Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Beautiful place!

Posted Jan 7, 2017
This is a great find! The location is perfect: inside a park so there are no other buildings nearby; right on the most family friendly beach with a wonderful beach pool inside a rock wall (fantastic for snorkeling!). Close to shops in Kapaa so groceries are a breeze. Very quiet, very nice, very well maintained. We're big tennis players so the onsite court was a huge bonus! Got the court whenever we wanted. I read some reviews that were negative and I honestly think those people are deluded. If you go into this thinking you're getting a hotel room with daily room service and AC, then yea, I can see being *slightly* disappointed. But if you think of this as a super reasonable short term rental in paradise, then it's the best. As for AC--c'mon: you're in a place where the temp rarely gets above 85 and a gentle breeze blows constantly. If you can't be happy at Kaha Lani, you probably can't be happy anywhere!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dexter, MI

Stay for the view and location, only.

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Location. Direct oceanfront. View.
Cons: Room interiors, but each unit is privately owned.
Location: Everything on Kauai.
This was our second week long stay at this property. The condo you get is a complete flip of a coin as to if it will be fairly decent or some sort of crazy lady extremely out of date scripture covered dump. i didn't know that you could even buy a bed smaller than a twin, but it turns out you can. The 'queen' size bed in the master was definitely not. My sense is that when they furnished the place forty years ago the bed size standards were smaller? Anyways... none of the units have air conditioning, and it admittedly isn't always needed here since you are right on the ocean. However, when the air is extremely hot and humid and having the windows open causes rain to fly through the unit, some air would be quite nice. The bathrooms were tiny and out of date, as well as the kitchen. This was basically a before episode of Fixer Upper or similiar. The building staff and security were very professional and nice, I have no complaints with them whatsoever. The cleaners did a very lazy job and only cleaned on one of the two promised days. They forgot to run the dishwasher. Sand was still everywhere. We had an in ident one night where at eleven pm my sister saw a man visiting each first floor patio peering into windows. She tried calling the police but her phone lost connection. She reported it to the security guy the next day and he saw the man as well but said that he just disappeared bcak into the night. I feel as though the condo place should have notified everyone at that point...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Except for the roosters in the early morning, who seem to be everywhere on the island, the place was quiet and the location is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice rooms. Great view on sunrise every morning.

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Clean, private, quiet place to stay on your vacation. Love having our own kitchen. Great way to start the day with breakfast on the balcony watching sunrise with my family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average condo with view of beach

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Out of the way location
Cons: They are doing a good job of renovating an older building
Lydgate state park was a real plus for swimming. Condo is average; clean; quiet; We would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Unit 229, Second floor, Oceanview Balcony.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
No AC, not needed.Ocean breeze keeps the suite cool.Doesn't take long for it to cool off after being locked up.Recommend bringing in the lounge covers at night.Tended to lightly rain at some point during the night.There is a front deck if the back is too breezy for eating outside.We enjoyed both.Laundry is fast & reasonable.Resort is located on the beach next to Lyngate Park, bonus! Beautiful walk in both directions.Swim in the ocean or the on site pool.Location to explore the island is perfect too.Fast,easy access to the highway.Go north, south or across the island.One direction a day.Recommended by the staff was the Kilohana Plantation experience (train & luau).Good show and educational.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madrid, Spain

Not awful but consider other options first

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: The bed
Cons: Unengaged service
Location: Isolated. Nothing except a running park and a place to fish. Beach somewhere nearby you can use
Reasonably furnished property, quite isolated from any businesses (you need this if you want anything), no air con, no on-site food, not sure if any other amenities, no usable beach right at property, front desk staff detached/frosty/not very helpful (night security guard for late checkin was great). Not a 5-star "aloha" experience for sure compared to other island hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calif

awesome

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: 0
Location: Close to shops,restaurants and all tours.
We did not miss the lack of a/c. Trade winds were enough. Large master,I loved two restrooms to accomadate everyone. Spacious,clean and loved the location. Our room faced the ocean and couldn't ask for more. Staff friendly and courteous .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Thousand Oaks, CA

Very nice, well-kept property. Close to beaches,

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: Nice and quiet location. Beaches, golf course and restaurants nearby.
Our room was nicely kept and well-supplied. It was showing it's age a bit but not a concern. No A/C, but the trade winds kept it quite comfortable. Had housekeeping once for the week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 30, 2016
The location is great, the staff was friendly and very helpful. The views are amazing, both ocean and mountains. Great location, near a park with protected swimming. We had a great experience here and will return again.