Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston,ma

Great hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Place is right on the shore, has self parking, full kitchen with pots, pans, dishes etc. it also has a supermarket right across the street which is definitely cool if you want to save some cash by just cooking at the hotel room. Got upgraded to an ocean view and was able to see a whale breach! No ac in the unit we had but it maintained cool at all points of the day with windows open. Nice balcony and staff stored our luggage for us on our last day because we had a late flight out and we wanted to enjoy the day without worrying about our luggage getting stolen. Great experience overall, thanks! Do yourself a favor get the ocean view, you won't regret it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice hotel. Highly recommend!

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Excellent value. Clean and spacious. Well equipped kitchen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review! We appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasantly surprised. Not much to look at from the outside. Inside was a different story. Newly renovated, modern looking. Centrally located. Close to shops and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review! We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again on your next visit. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Mahalo for your review!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Not good for swimming.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Cons: I sign telling where the front desk or registration is would help.
It was hard to find the front desk which is down the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience that you encountered. Normally, it states on the Expedia confirmation that the front desk and registration is down the street. We will follow up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Very Central Hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Wotif
On check had problems as they don't have a check in at the site you need to go down to hotels to actually check in, lucky a guy directed us there otherwise would of been in trouble! Otherwise very central to the north and west part of the island and good facilities nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. We appreciate your comments and apologize for the check in inconvenience that you encountered.
4 out of 5
by Xing from San Diego

Roomy condominium, inconvenient management.

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
The sign of the hotel is not obvious, while the front office located in another building two blocks away. It took us 30min to finally figure out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by Mokihana GM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences that you encountered. I will be following up on your issues based on the limited information that I have. We hope that you were otherwise able to enjoy your time on Kauai. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss General Manager
3 out of 5
by michael from Murrieta

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Was ok... not the best. Had to much rocks at the beach and u can't go swimming without rocks every were. Also room needed to lie to paper and not stocked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by Mokihana GM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. Without additional information it's difficult for me to follow up as it pertains to your unit not being stocked with toilet paper. Also, each unit is individually owned and several management companies manage units at Kauai Kailani. Although, swimming on the beach may not be ideal, a few expansive beaches are nearby. Unfortunately, several properties along the Coconut Coast have limited shorelines for swimming. We hope that these guests were otherwise able to enjoy their time on Kauai. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No A/C

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
The condo is centrally located. As we walked up with heavy luggage to the third floor, the floor was held by plywood, we felt we could fall at anytime. The room was gorgeous and accommodating with a kitchenette; the bed was comfortable as well, but there is no A/C. The room was about 100 degrees and we had all the windows opened. We couldn't sleep naked cause the room's window is on the common hallway where everyone pass by and stare at you. There is another tempered glass window in the bathroom that doesn't provide privacy. That night we booked in another hotel and left. It felt like a big waste of money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by Mokihana GM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences that you encountered. We are currently in the process of addressing some items throughout the Kauai Kailani property that will enhance the guest and owner experience. Like many condominium properties throughout Kauai, not all units have air conditioning. Typically, the tradewinds that blow frequently cool things off significantly. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and we hope that you were otherwise able to enjoy your time on Kauai. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expedia screwed up and did not book hotel.

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: Large well-equipped room. Clean. Easy access to both north and south.
Even though Expedia sent me a confirmation # they did not send it to the hotel and the hotel could not book me in. It was a huge issue as we were completely exhausted and between discussions with the desk staff and circular conversations with Expedia staff (getting nowhere) we became completely exhausted. Wouldn't recommend it!!! When we did get into the room it was a very pleasant surprise, as the lobby was shabby, but the unit was large and well-equipped.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2016 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. We're sorry to hear that you had an issue with Expedia but it appears that you had an enjoyable time once you arrived at the property. We hope to see you again on your next visit. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss