Ratings based on 722 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lake Tahoe

Bugs but close to Beach

Posted Apr 24, 2017
This is a great little hotel I stayed here over seven times and this is the first time that I really experienced a lot of cockroaches we had to move our room because there was a 3-inch cockroach in our room a little disappointed because they didn't move me closer to the pool or Beach or ice machine. It is on the beach and close to good shopping. Sunrises
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Nice hotel, bed was quite comfortable after 15+ hours of travel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

We will be back!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We absolutely loved our stay here! The rooms were updated but still retro and the Lava Lava Beach Club was so fun and beautiful. We've stayed at multiple places in Kauai and this is the only place we will come back to. Great beach access, multiple pools and fun activities. Great for couples.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Hilmy Dole, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you very much for sharing your review! I am so happy to hear you had a wonderful experience and plan on returning! I appreciate your kind words about our newly renovated accommodations and beautiful property. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your next visit. Mahalo!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Funky atmosphere-serves a purpose

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Good for an inexpensive hotel on the beach. Our room was fine, nothing fancy... very very dusty behind the bed. There was a warning to keep the doors locked etc due to possible break ins however our patio door lock was broken and there was a little bar to prop behind in its place...? The pool is small but a good temp and clean. The grounds were lovely and very well maintained. Fun little activities like fire pits to relax and bean bag toss and tether golf. The lava lava beach club was great for happy hour but not recommended for breakfast. Tip: if you stay here there is a great little beach right beside the property. When facing the ocean take the path to your right. It is less than 2 minutes away and has a little enclosed pool made of rocks and the waves are better for boogie boarding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Hilmy Dole, Hotel Management
Aloha! I am so glad you enjoyed our beautiful property and had a wonderful experience with us! I appreciate you taking the time to share your lovely review and hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Satisfies expectations

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Fair size rooms, everything worked. Nice decor and architectural details, and good layout to the resort.
Cons: Parking lot - size of the spaces. Figure out how the front desk can always have fresh beach towels.
Location: We took a boat tour of the Na Pali coast.
The rooms and grounds were nice. Tastefully decorated: open-air and breezy. Everything worked well in the room (safe, TV, coffee, etc). The rooms and grounds would be what you would expect for a resort like this. Some minor things were less than ideal. (1) Parking. Most spaces are so tight that driver and passenger can't get in or out of the vehicle. The driver must pull the car partially out to accommodate passenger loading. This causes gridlock at busy times. They do offer free valet parking: but that is bothersome if you have a family and gear to load. We never used valet. (2) Beach towels. The housekeeping team is not on their game: they can't keep the front desk supplied. (Or, they need to buy about 30 more towels.) Then, the front desk tells me that I should not want fresh towels each day. I can't believe these individuals would want to use yesterday's sandy, cold and wet towels. We did not use the pool (they have two); we did not use their beach, or their restaurant. This was really a base for us to explore the island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Hilmy Dole, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for sharing your review. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our wonderful accommodations and had a great experience. We strive to share the aloha spirit with all of our guests and are sad this was not your overall experience. Your valuable feedback is greatly appreciated and we will be sure to discuss it with our leadership team so that we can offer an improved experience next time. Mahalo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

on the beach

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: the beach
Cons: needs to be updated somewhat
Location: old coco palms shopping center is almost defunct and it used to be great. bikes available to use and close to the airport and Lihue
very nice staff and very friendly.............................hotel is older, but the locale on the water is outstanding. Eating with your toes in the sand and hearing the Hawaiian singer in the evening is wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Antioch,Calif

nice small hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Room was nice, with a big bed,new TV. Sliding glass door to patio needed updating and screen was ripped. Toilet required full flushing, not a water saver. Bathroom finishes requires updating also.Toilet paper holder was loose,and the vanity was too small, placed in a corner, hard to place toiletries. Overall ok for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Hotel Okay

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Soundproofing Water Pressure Larger bathrooms WiFi Connection
The hotel is obviously an older hotel that has been recently refreshed. They have done a good job but haven't taken care of some of the problems with an older hotel - namely the soundproofing between walls and the shower pressure. We could clearly hear the people next door talking. Also whenever we had a shower the pressure would suddenly drop and the water would go cold half way through. Finally the WiFi seemed really hard to get on to - sometimes we were lucky but mostly not. We were only there 1 night so it wasn't too big a deal but I wouldn't use this place for a long stay. We also had a night for less money at the Hilton down the road at the beginning of our trip and it was a much nicer, larger room but not as nice a pool. It is not as central as the Kauai Shores.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Hilmy Dole, Hotel Management
Aloha Sara and thank you for sharing your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our ideal location, but are disappointed to learn about the other aspects of your stay that were less than exceptional. I appreciate your kind words about our recent renovations and will share your valuable feedback with our leadership team for future improvement opportunities. It was a pleasuring having you, and we hope to welcome you back for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Mahalo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Ocean front, good breakfast
Cons: Needs a little work on minor stuff - door latches, shutters, act unit, etc. Must be hard to keep up on those things with all the salt air.
A bit high priced for the condition of the hotel room. Parking was difficult at best.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There are NO OCEAN VIEW OR FRONT ROOMS RATS

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Ocean view is a total lie. The room was like a prison with not even a window! The person at the front desk said go outside and look at the beach, that's what we consider ocean view. Smh also a rat ran in our room.