Ratings based on 2,218 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Great hotel by the beach

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: the location, the beach, the room, the staff, the free parking,the free internet (I guess it is free even though it has a nightly resort fee)
Cons: the bed is a bit uncomfortable and you have stairs to lug up your luggage on upper floors but those seem minor compared to what could be wrong
Location: to us it seemed central to everything, the beach is right there, the Coconut Market Place is just steps away but under construction
The location is great. You seem to be half way to all the things on the island in either direction and very close to anything you may need. The beach is wonderful in front of the hotel with amazing sunrise views. We had another amazing trip to Kauai and it was our 5th time at this hotel. We love it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DFW, Texas

Nice resort, on the ocean

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Buildings nicely spread out so you don't feel overcrowded
Cons: More parking
Location: Nicely situated to center of island so you can go to south shore or north shore easily,
Overall, it is a nice resort, buildings aren't too close together so you don't feel as crowded. Parking is an issue, if you go out for the day and get back around 9pm, be prepared to park down the street or in the mall area behind the resort. They have a shuttle if you don't want a car and several activities can pick you up. The pool is pretty small for a complex of this size. But, you have the ocean so don't really need it. Landscaping is well kept. Overall, nice place for the money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

right on the beach in a central location

Posted Sep 15, 2016
No complaints with the hotel other than crowded parking lot that is due to other businesses , I've stayed twice and will stay again. I would give a five star if they offered food and brought back the tiki bar coffee in the am.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Aston Islander on the Beach - EXCELLENT PLACE!

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: clean, comfortable, quiet, accessible to nearby shops within walking distance.
Cons: The Wifi could use a little speed boost, but other than that, the place was great.
A very clean hotel. Staff was very courteous, helpful, and kind. Close to the beach and shops.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Comfortable hotel on beach

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Had an oceanfront room. Enjoyed hearing the ocean. Grounds were pretty and well maintained. Staff was friendly. Enjoyed the coupons each day for coffee and a pastry at the coffee shop on the grounds. Would stay there again - was centrally located on island.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Average at Best

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Training of staff and housekeeping, courtesy to guests, parking availability.
Hotel was average. There was nothing spectacular about the rooms or the facilities. My biggest complaint happened on day 3 when housekeeping had yet to make an appearance in my room. I checked with the front desk, they asked for my room number and said they'd send them right up. I went for a walk and about an hour later went back to the room to find it in the same condition I had left it. Back to the front desk. They strictly told me that I had given them the wrong room number. When I insisted that I didn't, the response I received was almost argumentative. They swiped my room key to find that I was, indeed, giving them the correct room number. Come to find out, they had checked me into one room but wrote down and gave me keys to a different room. I asked if I could just have clean towels so I could take a shower. They handed some over the counter. Fast forward another hour - housekeeping shows up just after my shower to inform me that they're ready to clean my room and it has to be now because they're leaving soon. Never mind. Cassie at the front desk then called to inform me that they'd be waiving the resort fee for my stay. Next day at checkout - Tiffany told me they were only waiving part of the fees for my stay. I explained the situation and mentioned the new cockroach that I found next to the bed the night before. From that moment on she was unpleasant, unapologetic, and rather rude about the situation. Needless to say, I won't be going back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

Nice Oceanfront Hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Spacious room and having the comforts of home right in your hotel room.
Cons: Since there are no restaurants w/in the hotel, a walkway to the adjoining property for easy access to the Lava Lava Restaurant would be nice.
Location: There weren't much to do nearby unless you enjoy relaxing on the beach.
We enjoyed a two-night stay this hotel. Everything in the room was SPACIOUS! There were lots of storage space which included a very spacious closet. The room and bathroom were definitely more spacious than any standard hotel room. The room had all the comforts of home: a small microwave oven, a small refrig., a Keurig coffee maker (w/ Keurig cups of coffee & condiments), dishes & glassware, a small sink w/ dish washing liquid, a dish rack & a dishtowel. Also had an ironing board and hairdryer. The only drawback was there were no restaurants w/in the hotel. Also, I was a bit surprised to be charged a resort fee of $20 per day at the time of check out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Friendly Staff. Clean room. Great location.

Posted Aug 25, 2016
We only stayed for one night before hiking Kalalau trail for a week. Impressions - good all round affordable hotel. I would go back. Probably had much more to offer that I didnt have time to enjoy. Like the barbeque at the pool. Safeway almost right accross the street. Seared Ahi would have been on the menu for sure. Great location! Nicest and most helpfull lady helped us with checkin. Jennifer!!! Thank you for your hospitality, big smile and happy personality. Laurie... Thank you for the clean room. Sorry that I had no american cash to leave a tip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Forest, CA

Great place with ocean view rooms, very nice staff

Posted Aug 20, 2016
We stayed one night at this hotel and we had a great experience. We got an ocean facing room and it was really nice. The buildings themselves are well maintained as well as the grounds. There is a nice pool with plenty of space to relax.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Resort Hotel close to airport

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Close to airport and central to access tourist areas.
Cons: Sound proofing between rooms. People in next room could be heard arguing, banging around on 2 out of 3 nights of my stay. Their behaviour????
Location: Close all activities. Coconut Plaza being reconstructed, so not much happening there. Lava beach club restaurant/bar next door.
An all round nice resort hotel. All staff encounted were friendly and helpful.A nice pool area with outdoor bar.