Ratings based on 387 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Construction and more construction

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Came here expecting paradise. Got an amazong view but also countless construction workers roofing and randomly crossing over my "private" balcony. We received a warning of the construction...one day prior
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would stay here every time!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Loved this place. It was quaint, clean, perfectly situated and everyone was very friendly. I really felt like an islander staying here and less of a tourist.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely disappointed, over-priced and very noisy

Posted Apr 16, 2017
We just returned from 9 days at the Hanalei Colony Resort; the photos of the rooms were misleading, the rooms were dirty, and the complex was very noisy. Approximately $380/night provided rooms with a partial ocean view and the septic field in the centre grounds, which to say the least was extremely disappointing. This is a summary of what we noted during our stay: *The room had clearly been used before our arrival, i.e. toilet not flushed; used shampoo/conditioner in the shower. *The room had not been properly cleaned, i.e. utensils, dishes, cups, glasses, etc…were improperly washed – we washed these before using. *Dirty ceiling vent in shower; *Unflushed toilet/used shampoo/conditioner as noted above; *The spaces between the stove and the refrigerator and the refrigerator and the wall were filthy – black grime, dust-bunnies and other assorted accumulated dirt; *Tile floor had not been cleaned; *Carpets were dirty, smelly and had spot-stains on them. *Metal fittings, i.e. bath-room light fixtures, door knobs/lock/chain were extremely corroded; *Due to defective flaps, both toilets leaked incessantly; *Toilets (bowls) were dirty. *Unclear cleaning policy – every 3 days was our understanding, but over a nine-day period, the towels were changed twice, the garbage removed once, and the bed linen change once; we were not asked if anything else was required or needed, nor did the house-keeping staff clean anything else in our rooms; *One blind did not close properly – the cord ha
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Texas

Wonderful views. Great staff. Immaculate grounds

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Very relaxing and exceeded our expectations in every way
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and basic

Posted Mar 16, 2017
It a good place to stay at Hanalei but it looks overpriced. I paid for ocean view room about 800$ for two nights, but I should say that it had very limited partial ocean view, I was extremely disappointed(( I was dreaming of a romantic room with a seaview for my honeymoon and got one with the garden view on the ground floor(( It sounded like a joke... Of course, they also offered to upgrade my room to front-sea-view for 179$+tax per night... but I'm sure it was too much.. So when booking an ocean view room, be ready to get very limited view and just enjoy staying not far from the ocean. And remember that they regularly clean rooms and change towels only once in three days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Serene place to get away

Posted Mar 6, 2017
I usually do not place reviews yet I was so pleased with my stay here that I felt compelled to share. I have been to several of the other islands before and am well versed with the touristy Hawaiian experience. For this brief 4 day staff my desire was for peace, and a serene comfortable atmosphere. Hanalei Colony resort exceeded my expectations. Despite the fact that the colony condo units were built approx 50 yrs ago, I was impressed with how well they have been maintained. The unit was spotless and the furniture had been recently updated. My King size bed was so comfortable. The unit was equipped with more than I expected. There was a full complement of well maintained dishware and cookware in the full kitchenette. The microwave was spotless and functional. The disposal, stovetop, oven, full fuzzed fridge/freezer was fully functional. You can save a ton of money by shopping at the local grocery store about 10-15 minutes into town and cooking your own meals - I treasured my homecooked meals eaten on my lanai with beautiful breeze, sounds and sights from the ocean. There are barbecue pits that many residents used. I had an ocean view unit and I thoroughly enjoyed the sunrise and sunset direct view of the ocean. The units are SO serene. There are no TVs which suited me just fine - exactly what I wanted. The free wifi provided was reliable and appreciated. All the staff were friendly and helpful! Rent a car-1 way taxi ride to airport is $100 I look forward to returning!�
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Roomy condo, close to the ocean

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Nicely furnished, nice kitchen, actual seating for about 12-15 people inside (we were there for my daughters wedding and had that many people in the room) staff was excellent, facilities very nice, great place to stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect place to inplug and unwind

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Facility was nice not fancy, but very comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

It's all about location

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Beach right in front of resort is better than many much more expensive resorts. Relaxed pleasant atmosphere, location is a little off the beaten track. We were very happy with our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NW Wisconsin

Unique Place

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Never thought I would rate a place with no air and no tv so high. But wow--what a place--and its just like real estate: location, location, location. Get the Ocean view or Ocean Front room. Room is a misnomer because it is more like a large apartment with 2 br; sleeping areas for multiple people, a kitchen and living room and wait for it, great porch to watch the waves pounding in. The waves will put you to sleep and wake you in the morning--spectacular sunrises. My location was 50 ft from ocean--absolutely amazing. Also--your location puts you 5 miles from Ke'e Beach and the magnificent Na'Poli coast trails--go there nightly with wine and a camera for the spectacular sunsets. Its literally the end of the road in Kauai--NO YOU CAN'T DRIVE ALL AROUND THE ISLAND. This is a great location, great place, really nice pool with great patio area w/grills you can and should use for your nightly dinners. If you want a tourist experience with gated hotels with all the amenities go to south end of island. The differences between south and north Kauai are striking. HCR is a great place but know what you are getting--no tv. Good to excellent wireless though.