Ratings based on 345 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Majestic, Private, Romantic

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: The bed was very comfortable. The location is beautiful and private. The staff is friendly.
Cons: The rooms could be a little cleaner/in better shape. But this is all I have for criticism and it is very mino .
Location: Location can be described as majestic, private, romantic, remote.
HCR wasn't the most luxurious hotel my new wife and I have ever stayed at, but it was by far the most majestic. We stayed her for 8 nights in July 2016 for our honeymoon in one of the premium ocean front suites. I highly recommend splurging a little and getting one of these rooms. There is no AC but being ocean front makes this a non issue with the pleasant Hawaiian sea breeze. This hotel is on the far end of the north side of the island, almost all the way to where the road ends. Some could see this a disadvantage because you have to drive a ways to get to most places, however the advantage is HCR feels more private and romantic. I would personally highly recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great resort away from tourist bustle.

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: That it was well away from heavy trafficked tourist areas.
Cons: Noisy and rusty hinges on cabinets need attention.
Location: Rural. Good hiking and snorkeling.
No phones, no TV -- nice to be unplugged for a vacation stay. The white sound of the ocean surf nearby gave us very restful sleep.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful room right on the beach

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Fantastic getaway up the coast from the quaint town of Hanalei. Beautiful rooms. We were concerned about not having AC but it was fine. Stayed cool with ocean breeze. Gorgeous setting near NaPali coast. Great hiking, beaches, and excellent restaurants in nearby Hanalei.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 大阪

風と海の音そして鳥の声だけが聞こえるホテル

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: 自然に囲まれた静かな環境
Cons: 一部の設備の古さ
Location: 人里離れ、みずみずしい自然豊かな環境。多くの静かなビーチも近い。買い物もハナレイやプリンスヴィルまでそれほど離れていないので、不便はない。
ハナレイの町からさらに奥、道が果てるところに近いロケーション。バリハイの雰囲気を味わえる環境です。部屋も快適。とても癒されました。 ただし風がとてもきついロケーションなので、風の音の強さになれる必要ありか。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: This hotel was very quiet and clean. For the most part, despite it being fully booked, we felt that we were one of the only families there.
Cons: If anything could be improved I would suggest a better selection of knives in the kitchen.
Location: The town of Hanalei nearby has everything you need and there is no need to travel the whole island looking for other souvenirs or restaurants.
Very pleased with this resort and if we return to Kauai we will definitely be staying here again. My only concern was that all suites have max of 4 people per their fire regulations and so if I wanted to go with all 4 of my children I would need to book 2 rooms or stay at a different resort. Loved the pool and outdoor bbq facilities. Loved the open concept of the suite and that it was equipped w/ 2 bathrooms. It was kind of them to provide a pack and play "crib" for our infant at no additional charge. WiFi was also complimentary. The beach at the resort was nice for children under 7 to wade in the shallow water but it is not suitable for swimming because of the waves.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2016
Beautiful location right on the beach. Pool and decks very nice and free shuttle to restaurants and beaches very convenient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from The AZ

The Gem of Hanalei

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: Its not really a hotel but we loved everything about our stay.
Cons: During our six day stay, house cleaning came only once. If you needed additional clean towels you had to exchange them at the house keeping location.
Location: The location was perfect. It was quiet. Jungle on one side and the ocean on the other. It was very close to Tunnels, Luminati Gardens, Ke'e beach.
My Wife and I spent six wonderful nights in this beautiful "condo" resort. Everything was perfect. The grounds, and the ocean views from our balcony. The remodeled condo we stayed in was clean, spacious and comfortable. We felt for a short time we actually lived in our own condo in the most beauftiful area of Kauai. We will definitely be staying in our condo again at HCR if and when we return to Kauai.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

Amazing beachfront property!

Posted May 25, 2016
We did not arrive until late the first night. The next morning we discovered we had no hot water so had to move to another unit. Steve, the manager responded quickly and comped that night. Everyone was friendly. Beautiful place if you don't mind driving a few extra miles
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Very nice AND close to the beach

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Three sides condo had views of the ocean
Location: Best snorkeling Tunnel Beach, Best windsurfing Anini beach, great sushi "Sushi Girls"
very peaceful place for a couple. close to great snorkeling , windsurfing , great sushi
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and stay

Posted May 18, 2016
Close to Hanelei Bay. Peaceful. Little noise. Secluded enough for a romantic one on one get away