Ratings based on 810 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hawaii

Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2017
The rooms was small and kinda hot even though there ac. The laundry room had 2 broken washers and was all the on the other side of property
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

RIGHT on the beach

Posted Jul 20, 2017
If beach access is your priority, this fits. Restaurant pricey, and no good place to read, but loved easily jumping into the waves.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friends staying there not happy.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
We got lucky with a room with split A/C but our friends didn't. A/C units in there rooms were too small and didn't get cool enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Any of the hotels/resorts in the Kapaa area are a great choice. Easy to go north or south for activities and there are tons of restaurants,shops and bars in walking distance. What makes this location special is the fact that Lava Lava is on the property so it is easy to stumble back to your room after one of their monster Mai Tai's. The location on the beach is a giant plus for me also. Only complaint is they do not have coffee in the lobby if you don't want to make it in your room you either have to pay $8.00 at Lava Lava or you can walk down the beach to one of the other hotels where they have it for free in the lobby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno, Nevada

Great beach location.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Just the location.
Cons: The cleanliness, the bathroom needs updating and more parking spaces.
Location: Location was beautiful plenty to do on the island of Kauai.
Great location but the room did not measure up! It was not as clean as it should be (found toe nails on the floor and sheets were only changed once every three days). The big disappointment was the tiny bathroom with no counter space. I ate at the Lava club until I was poured a cup of coffee with a roach in it. The staff were very friendly and the pool was nice but no exercise room. Parking was very tight to say the least.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
We had a great experience and we saw monk seal sleeping on the beach of Kauai Shores Hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Desert, california

Charming older hotel on the beach

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: the 'Old style" feel, the hip mid century furniture and the spare comfortable furnishings. WE definitely loved that it did NOT have a corporate feel.
Cons: The water in the shower would suddenly run cold!
Location: GREAT LOCATION!
The beach is magnificent! There were 2 endangered Monk Seals who rested each day for hours on the beach and a local resident who is a volunteer roped off the area they had undulated to and provided bountiful information on the Seals. There is a Heiau on the grounds and quite a decent restaurant. The staff was particularly helpful and it was very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So Cal

Beautiful, beach front, nice restaurant.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Bikes, close to shopping, in-room safe, store for necessities, spa and pools.
Cons: We wished there had been an in-room microwave. Bathroom is quite small.
Location: Location was really nice. Beach had shade. Unfortunately, the waves were pretty strong when we were there, so we had to go somewhere else to get wet.
Loved the retro decor and feel. Really great restaurant. Loved having the bikes available. Staff was quick to help. We could walk to many places.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Cons: The managers responce to my complaint was they are going to replace them. Hardly helps me. I had been up for 20 hrs. I needed sleep!
We needed just one night of sleep after a long trip from the east coast The air conditioner was so loud we barely slept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kaui

hotel review

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Close to their beach. Nice restaurant on the beach with a great view. Nice pool and hot tub. Wasn't provided my free mai tai ticket but could exchange wet beach towels for dry ones. Good value