Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Luxury Hotel in Princeville

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Luxury quiet great running trails
Location: Kalaulau Trail - nearby!!! Must see and experience
If you're the type that likes less crowded, more luxe accomodations, St Regis is the perfect fit. We stayed here our 1st leg of our trip and transferred to Grand Hyatt (south side) for the remaining 2nd half. St Regis is more quiet, laid back. Romantic and perfect for couples, adults. I'd recommend Grand Hyatt for families w kids. They'd enjoy there better. It's nice to experience both as they are on separate sides of the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel experience

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The St Regis and ALL of its staff are in a league all of their own. Absolutely every detail of our stay was superb!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Magnificent hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
The best hotel we've stayed at. Magnificent views, excellent service, beautiful grounds, wonderful facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Lovely Stay

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Gorgeous views and mostly friendly staff and good food.
Cons: The gym was too crowded. They need a bigger one. Dining options were limited mainly because they were closed 20-30% of the weeknights.
Location: Easy access to Hanalei, shopping, dining, hiking, etc. but quite far from Lihue and Poipu and Waimea.
We stayed in a Monarch Suite, which was great because it had amazing views and an outdoor patio overlooking the ocean. The butler service every morning was delightful and they even brought hot chocolate for our daughter. The wild chickens of Kauai visited us every morning, much to our daughter's delight. Overall, the hotel and especially the facade needs a big renovation (as other reviewers mentioned) but it didn't really bother us at all and we would happily return in its current condition. The front desk service was pretty underwhelming and the staff was borderline rude and sullen. Everyone else at the hotel was super friendly and pleasant. The bar was awesome with live music and delicious food. The views were amazing and the beach/pool were very nice as well. The gym got a bit crowded in the morning, which was annoying so I had to go really early at 6am every morning to get a good workout in without having a line form behind me. The main breakfast area was charming and the food was great. It was kind of annoying how the main grill you would want to go to for breakfast (and dinner) was closed several nights of the week for dinner, leaving you with no viable options with a young child. We went off property a lot to nearby Hanalei, Princeville center and also on trips to the lighthouse and Wailua falls near Lihue. Overall, it was pretty great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Beautiful hotel in amazing location

Posted Feb 9, 2017
My husband and I stayed at St Regis for three nights and enjoyed every second of our stay. From the moment we arrived, the staff were amazing and extremely welcoming. The hotel is a little older, however it is beautiful and unlike anywhere we'd ever stayed. You feel like you are staying on a deserted island! The scenery is simply indescribable! We ate at the hotel one night and the food was expensive, but delicious. On a tip from some locals, we spent our remaining two nights eating, drinking, and dancing at Tahiti Nui in nearby Hanalei Bay. The food was great and we enjoyed a much more authentic, fun experience than fine dining at the hotel! Can't wait for our next trip back to St Regis!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Worth it!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: more dinning choices
Location: Its Hawaii, thats all I can say :)
The St Regis is definitely a higher end hotel, but worth every bit. My wife and I went there for 3 days for a quick getaway and enjoyed every aspect. Starting with valet, the check-in process, front desk manager, concierge, and all the staff, we were treated with respect and were extremely happy with everything. Amenities were great and we felt at home. Will definitely come back. Thank you !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older hotel, but amazing location and views

Posted Jan 23, 2017
We were upgraded to the ocean view suite with balcony. The room had a great view, although the rooms and hotel are older in appearance. The resort food was average. Pool is near beach. Hotel is close to hiking spots. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not up to St. Regis caliber.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Location, beach, natural beauty
Cons: Hotel is in disrepair, fresh paint sorely needed
Location: Excellent location on more relaxed and rural side of the island
The location of this hotel is amazing, consisting of a somewhat small beach area and beautiful view of the north side of Kauai. Unfortunately, this is the hotel's only saving grace. The hotel is in great need of updating and repair and all the hotel staff knows it as well. My wife and I found the restaurants and menu's to be very poor as well. We planned to stay and eat at the various restaurants for the whole trip initially, but after trying them all we had to go off-site after the first few days (Breakfast buffet was the only exception, but breakfast is easy). I'm very surprised that a brand like St. Regis would allow a hotel of this condition to remain in its portfolio and taint the reputation they have earned for quality and luxury. I would stay here again, but only when the rates are "on sale", never full price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

St Regis Hotel Princeville.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: The service was very good
Cons: The hotel needs to be updated, particularly the grill. People like outdoor access from their rooms.
Location: Lots of beaches to visit nearby plus the botanic gardens. The village of Hanelei has some good restaurants.
Only a few rooms have access to a terrace or deck. We needed to take 3 elevators to get down to the Beach. The grill is dark, dated, expensive and without a view. The food was good but not excellent and the portions very small. The service was EXCELLENT. The staff very helpful with suggestions of restaurants and excursions and in making reservations. I wouldn't recommend the north of Kaua'i in the winter and the water can be turbulent. However, the sun chairs on the beach were very comfortable and the pool was a delight
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Absolutely amazing!

Posted Dec 8, 2016
No complaints whatsoever--beautiful property, excellent staff and service, wonderful amenities, gorgeous views, perfect sized beach and pool--we cannot wait to return for our next stay!!