Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Great location

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Location and facilities. Great for kids.
Easy drive to Poipu or North Shore. Love Kapaa town, the local restaurants, especially Ono's and shops.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on CheapTickets
I like the location of the hotel. Easily access to market and restaurant. It would be nice if there is a laundry room and air conditioning in the house.
2 out of 5
by Buena

WARNING - None of these units have air.

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived and found a nice size 2 bedroom condo just as expected. The problem was that the rooms were warm. When I went to adjust the air conditioner temperature, I found that the rooms were not air conditioned. There were other units at Pono Kai. I called immediately to get moved to the air conditioned unit we expected, only to find the it was after the phones were on night service. We stayed in the unit overnight. The service didn't call us back at 8am as promised. When we called them, they stated that they didn't manage any air conditioned units. On our own, we found another facility that was wonderful at the same price. The CRH management did refund all but the one night with the cleaning fee rather than the policy 50% penalty. We still felt tricked in to staying there. Let me state that the Pono Kai Resort was nice and the staff at the resort were as great, but the Hotel.com booking was through a separate management service. I would not go back through the CRH Pono Kai. WARNING - None of their units have air conditioning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Disappointed in Paradise

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The ocean view from my room was beautiful. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful. Parking was plentiful. Pool area was ok.
Location: Walk to town of Kapaa.
After a 10-hour flight, I arrived to check in at the Pono Kai. I was confused when I was advised that I had to call CRH for a code to my room. I soon realized that my room reservation was not with Pono Kai as expected, but with a rental agency. Upon arrival, my room had no A/C. I called the front desk who advised me to call CRH. Any issues or requests had to go through CRH. Pono Kai was unable to assist since this was a private rental. Very frustrating. I called CRH on Saturday evening and spoke to an individual on another island (since CRH Kauai was already closed). The next day, CRH had no rooms available with A/C. I spoke to (4) Expedia agents who were unable to find me a comparable room on the island (1-bedroom with kitchen with A/C). CRH did not suggest bringing over fans. I had to keep our lanai screen door open while sleeping for the breeze and the lock on the screen door was broken so anyone could have walked in. We had no towel service, no cleaning service, and no air conditioning for the 9 days. It was expected that I wash our towels in a coin operated laundry at the end of the hall used by all in the building. Had I known this before our stay, we would have stayed elsewhere. For the price we paid, we could have stayed in a much nicer place with housekeeping services, clean towels, and A/C. The hotel staff that we encountered were not very friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bait and Switch

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Nice grounds - nice beach behind it.
Cons: If they are going to manage other units those units should be treated EXACTLY the same as their own units.
If I had actually stayed at Pono Kai this might be different - but we were a victim of Expedia's new Bait and Switch - we stayed in a condo unit at the end of Pono Kai, managed by Pono Kai, but not part of Pono Kai. Something, we were not informed about before hand. We had to call a special # for check-in, or if we wanted towels, or if we wanted the terrible air conditioner fixed - it never, ever cooled the bedroom. No laundry facilities in the room - had to pay to use very poor laundry facilities in a small cubbyhole down the path. In addition, as it is a private unit - bottom floor - it was really, really noisy - apparently the upper floors had no carpeting. We heard loud footsteps, moving furniture, arguments, etc. almost every night. Not one good nights sleep the whole time.
5 out of 5
by Robin from Morgan Hill

Awesome stay

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
I love this resort! It's perfectly located, close to stores, restaurants and grocery stores. This is the 5th time we've stayed here and it's usually for about 15 days.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2016 by CondominiumRentalsHawaii, Hotel Management
Wow, that is great you have stayed 5 times! We agree the Pono Kai Resort is a fun property close to everything. There are also a lot of fun activities right on property like volleyball, croquet, the pool, paved walking path, etc.! We look forward to seeing you back for stay #6!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location with private owner

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Cons: Private owners cleaning crew could do their job properly!
this for us was a very nice place which provided the calm relaxing peaceful Kauai experience we wanted. The unit didn't have a ocean view but to us that wasn't necessary . Pool and spa where right there and that's what we wanted. The unit just was neglected on the cleaning side. Furniture was nicer than it was in the past at other units.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2016 by CondominiumRentalsHawaii, Hotel Management
Mahalo for your review. Glad to hear you found the condo to be a very nice place that was relaxing for your Kauai vacation. Regarding the cleaning, we wish you would have let our management company know the you did not feel the cleaning was up to your standards, and we could have sent the cleaner back to your condo to address any of the concerns.
3 out of 5
by Roger Walters from Pono kai,Kapaa HI

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
It was very hot and humid during our visit. There was NO AIR CONDITIONING in any of the rooms. It was miserable sleeping conditions with even having all the windows open. Luckily for us friends were staying at their timeshare at the same resort and all their units did have air, so we slept on their fold out couches. We used our rooms only to shower. waste of good money. The resort itself had top of the line improvements like granite tops etc but without air its just a waste
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2016 by CondominiumRentalsHawaii, Hotel Management
Mahalo for your review. Sorry for any confusion regarding A/C. We doubled checked our property description on Expedia to assure it does not mention there is A/C. Only a few of the condos we manage at the Pono Kai Resort do indeed have A/C. Should heat be an issue, we can bring additional portable fans if needed. We hope to see you back at the Pono Kai Resort again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

広くて良かった

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: 買い物に便利
Cons: 洗濯機が部屋の中にあればもっと良かった
Location: 良かった
洗濯機が部屋の中にあればもっと良かった。 眺めも良かった。 クーラーが無かったのであればもっと良かった。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, beautiful sandy beach.

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Beach, pool, hot tub, and close to town.
Cons: Less roosters
Location: bike rentals next door, beach and pathway out front, shopping and resturants right there, close to safeway and longs.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2016 by CondominiumRentalsHawaii, Hotel Management
Mahalo for your review of the Pono Kai Resort. I am sure if you got the chance to explore the paved oceanfront pathway, but it is great for going on jogs or riding a bike along!