Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Will definitely be back to this hotel each time I am in Kauai.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maui

Needs some work done.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The room is big and clean. The small sofa bed was good for children.
Cons: Landscaping
Location: Location is perfect
This hotel would have been nice if they can upgrade the pool and surrounding areas. The landscaping needs some beautification. Everything is dead. It needs a beautiful garden at least. The pool is so outdated, tiles are old and dirty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Nice Hotel - Could be better

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Likes: This hotel is good value for short business stays. The rooms are clean, updated, and comfortable. The Hotel is centrally located to town. Parking is convenient and free. Lobby is beautiful and comfortable for reading / meetings. Hotel is located next to a scenic 8 mile paved biking trail along the ocean. Free coffee in the lobby is good and available most of the day. Concerns about the hotel: The hotel is not directly on the ocean. (5 minute walk to beach) The hotel sits behind a public beach park parking lot with lots of activity. Rooms do not have a lanai Rooms have individual AC units that are very noisy. If you open your Ocean view window the neighboring rooms AC units are very noisey and drown out the sound of the ocean. Pathways to the pool are unlit at night and require a guests to use flashlights to navigate them. Beach towels are rationed, very old, thin, and undersized 3x2 feet. The only breakfast offered at the Hotel is a mediocre $22 buffet that would be fairly priced at $10. Front desk failed to answer our phone calls 3 out of 4 times. Free in room internet authentication process is buggy AT&T cell service was unavailable in our 2nd floor room facing the ocean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Ray Blouin, Hotel Management
Aloha DC. Thank you for your review. We are glad to have provided you with a satisfactory vacation stay that was clean, comfortable and convenient. Your valuable feedback regarding the areas of our services that do have room for improvement are greatly appreciated as it helps us to know how to better our overall guest experience. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the future. Mahalo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

AC could have been colder due to hot summer

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Upgrade rooms, clean up grounds. Be aware of lowering AC temps during summer months.
Hotel grounds to include extra parking area disappointing. Does NOT reflect Hilton name. Parking lot desperately needs repaving. storage of old supplies and furniture very visible and quite shameful. Side grounds area are unkempt. and shabby. Hotel itself is good. lobby and restaurant areas very welcoming. carpeting in hallways need to be changed and/or thoroughly cleaned.- musty smell. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Ray Blouin, Hotel Management
Aloha PLCHOPS. Thank you for your review. We are delighted that our staff provided you with great service. However, we do apologize for the heat, and appreciate your valuable feedback regarding the areas of our service that showed room for improvement. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you to our corner of paradise for an even more enjoyable vacation in the future. Mahalo.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kauai

Average.

Posted Aug 6, 2017
We had to wait a few hours to check in; our room was not ready, and then maintenance had to fix a broken phone in our room. The front door didn't close properly and we had to really force the door closed in order to lock it. The bathroom doorknob fell off on the first day. Housekeeping missed our room one day. On the plus side, location to the beach was Very convenient, breakfast food was great, but pricey $22.00 @. Staff was pleasant and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Ray Blouin, Hotel Management
Aloha Jean. Thank you very much for sharing your review. We are so glad that our staff gave you a warm and friendly welcome, and that you enjoyed our beautiful beach location and delicious breakfast options. However, we do apologize for the delayed check-in you experienced, as well as for the fixtures in your room that needed improvement. Your feedback will be shared with our management team for careful examination, and we hope to have another opportunity to better serve you and be your vacation home in the future. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Great location

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Great location to several towns, airport and beach. Helpful staff and many amenities included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Great location 15 min to airport and 5 min from cute town of Kapaa. Rooms clean and bathrooms updated. Because it's Kauai, everything stays kind of damp so room can be a little musty. Front desk very nice and helpful. 3 min walk to swimming at Lydgate beach (protected area with gentle waves). Beach had some debris on it, prob bc it's a state park and not maintained as frequently as a hotel private beach. Pool smallish but not crowded at all so felt private. Good value for mid level hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by HGI Kauai, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and for the positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kauai!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in general

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Food was great and staff was pleasant.
Cons: Laundry room and Pool cleanses
Location: Great location
Was nice having Beach close enough to to walk. although Hotel Largest pool was dirty and Sauna was extremely HOT.. Lounge crushion were very dirty, don't think they even need them. Laundry room to small not enough washers/driers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Ray Blouin, Hotel Management
Aloha Traveler. Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed our delicious dining options, and were well taken care of by our staff! We appreciate your valuable feedback as it will help us to improve, and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in the future. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thibodaux, LA

Very nice hotel surrounded by beautiful scenery.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Everything EXCEPT the free-roaming roosters near our front door, one which woke us up at dawn (was not all bad because we saw a beautiful sunrise).
Cons: Price of breakfast buffet was rather expensive ($22/pp). For what was offered, low to mid-teens is more appropriate. Need a few more parking spots.
Location: Close (not too close) to the airport and virtually anything you'd want to do and experience on Kaua'a. Not on the main tourist drag, which is good!
I recommend this beautiful and reasonably-priced property to anyone wanting to visit the island of Kaua'a, HI. The grounds and ocean view of the Hilton Garden Inn was beautiful and well maintained. Very open-air architecture. Very friendly and helpful staff. Be prepared to live on "island time" here and everywhere on the island, which is not a criticism, but rather a blessing. Loosen up your itinerary just a little bit and allow a little extra time between things you want to do here. After all, YOU ARE ON VACATION while here. Take it all in as leisurely as you can. Lastly (not related to the hotel stay), take in a helicopter tour. They are reasonably priced and very well worth what you pay for it. One of the best things I ever did (ever!) in my travels and I consider myself well-traveled. The beauty of this island, especially the west side and the "Pacific Canyon", is simply stunning. Among the many other things we did, we also did a couple of wonderful hikes. Our whole experience on Kaua'a was awesome!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baxley GA

The hotel is nice and secluded but the amenities!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The hotel is nice and secluded but the amenities are horrible. Bar food that is extremely overpriced and not edible. Had to send a Asian Shrimp salad back. Does have a nice view and quite location with a small park and beach with in walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Ray Blouin , Hotel Management
Aloha B, and thank you for sharing your review. While we are glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel overall and appreciated our beautiful views and ideal location, we are disappointed to learn that your dining experience was less than exemplary, and that our amenities did not fully suit your needs. Your valuable feedback will be shared with management for thoughtful consideration, and we hope to have another opportunity to better serve you in the future. Mahalo.