Ratings based on 843 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Great resort with all the extras

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Great pools, lazy river, amenities, luau, gardens, gym
Cons: Give me a break with the overpriced food. Plenty of cheaper and high quality eats on the island, but even a simple breakfast was expensive.
Location: Close to ATV riding, beach, swinging bridge, spouting horn, hiking, sailing, snorkeling, surfing
We stayed here for our 10 year anniversary because it came highly recommended. Definitely lived up to the reviews. Beautiful location and resort. Close to tons of activities. Only downside was the cost for meals was unreasonable with no cheap options.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elmhurst, IL

Outdated Resort!

Posted Jan 14, 2017
We stayed 1 week on Maui at Westin (a 4 star hotel) before coming here. I was looking forward to the Grand Hyatt (a 4.5 star hotel) - expensiv and disappointing ! The hotel is outdated and the staff is avarage (the pool staff I would rate them very low). The pool and the landscape are very nice. Overall a disappointing experience !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jupiter, Florida

Paradise

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: The whole look of the hotel and the many activities available.
Cons: Everything was great.
Location: The location was close to other shopping and restaurants.
We had a wonderful experience at your hotel. Our group of 6 included two children, and adults up to senior citizen age. The resort had activities to suit all in our party
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cocoa Beach, FL

Paradise on one site

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Location, ambience
Location: Great location, close to shopping and water sports
Hotel is all inclusive-beautiful setting, aloha spirit, Hawaii in a nutshell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francsico

Paradise!

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Love the "Lazy River" and salt water lagoon.
Cons: Beware high room and food prices! Cannot swim in Shipwreck Beach due to pounding surf and rocks.
Location: Poipu Beach has a natural lagoon for easy swimming, Brennecke's Beach next door more challenging, but doable. Don't miss the Beach House restaurant!
Great way to decompress! One of the best resort properties in the US.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Hotel is beautiful the rooms need updating as well as the carpets in the hallway
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great Resort

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Very nice resort / vacation place. Friendly Staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice but very large

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Nice hotel but very large. It's a five minute walk to your car, to the lobby, to the beach, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Amazing.

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Words cannot describe how amazing this hotel is in all regards. It's a win all around!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful grounds and location

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: There is nothing not to like.
Cons: Pillows were way too soft for me.
Location: Great location. Many restaurants and shopping centers nearby. If you like horseback riding, CJM stables is right up the road......beautiful.
This is my third time staying at this property. This time, it didn't start off great. We arrived at 2pm and our room wasn't ready yet. I understand that check-in is at 4pm, but everyone behind us had a room available upon arrival. Had to change in the lobby restroom to get out of our warm clothes. At this point, we asked about an upgraded room and we were told it would be an additional $100 p/night for partial-ocean view and $150 per night for an ocean view.......we declined. About and hour later, we got a call saying our room was ready and that our bags would be brought up right behind us. They gave us the keys and we went up to the room. When we got there, the keys did not work. After standing in the hallway for ten minutes, someone came up with new keys. We were sitting in the room for an hour and the bags never arrived. Called the front desk and they said that they have already been delivered. They didn't know where our bags were. They finally got delivered about a half-hour after. We were upset, so I asked about maybe a free upgrade of our room. We were told that there was none available. Hmmmm, an hour before, they had many available if I wanted to pay! I was told I would be put on a list and if anything opens up during my stay, they will call. We got a call about half-way through our trip to see if we wanted the ocean-view room now.....for an additional $100 p/night! No thanks.