Ratings based on 2,274 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Beautiful, clean hotel in a convenient location. Wonderful, spacious room with balcony. Very good and reasonable range of cafes / restaurants on site. Vouchers for a free coffee or free mango lemonade per day were given at check in - coffee was good, mango lemonade was awful. It would be better not to offer it at all. Our first experience with the concierge on that day (Doug) left us feeling like we were being pushed into buying the tours that he had decided were the best without answering questions we had about the various options / other companies. Our second experience was with Teena who was more than helpful providing plenty of information and listening to what we wanted. Would recommend the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gilbert, AZ

Perfect for sunrises in paradise

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Great location on the beach and clean, quiet hotel within a couple miles of pretty much everything. 10 minutes to Anahola, one of our favorite beaches, and restaurants and walking / biking paths just a few minute walk away. Rooms were always clean and the hot tub was nice and hot every night after a long day of exploring. Staff was always very pleasant and helpful. Loved the entire experience and would highly recommend the hotel and location to travelers on their honeymoon or with kids.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel by the beach

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Nice enough hotel. Exterior looks like it needs a bit of work. Bed was comfy but the couch smelled like a wet dog. Bathroom was ok and kitchenette was functional. The staff was very friendly and efficient. Price was reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Aston Islander First Time Hawaii

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: What I liked best about the hotel was how it was arranged with various separate buildings and my view of and the sound of the ocean.
Cons: More parking close to the hotel.
Location: Location is right on the ocean. There is shopping and a few eating places within walking distance. Kapaa is very close with additional shopping.
Aston Islander on the Beach was all it was described as being. Easy access from the airport in Lihue. It is close to everything I was planning on doing. That included tours and my own independent adventures. My room had a view of the ocean and I left the door to the lanai open every night to hear the relaxing sound of the ocean. I loved the beautiful sunrises and the starry nights. The grounds are kept up beautifully. The staff were all helpful and friendly. I did appreciate the presence of a security officer on the grounds. Having a refrigerator and microwave in the room with some dishes, was a real advantage. The only downside to the hotel is the parking. While space is worked out with the shopping center, it still is an inconvenience to not have enough spaces. If ever I return to Kauai, I will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Excellent hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: On the beach. Clean and in a good location.
Cons: No exercise facilities.
Location: Close to Kapaa - restaurants and small city.
Nice well built hotel right on the beach. Excellent location with nearby markets and restaurants. Attentive staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel mid-island

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Beautiful grounds...great location to go south or north. Lots of good restaurants nearby. Great coffee shop and 2 restaurants 1 minute walk.
Cons: Hot tub small and usually occupied by a group.
Location: Town of Kapaa very nice with restaurants and shops...everything you need nearby.
Room very comfortable, clean with microwave and refrigerator...balcony with view of ocean was especially pleasant. No swimming on beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cowichan Bay, BC

Nice, clean hotel on beach in central location

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: It was right on the beach. We arrived at 11 PM local time so the short 10 minute drive from the airport was great after we landed. room was clean.
Cons: Not the hotel's issue really but having more places to eat close by would be good. Room was dated but clean and comfortable.Shower needs to be updated
Excellent location, on the beach central to all sites and close to airport which was important with late night arrival. Staff were very freindly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, comfortable motel with great views.

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Has many conveniences close by- shopping, beach, restaurants, views, tiki bar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fallon, Nevada

Great place!

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Everything, hot tub activation switch would be better as a dial.
Cons: The hot tub activation switch and time the hot tub jets are activated.
Location: Right on the beach! Lots of places to explore! Lots of shops to shop in! Lots of great places to eat!
This is a great place to stay! One little thing that is kind of a bummer. I knocked 1 star off of facilities for this. The hot tub switch is temperamental. Sign says to push only once. Pushing it once, may or may not activate it. When it is, it goes for about 3 minutes maybe 4. It would be much better if you can turn a dial and set the time. The water in the tub is a great temperature!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Convenient to restaurants, stores

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Very nice. Small, quiet. Staff is fantastic. Buildings dated. Bar at pool nice but very high prices.