Ratings based on 1,229 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Totally worth the money - great, resort like

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: The staff and facilities are great. The restaurants are great and they have so much included in the price.
Cons: we were annoyed that our room smelled like burning rubber and when we mentioned it twice nothing was done. Our fridge was broken so we blame that
Location: Poipu is a great location for excursion, beaches and seeing the island. We started our stay in a hotel in Lihue- poipu offers much more. Great stay
I haven't been to the other hotels on the island except the one we left to come to the HYATT. Everyone had told us to stay at the HYATT before we booked the original hotel and we didn't because of the price... we were WRONG. It was totally worth it. Not only is it in a great location for the island (Poipu) but it also was beautiful, clean, but it is also full of restaurants and amenities that your actually will take advantage of. We were on our honeymoon and loved that there is an adult pool that you can quietly hangout at all day with plenty of chairs. The rooms have a great view, the breakfast buffet is insane and the whole place feels upscale. We can't say enough about the staff also: We had especially great experiences with Tessie and Mario when we checked in... it was a completely different experience from our last hotel. The price is higher but with what it saves you in amenities, friendliness and location it totally equals out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fountain Valley, CA

Amazing resort near Shipwreck Beach!

Posted Aug 24, 2016
It doesn't get much better than this for a resort! Situated right beside shipwreck beach the resort has amazing panoramic views of the pacific. As we approached the hotel, one of the staff welcomed us with leis and the front desk was prompt and friendly. The accommodations were also excellent with many pool areas for kids (sports pool, lazy river, water slide, salt water pool). They had daily activities which included a Thursday night luau. In addition golf courses and tennis courts are also part of the resort accommodations. We had breakfast buffet each morning we were there which was solid and included typical hot items like eggs, bacon, French toast, pancakes, potatoes, oatmeal, sausage, rice, and baked goods and fresh fruit. No doubt we will recommend this resort hotel! Thank you Grand Hyatt for a memorable stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manhattan

Great for all of us- adults, kids, tweens!

Posted Aug 23, 2016
This hotel really has one of the best pools in all of Kauai. There is volleyball, a splash ball net, poolside hoop, lazy river, little caves, and a water slide. There is also an adult pool, for this who want a more peaceful experience. The salt water lagoon has rentable kayaks and is fun for throwing a ball around, because it was never crowded. One of my kids enjoyed the hotel activities- koi fishing,meeting their tropical birds, slip n slide, waterslide races. We were pleasantly surprised w Shipwreck beach, which fronts the Hyatt property. Though it is not recommended, by the hotel or some guidebooks, as very swimmable, experienced boogie boarders and surfers go in, mostly locals. Experienced riders will love it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Overall nice resort! The pools and lagoon are great for the kids. The only real down fall is that the restaurant staff is lacking knowledge of food/beverage. As well they seemed put out or bothered by any simple requests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Surprisingly quiet and Great for activities

Posted Aug 19, 2016
We spent four nights and wish we could have stayed longer! The hotel offers lots of fitness and dining options and is close to other activities on the south shore. The ocean is a bit rocky as others have said but there is a stretch of beach better for swimming. And the pool / lagoon are wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

step out of your room and go to the beach

Posted Aug 17, 2016
This property is huge.... You get your days quota of walking done within the property itself. This is a beach front property and has absolutely gorgeous views. The entire property has an open feel to it and is surrounded by beautiful garden. The rooms were clean and staff extremely friendly. Reataurants are great and we pretty much tried all of them. Great place to relax and rejuvenate !!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L.A.

Great hotel. Beautiful location.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
My only (minor) complaint is we booked two rooms with an "ocean view". One room was at palm tree level so you could barely see the ocean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best friend vacation

Posted Aug 16, 2016
I stayed in this hotel for about a week for my annual best friend vacation. My stay was incredible. From the friendly staff to the various pools to the luau to our wonderful pool view room, everything was fabulous.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok resort but not five star.

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Pool, salt water lagoon.
Cons: Service. Value.
Location: Beach in this area ok for laying out but way too rough to enter the water for anything but wading. Go to other beaches to swim or snorkel.
The hotel is ok. But in my opinion it should not be considered a five star resort because the service seems only average. Also the property is overly large, so depending on your room, it can take five minutes to walk to the pool or to your car...a real slog down what seems like endless hallways. It is hard to find a spot in the shade near the pool because other guests seem to "camp out"....going down at 7AM and getting towels, "claiming" the best spots, then disappearing until noon. The hotel says they will pick up unattended towels after an hour but they don't appear to actually follow that policy.The fees for a cabana (the only apparent way to ensure you get some shade given the behavior of the prime spot squatters), are truly outrageous - over a hundred bucks a day for what amounts to a glorified sunshade? Service: poolside is sporadic at best. Service in the onsite casual restaurant that we experienced was less than satisfactory. I would hope its better in the other restaurants We also felt the food and drink were such a poor value we chose to eat almost all of our meals off the property and that was more fun too. $18 for a club sandwich, $14 for a small drink that you can't taste any alcohol in, you get the idea. While the food/drink was okay, the value just wasn't there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Beautiful hotel with amazing pool

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: The pool area and grounds are simply spectacular and the staff is very attentive.
Cons: Not a fan of the heated toilet seats, especially in such a warm climate!
Location: Close to Poipu beach for great snorkeling. Good central location for visiting both Waimea Canyon and Wailua River. About 30 minutes from the airport
We enjoyed two nights at this hotel to end our recent week-long visit to Kauai. This is our 2nd visit to the Grand Hyatt (once as a couple and once as a family) and we are already talking about going back. It is a pricey hotel for us but they really have a beautiful property, great pools, comfy beds, various eating options. They even have a sunscreen applying machine! They also bring in local artisans daily for a unique shopping experience. The property is right on the beach which is great for beautiful views, sunbathing, and watching the surfers but not really safely swimmable. They also offer golf, tennis, and a spa- none of which we used. I think the staff really goes the extra mile- all are friendly and helpful but we encountered several who really demonstrated exceptional customer service. My only complaint is it is quite spread out so expect a lot of walking.