Ratings based on 558 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Westin Princeville May Visit 2017

Posted May 24, 2017
Beautiful hotel, so glad we decided to stay on the north side of the island. The concierge was extremely helpful. All the rooms have fully equipt kitchens with everything you would need to cook & full size refrigerators as well as a washer dryer. Parking was an additional 13$ per night, not bad. The restaurant in the hotel is expensive. There is a walking path from the hotel down to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Adventure Trip

Posted May 13, 2017
The Westin was a wonderful place to stage a week of great adventures! Even after we checked out, we got in another day of snorkeling and the gave us a room for an hour so we could clean up for our flight. Thanks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted May 10, 2017
I was a little disappointed with the cleaning. Didn't feel like they did the best. But everything else was wonderful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A resort property that checks all the boxes, but..

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable (mostly), with all the amenities. Once you're checked in, the only "resort fee" is parking, which is high, but not unreasonable.
Cons: Noisy HVAC, poorly marked/unmarked valet only spaces, best rooms reserved for timeshare owners.
Location: North Kauai is our favorite part of the island, lush and green with snorkeling and hiking, surfing and kayaking, even mountain biking. Paradise.
First off the positives: several pools and hot tubs, kid friendly but not overwhelmingly so, well maintained clean rooms and facilities with small efficiencies or larger suites strike a decent compromise between "Hotel Room" and "Vacation Rental Apartment". Also, despite being a timeshare property, we had exactly no sales pitch directed at us during our stay. Sadly the rooms available to rent as "non-owners" seemed to be either dark/heavily shaded ground floor units, or brighter units with no view and adjacent to the HVAC systems which are noisy day/night unless you leave your doors/windows closed. Rooms with nicer views or quieter surroundings were "owner units" and weren't available to us. Additionally we had an unpleasant experience with the staff over parking that could have been handled much better (or avoided altogether with proper signage).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MO

Posted May 9, 2017
Perfect honeymoon getaway. Clean facilities & friendly staff. Kitchen and laundry facilities were handy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Would not recommend

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: If you want to stay in the Northern part of the island, Princeville, its a good location. The hotel is not good.
Cons: everything
We got to the hotel at 1:30, check in as 4 and asked if we could get into our room early if possible. They were supposed to call us when it was ready which they never did. We checked in at 4:30. I guess this is also a timeshare which explains why 90% of the guests are on the older side. It also explains why the food is so terrible. The first day my room was not cleaned and when I called to find out why they told me that I agreed to a free breakfast in replace of housekeeping service which i did not. Then the following day, they cleaning people showed up at 5pm - and of course i was in my room. This proceeded to happen the entire stay. Finally, when we were checking out we called down to have someone get our bags as we were headed to the airport. We waited 30 mins after calling multiple times. No one came. The service is terrible, the food is worse, and the resort is basic. Also there is no beach access.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great location in Princeville!

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Proximity to Hanalei Bay, with many little shops nearby. We upgraded to the 1 bedroom (family of 4 with two little kids).
Cons: On-demand movies would be nice, rather than limited DVD collection.
Location: Close to Hanalei Bay, proximity to many small village shops, you have everything you need!
Loved how family friendly the resort was, yet private enough for those not wanting to be around kids (like honeymooners). Friendly staff (several even shared great surfing spots, a rarity with local surfers, this island is the exception, I found). Hotel was booked to full capacity yet, we never once felt crowded, fighting for space in the pool, always had available lounge chairs. Studio room is definitely for a couple at the most, not a family as per Expedia. We upgraded for a good deal to a 1 bedroom and are glad we did.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Loved our stay here.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: We loved the location and how quiet it was here and the property was lovely. The resort staff were very welcoming and friendly.
Cons: A few minor repairs were needed in our suite-mostly taps that needed replacing but they did not impact our stay at all.
Location: There is hiking, beaches, kayaking, restaurants, and golf all nearby.
Our kids 12 and 8 did not want to leave, They loved the pools, ping pong, bean toss and proximity to Hanilea and other amenities. Anini beach was nearby and we loved it there. This was a lovely quiet resort and a nice balance between things to do and opportunities to just unwind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice resort

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: The hotel had a peaceful feeling to it. The staff was helpful and I didn't feel any pressure from them. The staff made us feel welcome.
Cons: None
Location: Great variety of swimming pools to choose from and a nearby beach
The staff was very helpful and the resort was very comfortable. I have no complains at all
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017
All Westin Resort Villas are about the same regardless of the resort - units are clean, luxurious and well maintained. It's a consistently pleasing experience. This hotel does not have direct beach access and a fairly steep 5-10 minute walk on a dirt trail is required to reach the beach (Wyllie/Anini Beach). Despite that inconvenience this beach is amazing.