Ratings based on 540 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
I really enjoyed being right on the beach. It was so relaxing listening to the sound of the surf at night. Plus my room was on the ground floor, so I just walked out of my room and I was looking right at the water. They even had lounge chaises to be able to pull up close to the beach wall too. Very relaxing spot for morning coffee!! :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach just a couple feet away from the hotel.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
There's no hotel signage from the main road. If you are not familiar in the area, you might miss it. My advice is to call their local phone number and ask how to get there. Walking distance from the food chain, etc. it's so relaxing to hear the ocean wave and smell of the ocean. If you love to BBQ, there's a grill by the pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good view but worn out room

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: view/price
Cons: room needs a makeover
Location: golf, restaurants
good view but room needed an overhaul. very worn out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa barbara

It was a great location, very clean, but old

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Nice people but old facilities. No TV in the rooms. Enjoyed the location. Good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from near Boston

If you want an OK place at a good price t

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pretty quiet, sound of the waves was soothing. A bit run down but clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't Stay Here

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Wow was this place horrible to stay at. The hotel is difficult to find. It was late at night and raining but there was no signage I could see. I had to go to another hotel to ask for directions. They told me to GPS something called the Bull room (or something like that). No one at the hotel was answering the phone. I finally found the place and sat there waiting for Expedia to try to contact the hotel as no one was there to check me in. Finally someone from security let me in but the check in process was very sketchy. the security person did not have access to the computers so she took pictures of my credit card and ID. The hallways were flooded and the room smelly (like mold). The room was cold and there was no way to turn up the heat. In order to turn off the fan I had to pull on the fan chain as there was not a switch to turn it off. to top that off, someone had shortened the fan chain so it was a bit dangerous to turn it off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ocean view, great place to stay!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Location: Booby V's!
All rooms are ocean view. Great BBQ near the pool. Staff was exceptional and able to offer an early check-in. Rooms come with two twin beds, no AC, no TV. But the Bull Shed is next door and they have a great happy hour. Totally comfortable, great place to stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Milw. WI

Close to the beach, beautiful view

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: beautiful views and close to shopping. you get what you pay for
Cons: has a TV option
Location: location was in the lower end of Kapaa'. Excellent to shopping in a mall just up the street. A shrimp restaurant that recent open and was excellent.
Had an oceanview and it was beautiful. The amenities were minimal. NO T.V.,, I really didn't notice when I reserved. After discussing with the wife, we decided it wouldn't be such a great loss. More time to chit-chat. The hotel is close to shopping and restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pemberton NJ

Would recommend, with provisos

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Oceanfront but near shopping & dining, on the busy road, but sited so you hear & see only the ocean & the grounds. Sweet staff. Discount grocery card!
Cons: Install TV service. Replace 50's vintage ceiling light & add another table lamp. Replace porch chairs with real chairs. SCRUB the tile floor.
Location: Good location if you don't rent a car. Near Beach parks & Lemongrass & Wahoo Restaurants (happy hours, dinners, music. Two supermarkets, other shops.
We wanted an inexpensive short stay while waiting to check-in to a timeshare. The staff is very sweet. This is an old property in one of the best ocean front locations on the east side. You approach the hotel from the back, which is quite drab, while the Plantation style "front" is on the Makai side and is surprisingly pretty, Every unit has a porch with a view of the sea, the pool and the grounds, but the porch furniture is 2 plastic chairs and a tiny table. Property has a split personality. Spacious rooms but an odd mix of new and worn out. New cabinets above a stove that seems to be a victim of humidity and hard use. Likewise, a new wood medicine cabinet and backlit overhead light above an old vanity. Draperies and linens were in good condition. Fluffy pillows were better than many higher tier properties. Unusual amount of closet space--two full size closets, but dim lighting in the bedroom. The rooms looked clean, but we asked for a broom to sweep up a sand residue. A short walk to shopping centers and 2 supermarkets Two nice full service restaurants nearby. No a/c, but we didn't need it in February, particularly with the night time breezes. Internet was good, but no TV. Didn't matter for a short stay, but would be a problem if bad weather keeps you in or you want news. A popular steakhouse is attached to the hotel. On Saturday night parking is a challenge. If you want an inexpensive oceanfront hotel close to shopping, dining, and activities, this should do.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Old and in desperate need of updating.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pictures very misleading. Though setting is pretty, the hotel is rundown and out of the way. Staff only mildly competent. Even if one's goal is to reduce their cost of stay, there is no value here