Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Great location! Beautiful! Great beach on the bottom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful surroundings

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Wonderful experience although the staff was a little defensive. When I pleasantly started conversation about construction and I mentioned that no one told me about the construction when I called 2 times while booking the response was.. Well everyone knows it's under construction. Obviously not everyone since I didn't know. I stayed for one night and was offered the welcome packet the day after I arrived...which is when I was checking out. I will definitely stay again but I think the staff could use some additional training on customer service no matter what the conversation is about and when I first reached the front desk. Mahalo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff

Posted Jun 13, 2015
The bell hops were friendly and happy. The reception staff were friendly but not to helpful. THE CONCiERGE lady was a blond lady who was very rude and made us want to leave the resort. She should be fired
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Wonderful staff, beautiful location, great rooms

Posted Jun 11, 2015
The Hanalei Bay Resort was one of the best places I have ever stayed. Perfect for families and happy, helpful smiling staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place. Great views pool is ok.

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Close to good restaurants like bar acuda. Very close to shopping center with large well stocked. Food land. 25 min to tunnels. Go early to avoid crowds. Very close to st Regis for sunset viewing and Kauai grill
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Great hotel, little bit of a walk to the beach, but very nice rooms and feels like you're in the forest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Phyllis from Louisville, KY

Loved It!

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
We absolutely loved every minute of our stay there. Disappointed that the restaurant wasn't up and running. A tiki bar would have been nice. Loved the Monday Mai tai social!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hands down the best hotel experience I've had

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Staff was wonderful - let us stay past checkout time to hang out at the pool. Room was essentially 2 rooms, full kitchen, etc. Pool was amazing
Cons: The restaurant/bar under construction would greatly add to the resort's perks, but we didn't find that to be an issue.
Location: So many things to do in the area. Hanalei was our favorite location by far. Hanging out at the bay, driving into town, or visiting the north-most part
I was a little apprehensive at first, the reviews seemed to be pretty mixed - some citing construction woes and others were glowing. From the photos, it looked like it was going to be amazing, and it definitely was. - Staff: warm, welcoming, let us stay past checkout time to hang out at the pool (great perk) - Room: had 2 bathrooms, 2 balconies, a full kitchen, comfy bed, and was huge - Amenities: great - Pool/beach: our favorites on the island - Price: VERY reasonable If you're unsure about where to stay on Kauai, definitely make Hanalei Bay Resort one of your destinations. Not only is the resort wonderful, but Hanalei itself is gorgeous and there is much more to see/do in this area than Lihue. The Marriott in Lihue is where we stayed the next evening and it was twice as expensive with half the amenities and ridiculous additional charges (like $99 to stay a few extra hours after checkout).
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great view..... Of the bugs?

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
I reserved a king when I got 2 double beds they would not change. So we had to sleep on separate beds. The view and room was still beautiful and came with everything we needed. The next morning I found 3 small roaches in the kitchen. I asked for a room change, when I was denied I expected a discount for the food I could not purchase now that we could not cook in there and had to eat out. Did not get an apology, but all she told me was that it was normal. She offered to spray but did not want that in our belongings. Overall I could get that view from a cleaner more caring resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great view, good access to towns and beaches

Posted May 8, 2015
Cons: Bar and restaurant in process of construction so if this is mandatory for someone looking now, it would be better to wait until they're completed.
We watched the sunset every evening from a great location at the resort. We did not use many of the amenities because of all the things to do on the North Shore. View from our unit was spectacular. Definitely more of a hotel for middle-age and older.