Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Great value for price paid.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Short walking distance to a few restaurants and shops. Car rental facility on-site.
Cons: Noisy air conditioner in room should be changed.
Location: 3 affordable restaurants. Everything is a short driving distance away. I highly recommend that you rent a car.
I probably had the cheapest room at the resort (around $269 a night), so I can't really complain, but the murphy bed idea is not what I would have preferred. AC in room was very noisy. Had problems with microwave and lights in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

26th anniversary. Great time.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
We get there and they tell us we get a " free gift" at thisnother desk. We aren't savy enough to realize it is a ploy to get you to check out their time share. Then if course it's loaded with pressure. The resort itself was amazing.... staff friendly..... want to come back for sure. If you aren't aware of how they get you to look at time shares you will get a high pressure pitch to buy one.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Oregon

Nice central location

Posted Jan 29, 2017
This hotel is a bit spendy but worth it. I kept looking at the price and saw it eventually go down a little before I booked. Once we arrived, I realized it was worth the price we paid. It is centrally located, had friendly staff and clean, very comfortable rooms. The grounds are immaculate! The koi pond is a favorite attraction and the nice walking paths made for easy relaxing strolls to the beach at night. The masterpiece of this hotel is definitely the pool!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Mill SC

Did not meet expectations

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Grounds and setting are very nice.
Cons: It needs to be more clear that most of the property is a timeshare managed by Marriott, not a true Marriott resort.
The main problem was one of expectations. Booking through Expedia we did not understand at all that we were getting a timeshare as opposed to a Marriott room.It was called a "Studio Garden View". To me that meant not a suite, which was fine. In reality it meant a fold-out Murphy bed. I eventually found that fact buried in the fine print of the reservation. Upgrading to a real bed would cost $75/night. Upgrading to an actual Marriott room meant throwing away the entire original reservation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Not bad

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Beautiful beach area. Hotel was pretty nice. Close to the Lihue airport. Staff was not very accomodating, but fortunately where our room was located was close to main entrance. No one offered to help us with our bags or park the car.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the staff are fantastic! the room not so much

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
The staff are amazing and genuinely nice. However beware of the garden view Murphy bed category. We had a room that was wheelchair accessible but it really wasn't. The bathroom was so small to walk in you have to enter and walk to the side of the toilet to close the door. Don't leave the bathroom door open when someone is in the shower or you will trap them. The doors open towards each other. Both doors cannot open at the same time that's how small and uncomfortable the bathroom is. Also the shower set up is less than ideal, the room itself wasn't too bad, though we had a motor running the A/C unit. At least that's what it sounds like. Having that size of a bathroom was really the deal breaker.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Still in paradise

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Traveled to paradise ... Kauai is a most see for any romantic ... unfortunately the lone downer was the hotel and the attitude of some staff ... spent a considerable amount of frequent flyer points and used up accumulated hotel shared points for a nine-day vacation ... Had two rooms during stay ... first two days were in the properties rental rooms ... ordered a "Ocean View" room for a up charge ... Our "Ocean View" turned out to be a small sliver of an inlet bay ... room was a tad smaller than standard room in "anywhere" hotel. But we were in paradise ... Ran into several staff, including concierge, restaurant hostesses, check-in clerk, that I would best describe as rude. Did nothing to receive that "type" of service ... but again in paradise ... Transferred to our Marriott time share after two days ... and viola our ocean view was a handicapped room with a view of a roof top, with a similar slight view of an inlet .... Called front desk to ask to be moved to our promised room and were given a sad story and told hotel full for two days, but that we would be moved then ... but we were still in paradise ... Two days came and I guess we were forgotten with regards to a new room ... oh well Marriott had more important guests, I guess The island of Kauai is to be seen, just not from my room
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent views. Had a wonderful time.
3 out of 5
by Robin from St Helena

Very overpriced

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
This was a quick stay but this hotel is seriously overpriced. The bathroom had hair everywhere, the air conditioner sounded like a jet airplane, and the sheets were worn.