Ratings based on 1,336 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dan

Beautiful beach and outdoor scenarios

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The hotel has excellent outdoor scenarios, though the rooms are outdated and beds are not as comfortable as they should be considering the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Super accommodating!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I stayed here with my family this summer and was blown away! This was the last island of our vacation and didn't compare to any other. By far the best food and atmosphere I could have dreamt of!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel with amazing pools

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: pools, landscape.
Location: You can do a visit in helicopter of the whole island. There is poipu beach close to the hotel, and a hike that starts from the hotel.
The grand hyatt is a magnificent hotel. The landscaping is amazing. On the photos it may look a bit fake, but once you're there it is definitely real. The pools are amazing, the artificial lagoon is beautiful, the food is fantastic. When you enter the hotel, there is a giant door going through an atrium leading to a beautiful garden that leads to another giant opening where you can see the beach and the palm trees. It is impressive. All the restaurants are delicious and the staff very professional. There is not a single negative thing I can say about this hotel (ok, maybe the pizza a the terrace view bar/restaurant is not great).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the beach, family friendly

Posted Jul 4, 2017
I stayed at the Grand Hyatt and the St. Regis- both beautiful hotels, different vibes. Grand Hyatt is very family friendly, with lots of pools, slides, beach access, hiking access, friendly and helpful concierge, nice breakfast buffet. Sometimes we had to wait for a table at breakfast because the hotel was 100% full, but we never waited more than 10 minutes. The grounds are beautiful. There is access to nearby shopping. Great hotel for the south shore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds, well serviced inside and out.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Recommend to anyone, the ultimate experience. Everything you need if you don't feel like leaving the grounds, and close to whatever the south shore offers if you get in the car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Best resort on Kauai

Posted Jul 3, 2017
First time visitor. Exceeded expectations! Kid friendly but plenty of adult privacy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Benicia, CA

Beautiful resort in spectacular setting.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Absolutely beautiful hotel in amazing setting with exquisite grounds and the best pool ever. It's expensive, of course, but if you can afford it (and we got a good deal on a standard room, which was perfectly fine, on Expedia), it's a wonderful experience. Definitely hope to go back someday!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Best hotel for tourists.

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: In addition, all the staff made you feel welcome.
Cons: Already perfect.
Location: Easy access to everything we wanted to do plus great pools and near to the Honu.
Easy access to West side especially Waimea Valley, Roy's restaurant, and Merriman's fish restaurant. Good access to East side: Lihue, Kilohana Plantation sugar train tour, and the best Korean restaurant. Good access to North side: Kilauea point light house, Hanalei bay, and drinks at the St. Regis bar. Grand Hyatt is on the South Side and has wonderful restaurants and bars on the premises.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Beautiful place, friendly staff

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: Drinks could be stronger, especially for the price.
Location: Spa, 2x weekly Luau, nearby nature / historical hike, scuba intro, pools, car rentals, concierge. What you would expect from a 5 star resort.
We went for our honeymoon. The staff was incredibly helpful. Resort services such as meals, spa and events were fantastic. The stores were quite nice, and so were the local crafters. Trees, plants, birds were everywhere. It is pricey however, but worth at least one good stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yosemite CA

A true luxury resort - worth the price

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: The location (quiet), outstanding amenities and grounds, the staff and true resort atmosphere.
Cons: Nothing substantial. Possibly offering an escort to your room on this immense property the first time you embark on finding your room???
Location: Great local, close options for more casual (less expensive) dining in Poipu. Definitely check out the Alerton Gardens sunset dinner/tour. Lots to do
Our vacation was for the purpose of rest and renewal - and the Grand Hyatt delivers. There were several days that we never left the property because everything we wanted was right there: beach, salt and fresh water lagoons/pools, hiking trails, spa and restaurants. The staff was above and beyond - the right note of attentiveness, warmth and professionalism. They sincerely went above and beyond even a 5 star level of service. Our "partial-ocean view" room seemed full view to us. Outstanding.