Ratings based on 776 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pay a little extra to stay elsewhere!

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Rude front desk, no "Aloha". Dirty cleaning towels in room, when called about it rude again. Brick wall view into parking lot where people constantly walk by. Valets are free but vulchers. Stay away from this poorly run establishment. Resort fees? This is not a resort by any means.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Hilmy Dole, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for sharing a review of your stay. We hope to share the aloha spirit with our guests by providing excellent customer service and I am sad to hear that you did not receive a warm welcome from the front desk or exceptional service from the rest of our team. Your valuable feedback will be shared with our leadership and housekeeping staff for careful consideration and improvement. We hope to welcome you back for a better visit in the future. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Loved this hotel. It's close to beach and shopping. The beds are so comfortable. Clean rooms great staff. Will stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Absolutely perfect location/setting!!

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location!! Also, room furnishings were very comfortable.
Cons: Food quality at the Lava Lava Beach Club; update shower/tub
Location: No need to leave the premises (loved the pool and proximity to beach!!); close to other beaches, shopping, restaurants.
We were so happy with the location of this hotel! Close to area attractions, yet "on" the beach, so no need to leave either. We even renewed our wedding vows on the adjacent beach (1-2 minute walk on cleared path)!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lake Tahoe

Bugs but close to Beach

Posted Apr 24, 2017
This is a great little hotel I stayed here over seven times and this is the first time that I really experienced a lot of cockroaches we had to move our room because there was a 3-inch cockroach in our room a little disappointed because they didn't move me closer to the pool or Beach or ice machine. It is on the beach and close to good shopping. Sunrises
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Nice hotel, bed was quite comfortable after 15+ hours of travel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

We will be back!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We absolutely loved our stay here! The rooms were updated but still retro and the Lava Lava Beach Club was so fun and beautiful. We've stayed at multiple places in Kauai and this is the only place we will come back to. Great beach access, multiple pools and fun activities. Great for couples.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Hilmy Dole, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you very much for sharing your review! I am so happy to hear you had a wonderful experience and plan on returning! I appreciate your kind words about our newly renovated accommodations and beautiful property. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your next visit. Mahalo!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Funky atmosphere-serves a purpose

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Good for an inexpensive hotel on the beach. Our room was fine, nothing fancy... very very dusty behind the bed. There was a warning to keep the doors locked etc due to possible break ins however our patio door lock was broken and there was a little bar to prop behind in its place...? The pool is small but a good temp and clean. The grounds were lovely and very well maintained. Fun little activities like fire pits to relax and bean bag toss and tether golf. The lava lava beach club was great for happy hour but not recommended for breakfast. Tip: if you stay here there is a great little beach right beside the property. When facing the ocean take the path to your right. It is less than 2 minutes away and has a little enclosed pool made of rocks and the waves are better for boogie boarding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Hilmy Dole, Hotel Management
Aloha! I am so glad you enjoyed our beautiful property and had a wonderful experience with us! I appreciate you taking the time to share your lovely review and hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Satisfies expectations

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Fair size rooms, everything worked. Nice decor and architectural details, and good layout to the resort.
Cons: Parking lot - size of the spaces. Figure out how the front desk can always have fresh beach towels.
Location: We took a boat tour of the Na Pali coast.
The rooms and grounds were nice. Tastefully decorated: open-air and breezy. Everything worked well in the room (safe, TV, coffee, etc). The rooms and grounds would be what you would expect for a resort like this. Some minor things were less than ideal. (1) Parking. Most spaces are so tight that driver and passenger can't get in or out of the vehicle. The driver must pull the car partially out to accommodate passenger loading. This causes gridlock at busy times. They do offer free valet parking: but that is bothersome if you have a family and gear to load. We never used valet. (2) Beach towels. The housekeeping team is not on their game: they can't keep the front desk supplied. (Or, they need to buy about 30 more towels.) Then, the front desk tells me that I should not want fresh towels each day. I can't believe these individuals would want to use yesterday's sandy, cold and wet towels. We did not use the pool (they have two); we did not use their beach, or their restaurant. This was really a base for us to explore the island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Hilmy Dole, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for sharing your review. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our wonderful accommodations and had a great experience. We strive to share the aloha spirit with all of our guests and are sad this was not your overall experience. Your valuable feedback is greatly appreciated and we will be sure to discuss it with our leadership team so that we can offer an improved experience next time. Mahalo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

on the beach

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: the beach
Cons: needs to be updated somewhat
Location: old coco palms shopping center is almost defunct and it used to be great. bikes available to use and close to the airport and Lihue
very nice staff and very friendly.............................hotel is older, but the locale on the water is outstanding. Eating with your toes in the sand and hearing the Hawaiian singer in the evening is wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Antioch,Calif

nice small hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Room was nice, with a big bed,new TV. Sliding glass door to patio needed updating and screen was ripped. Toilet required full flushing, not a water saver. Bathroom finishes requires updating also.Toilet paper holder was loose,and the vanity was too small, placed in a corner, hard to place toiletries. Overall ok for the price.