Ratings based on 1,313 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Family and Kid Friendly

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Self Service Laundry facilities w/ complimentary detergent and fabric softener MULTIPLE pools water slide Wal-Mart and Costco < 30min away
Location: Located on the South side of Kauai at Poipu beach. Closer to Wal-Mart and town.
Stayed 4/19-4/22/17 during our 2nd part of our Kauai trip. We stayed at St Regis in Princeville for the 1st leg. Two very different properties with different amenities. If you're looking for a fun place for the whole family, especially kids, I highly recommend Grand Hyatt. The Grand Hyatt is HUGE. If you'd like a smaller, less crowded hotel, I recommend the St Regis. Some great perks include the following: -Free self service laundry services w/ complimentary detergent and fabric softener sheets -water slide for kids -MULTIPLE pools (including 1 adults only pool) -microwave/refrigerator on request -large rooms (our family of 6 had 2 adjoining rooms: 1st - 1 King+ 1 Queen; 2nd - 2 Queens) w/ sofa living area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: It's gorgeous. The staff are super friendly and caring.
Location: Snorkeling and a helicopter flight to the Jurassic Falls were real highlights.
Loved the hotel. Absolutely stunning views from all angles. Staff are kind and caring. Pool area was great, although we weren't in love with the coarse sand around the pool, it's understandable since the wind can get pretty gusty at times and I guess you wouldn't want to create a sandstorm every time the wind blows. Food was delicious and worth the price. Location is great and very convenient to activities we booked through the concierge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Beautiful hotel, great location, friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: fantastic landscaping, grounds, facilities. Food was good, not excellent
Cons: inforce adult only pool rules, more lounge chairs around pool,
Location: Island is small enough that all activities are convenient enough, half hour to airport
our room had a foul, chemical smell upon our arrival. The resort immediately moved us to another room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

50 acres on the Beach

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: The grounds are beautiful.
Cons: Nothing.
The 50 acre resort on the beach will leave you would with a wonderful memorable experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Nice hotel with great views. great pool!

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Everyone was extremely friendly. Room was spotless. Great place to stay for the whole family. Food was really good just expensive. I loved the pool area for whole family especially the kids. Very well kept and up to date.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

The best on the island!

Posted Mar 13, 2017
BEAUTIFUL grounds! Beautiful views, shipwreck beach is a must. Very comfortable acommodations and very nice hospitality. Will definitely be back! We checked out of our room at 11 and we're given a hospitality room to shower in after spending the remainder of our day, until flight departure, at the resort relaxing, swimming and eating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel - Amazing Pools

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Loved the pools and the variety of dinner / drink options. Luau on site was also amazing.
Cons: Cleanliness of the rooms could be improved.
Location: We didn't look nearby as everything you need is on site. Such as Restaurants, Luau, Golf, shopping and swimming.
Stayed for two nights. We first arrived we were awe struck with the size and beauty of the resort. Check in went smoothly and we were able to sign up for a luau at the concierge. The room we were first assigned had a musty old smell when we arrived. And after calling the front desk they were able to move us to a similar room within 20 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This is a great place to stay on Kauai

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff was always helpful and friendly. All the rooms were close to recreation facilities.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Loved the scenic drives, and interesting towns. Very good restaurants both on and off the resort.
The pool layout is excellent the way it offers a great deal of privacy while swimming
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Gorgeous Gardens, Lovely Pools

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Gardens, pools, views, friendly staff, great food, live daily music.
Cons: Coffee, powdered creamers, cracked plaster.
Location: Great location - snorkeling at Koloa Landing, Hanapepe Art Walk, Poipu Beach, nice 2 mile hike on the bluffs past Shipwreck Beach.
The grounds at the Grand Hyatt are spectacular. The perfect gardens hold an abundance of connected pools with relatively private spots to take in the sun and enjoy a poolside Mai-Tai. The three Jacuzzi's ensured that we were usually able to have one to ourselves. Many hidden gems are scattered throughout the grounds including waterfall grottos, cozy firepits, ocean view swings and meandering garden paths. The stunning Seaview Terrace provides a pleasant start or finish to the day complete with views of spouting wales morning and evening. Our room was clean and comfortable, but starting to show a little wear. The plaster around the top of our patio was significantly cracked and detracted just a bit from the lovely pool view. The one major disappointment we had with our stay was the coffee situation. The in-room coffee is dreadful and the Grand Hyatt provides only powdered non-dairy creamers. There's a nice espresso bar in the lobby, but the lines can get rather long and slow during peak morning hours. If your idea of a lovely vacation is to wake up to a nice cup of coffee before heading out into the sun, you've been warned.