Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from so cal

can't complain too much in Kauai

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Location: Foodland grocery. Jojo shave ice is sooooo good
We arrived at the property after 5pm, and this is the only management that is open from only 3pm-4pm. It was indicated, so that was fine. We retrieved the key to our condo from a lock box, which was easy. I booked 2 two Bedroom condos, when we arrived, only one was available. Jaime the Manager from Castle Resort which is co managing Pali Ke Kua (which is the name of the building) was polite, but questioned me several times about which building I reserved, I said Pali Ke Kua, because Expedia, provided pictures of the rooms, kitchen, pool, and layout of the condo. Which is the property I paid for. She also mentioned only one of the 2 bedroom condo reservation was provided by Expedia. I gave her my confirmation number and had her check again. We had 9 in our party, and we all proceeded to the 1st condo, with in 10-15 min Jamie called right away with the second condo. It was actually a very clean and beautiful 1 bedroom and a loft. It was a wonderful 5 night stay until I questioned my bill. "Will I be getting a discount since I paid for a 2 bedroom?" The answer was No. I called Expedia, they couldn't do too much too help but instead gave me $25 credit. I can't complain too much in Kauai.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver

Posted Feb 29, 2016
This is a wonderful place to stay with the best view!
4 out of 5
by Micah V.

Great place to enjoy

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Orbitz
Problem was lack of family friendly activity with little kids and the area, while not run-down, is not lively.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京

静かで自然豊かなリゾートです

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: 環境は非常に気に入っています。
Cons: 部屋により設備が多少違うことは了解していますが、さすがにハワイでエアコンがないのは辛いかと思います。事前にエアコンの有無を知らせていただけたらと思いました。
Location: ワイキキと比べてしまうとびっくりするほど田舎ですが、静かで自然を好む方には良いかと思います。リフェ空港から車で40分ほど、近くにショッピングセンターが一つしかありませんので、洒落たものは皆無です。ゴルフ場は車で5分ほど。
このコンドミニアムは今回で3回目です。ゴルフ場にも近く自然豊かで静かな環境がとても気に入っているのですが、今回の部屋はエアコンがなく、9月に入ったとはいえ日中はかなり暑いですし、夜は寝苦しく辛かったです。(当方、どちらかというと暑さに強い方なのですが)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Telluride, Co.

Superb location - Unit needed upgrades

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Location is superb. Request ocean view. We originally had unit closest to road and chose to upgrade to ocean view. Good move.
Cons: Condition of unit was not great. Cabinets in need of upgrade. Some of the units were being remodeled which would increase rates.
Location: Near St Regis, beaches, 5 min to good grocery store, 15 min to Hanalei and north coast beaches. Zip line, snorkel, boogie bd'ing all close.
The location can't be beat. Cliffside, walkout units looking down to the ocean, turtles feeding, view of Hanalei Bay and north coast, sunsets, etc. Quiet, birds, paved path to private beach hard to find in this area. Beach, a mix of volcanic black rock and sand, is actually nicer than the St Regis one, which is public. Very good restaurant on site.
5 out of 5
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Not actually a hotel or called the "Castle"

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Good location, private
Cons: Congeniality of the staff, appropriate signage, more parking
Location: Mostly outdoor activities: golf, hiking, beach going, surfing
So, if you're looking for a condo rental with (extremely) spotty wifi, cool breezes and a (mainly) quiet atmosphere, this is a good place for you. This place is not actually called the "Castle," and you will not find this name on any sign. Rather, "Pali Ke Kua" is the name you'll see on the signs. The first building on the right is where the office is, which is also not obvious. Because of the spotty wifi, their computer may not communicate with your credit card company, then they'll suggest your card isn't working (I called my company and there were no declines on my card, but the woman made me feel like a delinquent). The unit itself was comfortable and spacious, and tended to be very quiet other than occasional early morning groundskeeping. There is no air conditioning, which is mostly ok due to strong breezes, though the upstairs was a bit too warm at times. There is also an unpublished $125-150 cleaning fee. There's a private beach with a very steep path to it which can make you feel like you're on a private island. We enjoyed our time in the area, but if we return, we'll stay somewhere else, as the headaches just weren't worth it.
4 out of 5
by Stephen S.

Condo not a hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Orbitz
The location and view were spectacular. The condo was nicely equipped. It could use some updating but was certainly more than adequate for our needs and was affordable. There is no signage for the Castle at Princeville which makes it extremely difficult to find. Much driving around. Please be aware this is not a serviced hotel. It is a Condominium with no service.
5 out of 5
by Mark from El Dorado Hills

Great Views of Honalea Bay

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels
What a great place to stay. The view of the lanai was spectacular. We could see all of Honalea Bay and a beautiful sunset every night. I would definitely go back and stay for a longer time. Had a hard time finding the place initially because the name had change from Castle to Hali Kae (I believe that was the name). They had merged the two condo units. Good thing we had the address. Other than that the place was great@!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sweden

Härlig lägenhet med fantastigt läge och stora ytor

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Privata lägenheter som hyrs ut via Castel resort, och har olika möblering beroende på ägare. Vår hade allt man behövde, inklusive tvättmaskin o torktumlare. Egen access till beach.