Ratings based on 570 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Nice hotel. Close to the beach & shopping center.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Hotel staff were all very friendly and nice. Valley guys gave us some useful advises on good restaurants and sightseeing tips. Food from the main dining "red salt" were all so good. In this immediate vicinity, there are a few more popular hotels like, shelaton, Mariott, etc... Although this hotel quality is equally good as these well known hotels (or even better), compare to them, this hotel seemed less crowded and more relaxed. You can walk to 2 shopping centres in 10-20min. Many really nice restaurants within easy walking distance. I would love to stay here again. Only one thing, there is no toothbrush, tooth cream and mens razor. We brought ours so it wasn't a problem for us. Also, you can buy them from hotel souvenir shop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Half Moon Bay

Outstandingly

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Just returned from an excellent stay at Koa Kea, booked on the reviews that it received here. The staff couldn't of done any more to make our. stay more comfortable and their daily interactions with guests was outstanding. A couple of the reviews mentioned the hotel looking tired but we didn't see any evidence of this. From our arrival to or departure everything was taken care of, bubbles and lei on arrival and great service throughout our stay, our ocean view , king size was clean and well appointed and daily maid service and additional turn down service was exceptional, well done to the staff. Can I just mention I'm British, not one for over the top statements, but it was outstanding. This hotel will fit the bill if you want something quieter than the usual Disneyland size resorts but still have the beaches and amenities. Personable staff who obviously enjoy what they do, because it shows in there smiles and willingness to go the extra mile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose

Great hotel - directly on the beach

Posted Apr 17, 2017
We stayed here fir a week . Location , service , food all outstanding . The room was a bit small for a week , not enough storage or space - but the location & seeing , hearing the surf at night - amazing . Highly trained & super friendly & helpful staff . Will come back again . Not cheap for ocean front room but worth every penny !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

The Best of the Best!!!

Posted Apr 9, 2017
We've stayed at every large, high end hotel chain and Koa Kea out does them all. Our stay was flawless with superior staff, elegant and comfortable rooms, great food, and unsurpassed ocean views. If you're looking to move beyond gigantic, sterile hotels go stay at Koa Kia. This is a romantic, boutique hotel with the highest standards. We can't wait to go back!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Crete, IL.

Hawaiian Mayberry

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING!! The location, the staff, the food, the room, the pools, the amenities. Everything was just perfect!
Cons: Can't think of a thing that needs improvement!!!
Location: We rented a car, which is almost a must if you want to see the sites.
Loved this place from the minute we got here. Even though we didn't check in until 9pm, the staff was great from the start! Excellent room, excellent food (a bit pricey, but oh well, it's vacation!), excellent staff, and what can you say, it's HAWAII! I can't write enough great things to say about the staff at the Koa Kea other than, if given the chance, I'd go back there in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redmond, WA

Small quiet resort - perfect for relaxation

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Very friendly staff Excellent location - right on Poipu beach, close to restaurants and shops Not very crowded Good food
A small quiet resort located on Poipu beach, was the perfect location for a relaxing getaway. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff and the check - in process was the the quickest I have been through. The rooms were very clean, and modern with Nespresso machines and pods which we really enjoyed! The food and the hotel's restaurant, Red Salt was delicious and other restaurants were walking distance from the hotel. We also had a massage at the Spa. The Spa is small but the massage was outstanding. Over all, it was a wonderful experience and we would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel, beach ok

Posted Mar 28, 2017
For the money, expected better. Everything was fine just not great. Beach is small and swimmers should be wary of rocks and currents.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location and staff and good food. Perfect!

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Location, beach, staff
Cons: Room size! (Well, you can't really "improve" that, but I wish the rooms were little bigger).
Location: Right next to Poipu beach, and shops a Kukui'ula.
Me and my wife stayed at Koa Kea for 6 nights and 7 days at the beginning of Mar'17. The hotel is located in Poipu area, and is right next to the Poipu beach. It's very close to a shopping center nearby, and has multiple options for variety of restaurants and shopping (kinda touristy, but still nice). As I mentioned, it's right next to the Poipu beach, but away from where the general public access is. So, it's almost as if the hotel has its own private section of the beach. Hotel also has an activities hut where we could get surfing lessons, rent snorkel and general beach gear. Jacuzzi was great, we liked the bar and restaurant (a little overpriced, but everything in Kauai is generally overpriced). Waimea, Lihue, Kappa, and Hanalei are all accessible from the hotel (30-60 minutes via car). I'd like to specifically mention that the hotel staff was really great, and always helpful. The hotel is right next to Marriott and Sheraton, and during our morning walks, we did see families with kids at those other resorts. But, during our stay, we mostly saw couples (young and seniors) at Koa Kea. Hotel room interior and decor was contemporary, but we felt that room was a bit small (that's the only "complaint" I had, according to my wife). Apart from that, a great resort, and a nice vacation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very quiet by the beach hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Very quiet hotel by the beach, we chose a garden room, not a good view, wish would have chose an ocean view especially balcony over looking ocean. Friendly, attentive and helpful staff. Overall experience very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Great resort, overall, and in a nice location

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Service, quietness, location, restaurant, lobby area, room, amenities, Nespresso in room, et al.
Cons: Hours for the hot tub and pool; also the drink prices at the pool bar
Location: Terrific location--right in the middle of the beach area but nestled/quiet, on its own to a sufficient extent
Great resort, overall, with lots of strong staff, good experiences as to cleanliness and amenities, etc. Hot tub and pool should be open almost 24 hours per day though--at least a LOT earlier in the morning--at like 3 a.m. Drinks were too expensive at the pool bar also--for what they were. Otherwise, it's hard to think of anything that wasn't lovely. :-)