Ratings based on 397 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Lovely condo right ON the beach.

Posted May 20, 2017
Nice roomy condo! Nice furniture; plenty of kitchen stuff; nice lanai!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable place to relax

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Beautiful décor, comfortable bed, view of the ocean, cool breezes, nice pool and hot tub.
Cons: Nothing about the resort itself, but the bar and restaurant were dark and stuffy. A shame for such a wonderful location.
Location: Close to Kalalau trail head, with shuttle to Ke'e and other nearby beaches, as well as shopping.
My husband and I spend the first part of our trip hiking the Kalalau trail and camping at Kalalau beach. When we were done, we wanted a comfortable place to relax and rejuvenate. This was it! Beautiful, comfortable place with a great bed. We loved sitting on the lanai, enjoying the breeze and view of the oceans. We only spent two nights before moving to the south of Kauai. We wished we had spent more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thousand Oaks

Beautiful remote location near beach.

Posted May 16, 2017
Excellent quietc location although lacking in amenities of many hotels such as only once every third day maid service and no 24h desk or concierge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

Lots of room and very comfortable

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Watching the sunrise on the lanai.
Cons: need beach chairs and umbrella. Also, a real breakfast shop.
Location: as long as you have a car you can drive the entire island and see it all. Not necessary to stay on North Shore. its somewhat secluded.
We enjoyed our stay at this property mostly because of the lanai and grounds. Its not quite a resort, not too many amenities to speak of, but the sites are beautiful, the property is very clean and the office staff is extremely friendly. Keep in mind that sound in between the suites carry so having a crying baby on the second floor above us was annoying. Also, there is no place to have breakfast on the property unless you count the cold muffins in fridge at the coffee shop. Of course you can drive 5-6 miles and eat in Hanalei every day but that can be very pricey! Best to get groceries from the village and stock the fridge. And dont forget to buy coffee. Also, if you don't buy your own beach chairs, you'll only have the towels to use at the beaches. the property beaches are beautiful to look at but don't go into the water, strong current and large waves. Best to drive to Hanalei or other beaches nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Construction and more construction

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Came here expecting paradise. Got an amazong view but also countless construction workers roofing and randomly crossing over my "private" balcony. We received a warning of the construction...one day prior
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would stay here every time!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Loved this place. It was quaint, clean, perfectly situated and everyone was very friendly. I really felt like an islander staying here and less of a tourist.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely disappointed, over-priced and very noisy

Posted Apr 16, 2017
We just returned from 9 days at the Hanalei Colony Resort; the photos of the rooms were misleading, the rooms were dirty, and the complex was very noisy. Approximately $380/night provided rooms with a partial ocean view and the septic field in the centre grounds, which to say the least was extremely disappointing. This is a summary of what we noted during our stay: *The room had clearly been used before our arrival, i.e. toilet not flushed; used shampoo/conditioner in the shower. *The room had not been properly cleaned, i.e. utensils, dishes, cups, glasses, etc…were improperly washed – we washed these before using. *Dirty ceiling vent in shower; *Unflushed toilet/used shampoo/conditioner as noted above; *The spaces between the stove and the refrigerator and the refrigerator and the wall were filthy – black grime, dust-bunnies and other assorted accumulated dirt; *Tile floor had not been cleaned; *Carpets were dirty, smelly and had spot-stains on them. *Metal fittings, i.e. bath-room light fixtures, door knobs/lock/chain were extremely corroded; *Due to defective flaps, both toilets leaked incessantly; *Toilets (bowls) were dirty. *Unclear cleaning policy – every 3 days was our understanding, but over a nine-day period, the towels were changed twice, the garbage removed once, and the bed linen change once; we were not asked if anything else was required or needed, nor did the house-keeping staff clean anything else in our rooms; *One blind did not close properly – the cord ha
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Get Away From It All

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Cons: We ate at the restaurant on-site one night, and found the food to be rather mediocre.
I was here on my honeymoon having never been to Kauai, and done very little research. HCR was the perfect place for us to relax and rejuvenate. There are no TVs, and no ACs (but the units are designed to take advantage of the sea breeze, and we were never too hot), making it an idyllic and blissfully quiet respite (you can always hear the ocean crashing in). It was the perfect balance of the luxuries we wanted, while still letting us connect to the natural beauty around. You should be aware that it is almost the end of the road, so if you want to do anything on the south shore or even the east shore, you will have 45 minutes - 90 minutes of driving to do each way. But the north shore was our favorite anyways.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Texas

Wonderful views. Great staff. Immaculate grounds

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Very relaxing and exceeded our expectations in every way
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Nice Flat Close to the Beach /Views

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Orbitz
We really enjoyed the feel of the resort. The only drawback was that we were expecting direct ocean views from bed and living room (and instead got a building view from the master)in the Premium Ocean View upgraded category that Orbitz posted. We were told on arrival that their (Orbitz) photos are innacurate and that many guests are disappointed when they arrive. That was indeed frustrating since we had pre paid. The staff assured us they would try to upgrade us and would be in touch the next day and we didn't hear back from them at any point. Also disappointing. No air conditioning was an adjustment that we also hadn't been notified of until the week prior when it was too late to cancel or modify the reservation without full penalty. Good trade winds made up for it at night. Overall great location on a gorgeous beach in my new top Destination Location of North Shore Kauai. Would stay in this unit again because we know exactly what to do expect but would not pay the premium pricing.