Ratings based on 2,157 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Laid back hotel on the beach

Posted Apr 21, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the Courtyard Marriott Kauai. It has a very relaxed atmosphere. There is space to sit on the beach and have conversations without feeling crowded. It was a good location for us to access the island for day excursions and Kaapa is only a 30 minute walk. It is also conveniently located close to a Long drug store for snacks and toiletries.We enjoyed the food, and the staff was always friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great Location on the East Side

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: lay out of the property closeness to the beach spacious lobby
Cons: Door handles Bathroom remodel
Location: McDonalds/Starbucks nearby when on the go. Tiki Taco's a tasty and affordable option for lunch/dinner. Coconut Market Place for shopping and convenien
Stayed for 7 nights. Loved the location. (only 6 miles from Lihue Airport) and Convenient to drive to both North and South sides. Property is also very close to Market Place for shopping and other eating options and our favorite (Shaved Ice trucks). Our room was decent size with comfortable bed and pillows. Bathroom was a little bit tighter than I prefer but functional. Room WiFi allowed 3 devices free connection at a time. (we rotated b/w our phones and iPads). The entrance door handles would go loose and drop down and would need a trick to open the door (even after the staff looked at it) Hotel premises reminds me of my experience from staying at the 4 star hotels in the 80's and early 90's. I liked the layout of the property, the hammocks by the pool, chairs by the beach to stare at waves (morning or evening) and the fire pit for hanging out late night warming feet while chatting with others. The out door pool could have been a little bit warmer (especially for late night swim or windy days) but liked the size. The two restaurants (Voyager and Makai Lounge) did serve their purpose for us on nights when we were too tired from day activities and wanted to relax and eat in. Live Music in the evening at the Makai Lounge was relaxing. Parking on the premises was adequate. Over all a good stay and experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hawaii

Midgrade

Posted Apr 17, 2017
It was a cool place. I would call it mid grade .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Lee Ann B, Hotel Management
Aloha Hi life, Thank you for taking the time and sharing your review with us. We are looking forward to an upcoming removation and we would love to have you back again and show how amazing our property truly is. Mahalo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Fantastic yoga!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
The yoga class was so wonderful. This was the reason that I chose this hotel and it did not disappoint. The teacher was fantastic! However it was too bad that there was just yoga for two sessions even thought there were four of us staying at the hotel for multiple days. It didn't matter how many nights you stayed it was just 2 classes max for the group of us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good location, comfortable quiet place

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Mostly, quiet place to chill, walk along the beach, sit by the bar, etc. But this Island may not be for you if you're looking for a more lively place.
Cons: Their Gym was tiny also check photos of their pool before booking to make sure you're okay with its size. Could be a problem if you're looking to swim
Location: Great location.....there are better looking hotels around but they are quite remote unless you hire a car. We used the bus (2 bucks ea) to get around
Good location for nearby shops and restaurants in walking distance. Great to wake up and grab a free coffee by the pool bar and walk along the breach. Hotel has two places to eat, pool bar and main restaurant, both reasonably priced compared with elsewhere (but still expensive for Canadians). Most rooms have ocean views but balcony is tiny. Rooms well cleaned but a little out of date (I fixed their TV first night, power cord pulled half way out at back). Friendly staff, gave us 2 hours extra in room at check out time which was helpful since our pick up to airport was 7.30 pm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Lee Ann B, Hotel Management
Aloha Terry, Thank you for sharing your great review with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and how to have you back again soon in the near future. We are looking forward to upcoming renovations and thank you for your feedback as this helps us know where improvements need to be made. Mahalo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from utah

Beautiful view from our room and very quiet.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Very nice and friendly staff and beautiful weather the whole time we were there. Great view of the ocean from balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Friendly staff especially poolside servers.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Friendly Staff
Cons: Food was pretty pricey but to be expected.
Location: We drove to Kapaa and had shave ice at Hee Fat general store. Soooo good.
Nice one night stay. Quiet comfortable room. The lanai was teeny - room for two chairs only but it worked for us to have a nice view of the sunrise. The beach is interesting to walk on and check out but not good for swimming - a little rough. Pool was great for families. Not fancy but it had a large shallow area and enough shade poolside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Very nice hotel, very comfortable. However, the front desk person and another staff were talking when we showed up and seemed like we we were interrupting and wasn't that friendly. Wont hinder me from coming back but not a good impression when you first walk in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Very comfortable property friendly for families but also perfect for couples. Somehow maintains a perfect atmosphere for both. Very well located with easy access to all major points of interest. Great local entertainment in an intimate setting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern CA

Very disappointing

Posted Mar 26, 2017
My expectations were not high, but it failed to meet even those : (