Ratings based on 253 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016
beautiful hotel..great views of beach,great snorkeling near rocks,great golf and spa....
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Québec, Can

bine localisé

Posted Jun 20, 2016
hôtel confortable, très grand resort, belle piscine, bien localisé: plage à distance de marche, tout près de la plage Anini et de la ville Hanalei. personnel accueillant, site piétionnier avec transport en cart sur demande. restaurant très bon avec belle vue, concierge avec rabais sur activités sur l'ile (suggérons d'aller à la réunion du lundi am pour gagner activité!) seul hic: peu équipé, pas de cuisine/toaster..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Relaxing home base while exploring Kauai.

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: Spacious room Secluded feel Nice pool (I have blonde highlights, turned my hair green. So wear your hair up!) Friendly staff Beach close
Cons: If you do not like to drive and are doing boat tours/ Waimea canyon, may want south shore lodging where most boats dock.
Location: Hanalei bay (short walk) Hanalei just up the road Kapa'a close (best food on island IMO) Mountain views LAPPERTS CLOSE (gain 1000 lbs happily)
Our room was much larger than I initially expected, and the mountain view (we counted 5 waterfalls) from our balcony above the rain forest was breathtaking. The room was very clean and relaxing. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was spacious. Mini-fridge already in the room. Linens will not be changed daily without request (there are signs in the room). Towels will be replaced if left on the floor. We had absolutely no problems with any of the staff. All were friendly and welcoming. View of Hanalei Bay from the open air lobby is nice. If you are looking to stay right on top of the bay, you would be looking to stay at the St. Regis but prepare to pay the bill. However, it is a short walk down to the bay on a paved walkway (note that it will be uphill on the way back for those with limited mobility). My husband and I enjoyed the walk to the beach. Beach supplies are for rent. Beach towel is complimentary during stay and can be exchanged as often as needed. The hotel restaurant is very atmospheric. They had a band nightly, and it was nice to sit and watch the sunset with beach music in the background. The units are spread out, so it feels a lot more secluded (an advantage I would prefer over staying at the stacked St. Regis). Overall, great experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Huge suite with great views

Posted Jun 3, 2016
We loves staying here. We found it difficult to decide on a place and we're thrilled with our final choice. Apartment was large and well equipment. The only complaint... We had 2 double beds (would have preferred a king) and the pillows were terrible. All in all it was a great stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TOKYO

不便なホテル

Posted Jun 1, 2016
3泊しましたが期待していたほどではありませんでした。確かに絶景ではありますが、お水1本買うにもホテル内の小さな売店ひとつだけ しかも16時まで不便でした。 私が泊まった部屋はプール側面して近くにレストランバーがあり夜には大音量の音楽がうるさかったです。 メインのレストランは工事中断している感じでした。 宿泊客は白人ばかりです。次ここに泊まる事はないですね。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok place to stay

Posted May 30, 2016
Not a bad place, but I would not stay here again... Some of the staff were awesome and others not so friendly. Little to no housekeeping service (we were there 5 nights and housekeeping only came once). The food at the restaurant was very good, but we tried to get it to go on a couple of occasions and that really confused the staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Best place to stay in Kauai

Posted May 2, 2016
Hanalei Bay Resort provided us with the most amazing experience in Kauai. Their "resort" was more of an oasis. The layout makes you feel more at homage with Kauai rather than feel as though you are staying in a hotel. They have more amenities than you can ask for if this is your preference when deciding where to stay. They have a gorgeous pool setting, a hot tub, nice tennis courts and a private beach to name a few. The hot tub is what we used at night mainly after a long day of hiking or adventures which are all extremely close to partake in. The hot tub is probably the best I ever been in. It is enclosed in privacy and set at the perfect temperature. The bottom even has soft sand which is so comforting on your feet. The staff are so sweet and helpful as well. Couldn't ask to be around better people. There is a restaurant on site which has delicious food, a nice ambience and stays open until 10. We were right next door at the closest room and you couldn't hear anyone from it even if we were outside in the back relaxing stargazing. The place is laid out just perfectly. The room itself was modern, clean, and comfortable. Not one problem with the room. We had a place with a kitchen which helped out a lot with buying local food to cook a few meals at home. In terms of location between north vs south of the island you want to be here. It is the most luscious and least touristy area on the island. Rain was no prob. which is for 4 min at most then sunny all day due to mountain
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very beautiful and relaxing

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Great. Close to the beach. Pool and jacuzzi very nice. Very friendly and accosting. Hospitality room is a perfect option if arriving before check in hours or leaving after.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice grounds and comfortable bes

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Staff was great about taking you around in a golf cart. No breakfast though which was a drag.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Outstanding!

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Location: No problem!
Most beautiful resort we have stayed at. Friendly and helpful staff. Very relaxing, the hot tub was great. Best vacation! We would go again!