Ratings based on 785 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moreno Valley, CA

Great venue

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Spaciousness
Cons: Need a work-out room
Location: Coconut Marketplace - great for shopping and eating.
Relaxing. Well situated to take advantage of all the good things that eastern Kauai has to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Very nice place to stay. We would definetly stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, thank you for posting your review and giving us a 4 star rating. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay here at Plantation Hale Suites. We look forward to having you with us when you return to Kauai. Mahalo, Eric N.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VB

Do not stay here!

Posted Jun 18, 2017
Worse experience ever. My family and I stayed for 2 weeks here. First, let me tell you that they only clean the room every 3 days!! As a mother and as a nurse that it's totally unacceptable. Can you imagine having your children around dirty floors even in the kitchen? Second, THIS HOTEL DO NOT RESPECT EXPEDIA RESERVATIONS. Third, because they do not respect the reservation, I was locked out of my room as we were criminals. I told them my I had my reservation until 9pm because I had an over night flight. I paid extra money to stay after 12 pm and even after that they sent someone to tell me to hurry up in leaving the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short, I will share your review with the management team here as this is not the norm for Plantation Hale Suites. Sincerely, Eric N.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Location, pools, lovely gardens
Cons: The rooms are dated and could be a little upgraded but overall very happy
Location: Very close to restaurants, supermarkets & other shops. Walks along the beach.
Great location- near restaurants, shops & supermarkets
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, thank you for posting your review for Plantation Hale Suites. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Kauai. Mahalo, Eric N.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Decent hotel, no frills wiyh nice staff

Posted Jun 5, 2017
My first room/ condo was a disaster. It was Smelly, the barhroom had not been cleaned and the ceiling fan did not work. After calling and complaining about the three problems, the staff was able to move me to another open room that supposedly opened up later after I check in. Which was good because I would've been very upset being in the smelly dirty room for six days. The new riom turned out to be pretty good. Even although this complex is pretty basic, honestly nothing stood out to distinguish it from any other condo complex that I've rented in the past. The best thing about this complex is a staff member named Crystal. She is outstanding, just makes you laugh and is super personable. I would go out of my way to speak to her because she was just the best and gave me such colorful information about the local spots it was just awesome if every member of the staff could've been exactly like Crystal this would've have been an amazing review of the complex. Unfortunately Crystal is one-of-a-kind and not every member of the staff has her personality or is it or is as friendly as her. For the most part the staff is nice but they don't really go out of their way to be super helpful. That's why I'm give me this complex just a three out of five.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, thank you for posting your review for Plantation Hale Suites. Thank you for the feedback as we take these reviews as learning tools for our staff to make a better experience for our guests. I was glad to see that you enjoyed working with Crystal, I am sure she will be pleased when she sees your review. We hope to see you again when you come to Kauai again in the future. Mahalo, Eric N.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean older hotel, centrally located.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: centrally located.
Cons: construction on mall next door was somewhat ugly, but it should be done soon.
Location: close to the beach, have activities on site, and tours you can book at the front counter.
Fully stocked kitchen, cable, outside activities, close to the beach, everything we needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, thank you for giving us a 5 star rating. I was glad to see you enjoyed the centralized location and the fully stocked suite. Hope to see you on your next visit to Kauai. Mahlo, Eric N.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel but is rather dated.

Posted May 13, 2017
Staff were fantastic & room except for mattresses was great. The mattresses were saggy & do need replaced. The rest of the facilities were good. Pool & hot tubs were spotless & grounds were as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Eric N.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient area, close to shops.

Posted May 9, 2017
Biggest complaint of our stay was housekeeping. There was hair on the floor, sink and tub when we checked in. The day that there was supposed to be housekeeping the floors never got swept or vacuumed. Place is a little outdated. Get what you pay for really.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Eric N.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

close to beach but view blocked by 10 ft fence

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: convenient to Kapaa, and nearby Lihue.
Cons: take down the fence... the view would be spectacular!
The facilities were OK and comfortable, not the Hilton, but did the job. The staff were friendly and courteous. We enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Eric N.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hoboken, NJ

Nice condo close to the ocean

Posted May 2, 2017
Good comfortable condo close to the ocean. It has full kitchen which is good with the kids. Near by beach is good for walking/watching the sunrise but not for swimming or snorkeling. The only thing missing in the condo was dishwasher, so you have to wash any utensils you use by hand.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, thank you for the 4 star rating. I was glad to see that you enjoyed the one bedroom suite with fully stocked kitchen and the centralized location. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Kauai. Mahalo, Eric N.