Ratings based on 1,171 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Nice hotel next to beach

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Next to beach and in Kapaa town
Location: In Kapaa, close to Lihue. Lots of restaurants and shopping. Closer to Hanalei compared to other hotels at Poipu etc.
Nice location. Unfortunately the coconut marketplace which is next door is undergoing renovations. 3 story buildings but no elevators.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Rooms were clean and staff was friendly and welcoming. The pool is very small, but there's a lovely beach with strong waves, a sandy bottom, shallow waters and you can spot whales on the horizon. There's also DIY laundry facilities which was great for us. Kauai is a small island, so it doesn't matter so much where you stay or base yourself on the island. It's easy to explore around. This hotel was very reasonably priced, comfortable and unpretentious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City area

Best overall value for the price

Posted Jan 13, 2017
It doesn't get any better than this resort in this price range. It right on the beach and centrally located on the island. There's a mini kitchen in each room and plenty of restaurants, shops and grocery stores nearby. You will get 2 tickets per day for coffee or tea in the wonderful coffee shop next door and the Sleeping Giant grill is excellent for lunch or dinner. The pool area is very nice with a full service bar and live entertainment twice a week. I highly recommend this resort, you could pay more for luxury but this is clean, nice and affordable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

There is beauty all around!

Posted Jan 13, 2017
We stayed on the ground level in an oceanfront room. Our room was 36 steps to the beach (yes we counted)! It was wonderful!! The grounds were beautifully maintained and the room was simply furnished & decorated, but lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Great time, great location for a trip to Kauai. There for a week. Second time staying here. Get the ocean front rooms. Worth the extra money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel close to sea

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: The view, the smiles and the beach bar were highlights
Cons: Finding the hotel in the dark when we first arrived was a problem. Perhaps taking the hotel shuttle is a good idea.
Location: You need a car, relatively little can be done on foot.
Overall we were very happy with the hotel. All the rooms face the sea and you can see the waves coming in from your balcony.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KAUAI, HI

Older but fabulous hotel right up on a beach

Posted Jan 9, 2017
It was quaint.. Easy to get to shopping.. Easy access to everything on the island.. Really nice price to stretch your vacation dollars..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Beautiful hotel right on the ocean

Posted Jan 1, 2017
We can't recommend this hotel enough. We had an oceanfront room, which had gorgeous views. Every night we fell asleep to the sound of the waves. One of the best parts of our stay was the bbq. There are 3 grills available to the guests, so every night we got food from the food way down the street and my husband cooked. Also, the staff and the bartender were so friendly. This hotel made our honeymoon so special, and when we return to kauai, we will definitely return!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good economical option

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Centrally located on the eastern side of the island, beach front view room and attentive staff!
Cons: Add air fresheners in the room to remedy moldy, musty smell. Bed sheets felt worn and rough. Traffic light needed at entrance of complex.
Location: Perfect location. Everything is much closer than you may think it is.
Stayed at Aston Islander on the Beach for six days and seven nights during our first trip to Kauai. Aston is centrally located on the East side of Kauai with a gorgeous beachfront view perfect for sunbathing or just taking in the view but the sand is very difficult to walk on so no long strolls on this beach. We had a ground floor room with a patio where we enjoyed our morning coffee while watching the sunrise each day. Our welcome package included a free DVD rental and coupons for a free cup of coffee each day at Imua Coffee Roasters and a discount at nearby restaurants. Aston offers laundry facilities on site. Get key access from the front desk. Make sure to return the laundry key when you're done or you may be charged a $25 late return fee. Good customer service by Aston Islander staff: When opening the sliding glass door upon arrival, the handle broke off. Contacted front desk and they dispatched maintenance to repair it immediately. Poolside bartenders were equally attentive and pleasant. Good restaurants within walking distance. The Lava Lava Beach Club restaurant next door is a great place for breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks. Had the best Poke w/ Taro chips there. Poke at the Sleeping Giant Grill in the same complex is also pretty good. Trees Lounge is also a nice watering hole w/ live music and grub. Overall, Aston Islander on the beach is a good, clean, economical option to stay at while on Kauai.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Good price, great location. Friendly staff.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Quiet, I like d the location. On the beach. Price.
Cons: Would like a kettle to boil water.
Location: It's the middle of the island driving-wise so not too far from anything. Shops of all sorts nearby. Bike/walk path on the beach nearby.
Quick check in. Room was decent, there were a few things unplugged in the room. I had to get the TV and the bedside lamp plugged in. The hotel is older but has been update. Air conditioning worked well and was very quiet which can be a big deal for light sleepers. I liked being right on the beach. Parking was easy but all the spots are narrow, I noticed this all over the island.