty comfortable and newly renovated with most of what we required to make meals in. The check-in experience is less than ideal for those arriving late at night; a first for us having to go to a different hotel down the road, look for a security guard to get us our access info, and then having to return to that same hotel down the road the next morning to go through the check-in process when proper staff are there. The beach was really pretty terrible at our resort with "plastic fencing" and "hazard" tape up around the sitting area overlooking the ocean. It was a real eye-sore with no evidence anyone was trying to build up the area/washed-out shoreline. We saw other resorts working on beautifying their beach areas, but not this one. We used the beach at the resort next door and it was great though, so all in all, it didn't affect the quality of our stay. The pools were nice and warm, and the small one by our condo was very quiet when we used it. We only saw four people use the it the entire time we were there actually, so that was a nice treat. The plants around the resort are suffering some. When you go to other neighbouring resorts the landscaping is noticeably nicer. The groundsman worked hard every day but I think the resort's budget is low for this and it can only look so nice if he hasn't got the plants to make it lusher. Overall, it was a really cheap option for us; about 1/3 the price we've paid in the past, so that's pretty decent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Great Value for Condo Style Hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Spacious Kitchen No room service
Cons: Extremely difficult to find reception to check-in No Air Conditioner
Location: Right on beach, but also close to stores and food
Beautiful hotel on beaach with lots of space and privacy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston,ma

Great hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Place is right on the shore, has self parking, full kitchen with pots, pans, dishes etc. it also has a supermarket right across the street which is definitely cool if you want to save some cash by just cooking at the hotel room. Got upgraded to an ocean view and was able to see a whale breach! No ac in the unit we had but it maintained cool at all points of the day with windows open. Nice balcony and staff stored our luggage for us on our last day because we had a late flight out and we wanted to enjoy the day without worrying about our luggage getting stolen. Great experience overall, thanks! Do yourself a favor get the ocean view, you won't regret it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice hotel. Highly recommend!

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Excellent value. Clean and spacious. Well equipped kitchen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review! We appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasantly surprised. Not much to look at from the outside. Inside was a different story. Newly renovated, modern looking. Centrally located. Close to shops and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review! We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again on your next visit. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Mahalo for your review!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Not good for swimming.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Cons: I sign telling where the front desk or registration is would help.
It was hard to find the front desk which is down the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience that you encountered. Normally, it states on the Expedia confirmation that the front desk and registration is down the street. We will follow up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Very Central Hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Wotif
On check had problems as they don't have a check in at the site you need to go down to hotels to actually check in, lucky a guy directed us there otherwise would of been in trouble! Otherwise very central to the north and west part of the island and good facilities nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. We appreciate your comments and apologize for the check in inconvenience that you encountered.
4 out of 5
by Xing from San Diego

Roomy condominium, inconvenient management.

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
The sign of the hotel is not obvious, while the front office located in another building two blocks away. It took us 30min to finally figure out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by Mokihana GM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences that you encountered. I will be following up on your issues based on the limited information that I have. We hope that you were otherwise able to enjoy your time on Kauai. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss General Manager
3 out of 5
by michael from Murrieta

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Was ok... not the best. Had to much rocks at the beach and u can't go swimming without rocks every were. Also room needed to lie to paper and not stocked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by Mokihana GM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. Without additional information it's difficult for me to follow up as it pertains to your unit not being stocked with toilet paper. Also, each unit is individually owned and several management companies manage units at Kauai Kailani. Although, swimming on the beach may not be ideal, a few expansive beaches are nearby. Unfortunately, several properties along the Coconut Coast have limited shorelines for swimming. We hope that these guests were otherwise able to enjoy their time on Kauai. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss General Manager