Ratings based on 334 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Cheap and exceptionally cheerful

Posted Feb 10, 2016
If you want a nice simple room that's really clean and comfortable then this is where you want to be. Centrally located on the islands east coast. You will need a car to make the most of your stay on the island. We only had mopeds but still had so much to do and see within 30 minutes of us. The perfect base for exploring and enjoying the island. Nice resturants near by. Oasis is a must! The foodland across the way is really handy for getting the packed lunch in the morning and the evening beers. I can't wait to go back!:)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice hotel for an evening's rest

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Convenient and price point, comfortable room.
I needed a place to stay for just one evening before going on with the rest of my trip. I arrived on a late flight and the hotel staff gave me very clear instructions to check into my room after the regular check-in hours. The hotel room was clean with a beautiful ocean view. There is no ac but I didn't expect it nor need it with the lanai screen door open. I slept comfortable and had plenty of space. This was a great place to get a good night's rest, especially for the price. It was quiet and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2016 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again on your next visit. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marysville, MI

Nice view of ocean, but no swimmable beach

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Hotel was old & run down. No TV or AC. Mgmnt said in previous replies to reviews they would be renovating starting JAN 2016. That's a crock. No renovations were even started Jan 28
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Location is Everything

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Cons: Location on the beach.
Location: It's Kauai! You can find things to do everywhere.
Booked our three nights via AARP/Expedia. Site said there was no deposit or prepay, but the hotel did take a one night deposit. When I called them, they said they couldn't help that there was wrong info on the AARP/Expedia site. When I called AARP/Expedia, no resolution was offered other than to cancel the reservation. I was concerned about the sketchy reviews throughout social media. When I spoke with the hotel, they said they would have completed a full remodel to include adding TV's (something the reviews mentioned as a shortcoming of this hotel). But when we arrived, nothing had been done to update or remodel the place. Additionally, when we checked in, we had no hot water for showers. When I called down to the front desk, she was surprised. After taking a cold shower, my husband realized the following day that the water pipes were backwards and the hot spigot was cold and the cold was hot. You'd have thought that the hotel staff would have known this since it was obviously this way forever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooks,Alberta,Canada

Rocked to sleep by the waves

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: We arrived late in the evening and were greeted by the night security and they were very helpful and friendly
Cons: Could have a queen bed
Location: This hotel is situated about the centre of the island and would be a great base for all activities
We only stayed one night before we checked into our cond but the room was clean great view a little dated but overall a good experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2016 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again on your next visit. Later this year, our property will undergo a renovation that will address our rooms and common areas. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Old & moldy

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Old ,moldy & delapdated ,sliding door broken, near rooster farm too noisy, no A/C , no fan, hot in the room,no phone no wi-fi in the room. Front desk only open certain hrs.kitchenett but no microwave cutting board dirty. We did not sleep nor rest the whole night. following day @0845 we moved out day. Bad experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2016 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. All of our travel partners including Expedia are aware that our property has no A/C, no wifi in the rooms, and no phone in the rooms. Our front desk is open from 7:30a-9pm daily. Anyone arriving after hours is checked in by our onsite security. We apologize if this information was not communicated to these guests prior to booking. I will be following up with Expedia on the above issues. Lastly, Mokihana is scheduled to undergo a renovation later this year that will address our rooms and common areas. We hope these guests were otherwise able to enjoy their time on Kauai.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good price and present experience

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Low price and customer friendly staff.
Cons: Old property and rooms need some improvement in terms of aesthetics.
Location: Couple of beaches, market place for tourists, waterfall, boat club, Wailua river, state park, and few scenic view points. Beautiful Hindu monastery.
We came here for our first anniversary this is a decent place and its right on the beach. Its a very old place but the good thing is the rooms are clean and the property is well maintained. There is a lawn, pool and barbecue place on the property. There is a restaurant on the property and across the street there is a grocery store and few restaurants (Local & Indian cuisine) and Mc Donald's. Within 15 mins driving distance there are a couple of beaches, few tourists spots and a local market for tourists. If you are looking for a luxury experience this not the place. For people on budget who are looking for a safe and a decent place this is a good option.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2016 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. As you've stated, our property is older and we don't provide luxury amenities. With that being said, we are looking forward to our property renovation which is currently scheduled to begin later this year. Once completed, all rooms will have new beds, vanities, decor, wifi modems, and TV's amongst other things. We appreciate your patronage and we hope to see you again on your next visit. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint-Martin-Bellevue

hôtel accueillant et à côté de la plage.

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: La vue et l’accueil et le service de nettoyage qui passe chaque jours refaire les lits et changer les serviette.
Cons: Condition dans les studio pour faire la cuisine (plaque de cuisson ou micro-onde) et mettre la wifi dans les chambre.
Super séjour dans cette hôtel avec une vue magnifique et un personnel chaleureux. :) Le petit hic de ce séjour à été le manque d'une plaque de cuisson ou d'un micro-onde pour ce faire la cuisine dans le studio.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2016 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again on your next visit. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should be leveled.

Posted Jan 21, 2016
No TV, no phone, rusty, dated and awful. Front desk was closed when I checked in. No privacy and No AC. This hotel should be an embarrassment to Castle Resorts.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2016 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences that you encountered. All of our travel partners including Expedia are aware that Mokihana is an older property that has no TV's, no phones, and no wifi modems in the rooms. Our front desk has been open from 7:30a-9PM each day for years and all of our travel partners typically indicate this on their confirmations. If you arrive after 9pm we have our onsite security staff who checks our late arriving guests in. Later this year, our property will be undergoing a full renovation that will address our common areas, rooms, main lobby, wifi and TV in rooms, and much more. We hope that you were otherwise able to enjoy your time on Kauai. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pgh Pa

Room overlooking laundry.

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: The bed
Cons: Almost everything from the office to the rooms.
Location: Location is fine-close to shopping and there is the Bull Shed right their if you want high priced steak.
Our view was a falling apart laundry room. Everything needed upkeep. Screen doors do not slide and some are completely out of track. Everything is old and run-down. Murphy bed was comfortable .strong shower. For us to see the water we had to walk to the end of property and sit on falling-apart lounge chairs. Yes, the price is low but really not worth that. Spend a little more and get a comfortable place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2016 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. Later this year, our property will be undergoing a renovation that will address our common areas, rooms, and main lobby. We hope that you will give us another opportunity when our renovation is complete. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss General Manager