Ratings based on 496 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good experience, nice beach in winter

Posted Dec 23, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay here. The location, beach, grounds and room were all nice. We stayed at two other hotels during our visit to Hawaii and this was our favorite. If we come back to Kauai we would want to stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Replace or remove carpet
Location: Beach, shopping, shave ice
Good enough, had everything you need, was a bit dated though
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2016
The building was too closed to a noise spot which could be heard from the terrace otherwise was ok even if not with a great view.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

OK place to stay I guess

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach.
Cons: Customer service, towel policy, being up-front about extra cleaning charges.
Location: Near to the beach, near to some shopping centers, near to some restaurants, near to Koloa Town. Really great location.
None of the issues with this hotel were egregious, but they are highlighted more because we just stayed at the Bali Hai Villas in North Kauai (which were wonderful). First thing: upon check-in I was hit with a $125 cleaning charge. I was staying there for 3 nights. If it was just built in to the room cost I might have chosen a different hotel based on price. Second thing: they have a beach towel collateral system that seems over the top. If you want a beach towel, you need to go to the beach activities center (can't even get them at the front desk) and you have to give them back the towel to get your towel card back. Third thing: room was totally outdated, none of the furniture was comfortable (especially the bed). Fourth: staff was just not friendly. Went to exchange my towel cards for some towels and they snapped at me like they were annoyed I was asking, saying they were out of towels and more would be arriving soon. At 10 am on a Sunday. How are you already out of towels at 10 am on a Sunday? And if you're going to make me exchange these cards for towels, be good about having the towels on hand. Fifth: my receipt for the extra charge said Room XXX (Dirty). I'm not sure what that meant, but it shouldn't be on their customer receipt. I thought this was a 4-star hotel based on the ratings. It is not. It is close to the beach, and that's it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Nice condo on the beach with great amenities!

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Great for families. Right on the beach with access to a pool. Free towel and chairs. Full kitchen....great for families. Furnishings pretty dated which was the only real drawback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Great beach location. Our unit did not have an elevator, which would have been helpful with our luggage. There was a sticky mouse trap left out on our kitchen floor, which wasn't too pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. Daily maid service was great!
Cons: Our condo was far from the beach and no ocean view. Also, too near a busy road.
Location: Great location nears shops, restaurants and beaches.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NAPA, United States of America

Old Hawaiian feel

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: We have stayed once before and love the older Hawaiian feel of this condo resort . We wii be back again
Cons: Condo resort was built late 70's , most of the condo's are privately owned so some are really nice and some need to be up dated
Location: You are on south end of inland which is the the dryer side and in the middle of poipu
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

It's okay.

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Pretty area.
Cons: Cleanliness, AC, modernize furniture.
Location: The Poipu shopping village is right across the street w/ restaurants and shopping.
Pros: There's a kitchen, w/ adequate dishware. Relatively close to the beach, but beach access for the facility is very small and narrow. Very convenient to shopping, restaurants. The grounds are pretty - two lovely gardens to walk through. The bed was okay if you like a soft bed. Cons: I killed three cockroaches during my stay, and one millipede. Housekeeping services are minimal, and sporadic. The shower was moldy. There's a vacuum in the room so you can vacuum yourself. They charge a 120 dollar fee to clean the room after you leave. There's no acoustical privacy, because there's no glass in the windows. It's all louvered, because there's no air conditioning. Breeze is minimal, making the room quite hot. The bedroom faces the walk way that connects all the apartments, so either close your louvers for privacy, or keep them open for air. Since our place was on the ground floor, we also had to keep our sliding door closed at night for safety. I would not do Kaua'i again without air conditioning. The rooms were small, the furniture too large and clunky. Also - only access to the rooms via stairs - rather than ramps or elevators. with a baby and a stroller, this was quite cumbersome and exhausting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

THE CASTLE! LOVE IT!

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Convenient yet private
Our 2ND time we've stayed at Castle. 2005 & 2016. LOVE it!