Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting.

Posted May 3, 2017
The master shower didn't work well, the place needed some deep cleaning and maintenance. But it was well equipped.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Oceanfront Realty Management, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your comments. We will send our housekeeper to do a deep-cleaning of the unit and our maintenance worker to fix the shower. Had we been notified while you were here we would have fixed the shower then. We hope you'll visit our beautiful island again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seekonk, MA

Nice ocean view from the cliffs. Kauai is amazing.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Nice facilities, pool, hot tub and fitness room. Condo was very nice, great location to everything
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Oceanfront Sotheby's International Realty, Hotel Management
Aloha Diane, and mahalo for your comments! Weʻre glad you enjoyed your stay at the condo and the resort. Please visit again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eastern WA

Great view and location

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Owner rental. No access to amenities, i.e. Pools, hot tubs. No interaction with resort personnel or activities. Love the area!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Oceanfront Sotheby's International Realty, Hotel Management
Aloha Lynda, and mahalo for your comments. We're not sure why you had no access to the resort's amenities since you were fully entitled to them during your stay. We're sorry that you did not let us know that you were having any difficulty accessing them. We are glad you enjoyed the area, though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Not so clean

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Orbitz
We didn't know that we rented a rent-by-owner unit until checking in. The unit is very spacious and has good supplies for cooking. However, it definitely needs a deep cleaning. It is an old worn unit without AC (we were there in Nov and AC is not necessary). The hotel is located on the cliff with beautiful view of ocean and has good pools including jacuzzi. It doesn't have direct access to beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Oceanfront Sotheby's International Realty, Hotel Management
Aloha Yanyu, and mahalo for your review. We're sorry that you didn't understand that you were staying at a vacation rental but we're glad that you enjoyed the space and amenities. We have scheduled a deep cleaning of the unit. Please note that very few homes on Kauai have air conditioning since the trade winds keep the weather here generally mild; if you need AC, always specify this when you reserve. Princeville is located on a bluff so beach access is limited, but the views are magnificent and beautiful Hanalei Bay is a short drive away. We hope you'll visit again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Aloha

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Condo unit was privately owned, just managed by realty company. Overall condition was ok - somewhat musty smelling, leak from bathroom ceiling light fixture was annoying and not repaired promptly. Light switch for lanai was broken...would request a different unit next time even though view from patios were lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, and mahalo for your review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay. We're sorry that you felt that the repair work took too long, but we did send someone to fix the problem the same day you reported it. We are not aware of a problem with the lanai light switch; it appears to be functioning properly. We hope you'll visit our beautiful island again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent value and beautiful location

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: The northern part of Kauai is my favorite place to stay, and I prefer to stay in Princeville and drive the 5 minutes to Hanalai for activities.
The Cliffs is a lovely property in Princeville with a gorgeous view of the north ocean. Buildings 6, 8, 9 all have unobstructed views of the water. The pool is small but pretty with a lava rock facade. They offer weekly activities like yoga and a free scuba class.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Oceanfront Sotheby's International Realty, Hotel Management
Aloha Christie, and mahalo for your review and lovely photos! We're very glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll visit us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Oct 11, 2016
All was great! Bed was great. We opened doors on both ends of the room and let the island breezes blow through, no air conditioner needed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Oceanfront Sotheby's International Realty, Hotel Management
Aloha, and mahalo for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the comfortable trade winds.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Condo/Timeshare

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Then Cliffs was great however we were expecting it to be more of a hotel based on what we had read on hotels.com- it was nice. No daily housekeeping or food service. It is a timeshare property/condo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, and mahalo for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and are sorry that you misunderstood that the unit is an individually owned vacation rental property. We hope you'll visit again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Kauai vacation

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent spot to explore activities on the North shore of Kauai
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your comment! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll return to visit our beautiful island again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Relaxing place to stay on the North Shore, Kauai

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: We had a great corner unit in building 7 facing the ocean and view of the hammock and very green lawn.
Cons: Our TV in our unit did not work properly but we temporarily swapped it with the bedroom TV and were fine. The clothes dryer never got hot/never dried.
Location: Nearby restaurants in Hanalei, a Foodland, lots of restaurant options, or you can cook yourself in your full kitchen. Beaches galore, and hikes.
Great location if you're looking for a more quiet spot. Feels like it's for older, retired people but I enjoyed it fine since Kauai is such a small island and we had a rental Jeep. We stayed four nights in Kapaa, so this was pleasant four nights on the quieter side of town. Close to beaches that are somewhat secret and hidden and very lush. The unit we were in was privately owned and had a great view of the ocean with that wonderful ocean breeze. Building 7 was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by Oceanfront Sotheby's International Realty, Hotel Management
Aloha A, and mahalo for your review. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you appreciated the condo and the convenience of the resort. We're sorry that you had difficulty with the TV and drier; we would have assisted you but you didn't report them to us! We're available on island to serve you seven days a week. We hope you'll stay with us again!