Ratings based on 2,118 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Beachfront hotel in Kauai

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: The grounds and landscaping were lovely.
Cons: There was a general lack of attention to detail in the housekeeping, restaurants, etc. Need to provide recycling bins.
Location: The location was midway between the major sites in Kauai. The nearby shops, etc. have seen better days.
I have stayed at many Courtyard by Marriot Hotels and generally find them comfortable, well located and reasonably priced. This hotel meets those standards with the addition of a beach and well landscaped grounds. However, it is also showing its age with very few outlets in the rooms, beat up furniture and aging bathrooms. The restaurants were ok; the wait staff was friendly but not well trained. We don't regret staying here, but hoped for better fro Marriott.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to big drugstore.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: the grounds and the staff
Location: The whole island of Kuaia is a big traffic mess.
I was sick from something I ate or drank in the hotel restaurant. Not pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McKinney, TX

Nice place for the price. Great manager.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort, friendly staff. Quiet. Lots of room.
Cons: Cleaning staff great, manager great. Front desk staff had waxy smiles and not particularly helpful. I think they could be more friendly.
Location: Good location, close to shopping and restaurant. Pretty water view, snorkeling, but not good for swimming due to rocks. Jogging path is good.
It's a very pretty place. It's centrally located with nice rooms, most with ocean view. Lovely pool, extensive menu, very comfortable. Lovely cleaning staff. Great theme drinks. We ate at the restaurant a lot and found the variety and quality of the food good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great location spoiled by mediocre room.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: ONLY the location.
Cons: Room design - especially bathroom
Location: Ocean-side location is excellent. Instead of hotel food, try either of two very good restaurants within 10 minutes drive.
The room we were given may have been designed to be suitably spacious for a handicapped, wheelchair-bound person, but it was problematic for anyone taller than four and a half feet. The tilt-down bathroom mirror smashes into the faucet if you are running water - and vice versa: If you turn on the faucet when the mirror is tilted down, you smash it into the mirror. You practically have to lie on the floor to lock or unlock the safe or use the refrigerator. The non-adjustable "desk" chair is so low that you type a little below neck level. Bathroom hooks and rails are at waist height. It would all make a very funny short movie if it weren't sadly true. There was no full-length mirror and only a single bathroom wash basin with no shelves and no hairdryer. Privacy is debatable unless you keep the room shuttered when there's a tent full of Luau celebrants outside. The hotel adds an unexpected "mandatory" DAILY SURCHARGE that entitles you to one or two "specialty" cocktails or mediocre house wine PER STAY(!) plus a few other meaningless perks that could have happily saved money. The whole thing feels a little like "assisted living" in an otherwise lovely locale. Staff, however, are excellent but probably have no clue what it's like to actually stay there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle Washington

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Morning self serve coffee and tea bar
Stayed 2/12-2/16. The hotel facility, cleanliness and staff were very nice, no complaints. The pool area was pleasant but the pool was a little cool to swim in, hot tub nice but at times crowded. The beach was ok for walking but not for swimming. The beach was also a little dirty, lots of small plastic pieces littered the beach. The restaurant was overpriced and for us hard to find something we liked. Local restaurants are a better choice for quality and cost. A plus was the self serve coffee bar setup in the bar area during the morning hours, only coffee and tea. The "courtyard" part of the Marriott is geared toward a business clientele. The hotel is close by town with lots of shopping and dinning though traffic can be challenging at times. If you like beautiful swimming beaches go to Maui, we love Maui. Kauai is beautiful for the mountains and hiking. Last comment the chickens and roosters are out of control they are everywhere and I mean everywhere even the hotel restaurant and pool area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Requested 2 queen beds, they gave us a king

Posted Feb 8, 2017
When they finally moved us, we were relocated to the first floor, and our view was a hideous green wall that blocked the ocean view. Then they set up white tents out our door for the luau. I had booked this hotel for November with my family but I have already cancelled
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great place for moderate budget.

Posted Jan 24, 2017
We enjoyed our stay and would come back. The rooms were well furnished and the beds comfortable. The balcony was a nice place to sit and relax. The beach was onsite and we were able to watch the sunrise every day. The only criticism I'd have is that there were ants in the rooms after a while, even if we didn't keep food. But it's wasn't a big deal and we were out most of the time. There's a Safeway, McDonalds and other supermarkets within walking distance and it's close to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good beach access, close to town

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Close to shoreline bike path, complementary coffee in the morning.
Location: 6 mile bike path along the beach close by.
Nice location and facilities. Asked for a king room but got a queen ADA room instead and were not able to move to better room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2017
One of the worst hotel i've ever been at. The room wasn't clean and so dark.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from saratoga, CA

Conviniently located closed to airport

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Cons: Front desk was not friendly compared to other Marriott resort hotels on the island. Room was small, deck was small.
Location: Easy shopping for supermarkets. Large items are available at Costco, Walmart and Macy's less than 10 miles away. Best activity was NaPali boat ride.
Easy access from Lihue AP. CVS is in walking distance. Safeway and Foodland are one mile away. No commercial coffee shop in the hotel complex, however, free coffee available in the morning. Starbucks is in the same area with Safeway. Room had a king size bed, although I have requested two double beds. Although I had Marriott Gold status, hotel front kept remind me as a second citizen since I booked through Expedia. Next time, I plans to book from the Marrott site.