Ratings based on 694 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Location, location, location

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Location is key and all of the staff is great.
Cons: We didn't like that as hotel guests we were expected to make reservations to have dinner there.
Location: Can't wait for them to finish renovating the Coconut Marketplace so the shopping will be even better with more places to eat.
We have been coming to this place for years and love the location. The views from the property are beautiful, the beach is great, and it is within short walking distance from shopping and great places to eat. Breakfast at the Lava Lava Beach Club on the property is great with the best view on the island.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Great location

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Great central location, awesome rates, front desk staff not very friendly, would probably stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oceanside, CA

Beach close

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Good value for the money. It's location on the beach sold us. The rooms were on the older side but for the price and proximity to the beach and market place, we enjoyed ourselves. I'd stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2017
The room was fairly newly updated and nice. The beach was close, but not good for swimming as it was very steep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Bang for your Buck!

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Location and fire pits.
Cons: None
Location: A couple of good Restaurants near, Street Burger being on, Kapaa is also close with Hemingway Cafe, and Java Kai.
I have to go to Kauai for work, so I have a tendency to stay someplace affordable yet clean. A great location, and the beach a quick walk across the yard. Staff is always friendly and welcoming. Also fire pits, multiple fire pits. Being in Hawaii most people say "Why?" we have nights it gets cool and the breeze from the ocean with a fire pit is amazing. A quite relaxing plce to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Three-star Kauai resort with a 4-star location

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: The setting & lush landscaping! Both the beach & the open-air, oceanfront restaurant offer a beautiful panorama on Kauai's eastern side.
Cons: Such a minor complaint: there's not really a reliable "lending library" (I never saw more than 6 romance novels during my week's stay).
Location: Nice walking path along the coastline, including south to the Smith gardens and north to the Courtyard Marriott's luau; public bus stops nearby.
This resort has been gorgeously renovated in sherbet--or perhaps melon--colors since I was there exactly one decade ago on a group tour. I had opted for a studio w/kitchenette so that my colleague & I would each have our own queen bed; and #2003 surprised us by its spaciousness. Even here in the building closest to the street, noise was negligible. We made good use of the studio's fridge & microwave because of the large portions we usually received at the open-air, beachfront restaurant--where we ate frequently, treasuring each opportunity to take in that UN-Ohio-like ocean view with mountains beyond! // We walked both directions several times along the shore, including 25 minutes north to an excellent & intimate ("only 200 guests") nighttime luau at the Courtyard Marriott, and about the same distance south past a small shopping center to the 30-acre Smith Family Botanical Gardens beyond the historically important Wailua River. My colleague, with a public bus schedule obtained from the hotel's front desk, also rode to a larger ABC store a mile or so away ($2 per trip, pay the driver with exact change); a small ABC store is, however, conveniently close in the still-being-renovated Coconut Marketplace, which at this time also houses a comfortable Italian restaurant. // The large pool's unheated water felt shockingly cool to this person who swims normally in a 92-degree indoor pool, but it allowed me to exercise when the February waves & rip tides posed too great a risk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane, WA

Nice older hotel well maintained

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Liked everything about this hotel.
Cons: It is an older facility and management is in the process of doing upgrades to improve some of the dated facilities
Location: Convenient Location shopping and restaurants and grocery stores within walking distance
Nice older 2 story hotel on their own beach with beautiful grounds. Hotel is "C" shaped with very large lawn and garden area and a pool in the center. No real Oceanside or ocean view rooms, but so what. A short stroll from your room through 100-200 ft. of lawn/garden area and you are on the beach. Shopping and restaurants within walking distance. Great location, friendly staff, good price who could ask for anything more. Hotel's Lava lava beach club restaurant and bar is open and right on the beach. Not a 5 star facility, but clean and friendly atmosphere. Good facility for singles, couples or families. Centrally located In the Kapaa area about half way between the north and south ends of the Island of Kauai. I would stay there again any time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice older hotel close to beach . Very private qui

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Ok. Staff are great . Good over priced at Lava Lava
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Room was clean and updated. Staff was wonderful. Proximaty to the beach was perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Hotel very run down but clean.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: The Lava Lava Restaurant.
Cons: The hotel needs renovating badly.
Location: Right on the ocean, can swim and walk the beach.
The front desk is in the back of property. Our room was facing an alley. Very run down. Was clean. The bar and restaurant were great! Enjoyed the food and drinks and the ocean side tables. Would not stay there again, but will return to the Lava Lava Restaurant.